We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Royal Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Zurich
Ranked #103 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights and had a comfortable experience. Check-in was smooth and efficient. Reception staff were all very pleasant and friendly during my entire stay. They are good at making recommendations about Zurich and for booking and advising on transportation.
My room (102) was small but clean and brightly decorated. Lovely bedding, good selection of TV channels (surprised to have BBC 1 & 2), safe and nice-sized fridge. The room was facing a side-street so nice & quiet, with a distant rumble of trams passing out on the main street.
Breakfast buffet was quite extensive, not much hot food apart from omelettes on request.
Overall, a positive stay for a couple of nights. It is not in the heart of the old town though and Zurich being quite hilly, if you want to be more central, perhaps think about looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great location, just few minutes from the center and railway station and cheap transfer from/to Zurich airport (tram n° 10 stopping in front of the hotel). We booked a superior double room with view and when we got there, we received a standard mid-sized room (with view). We asked the receptionist if the bedroom category was the one we reserved, and the answer was that if we wanted a king bed, that was the only solution they had. The info we got on the official website, were different and the picture doesn't reflect the reality. Breakfast buffet is ok without being wow and just across the smoking lounge (which is not very pleasant for non smokers)

Room Tip: Make sure to have a room backyards...as the street where the hotel is located is very busy (and nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REGR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The rooms are small, hard beds, tiny shower, TV flickered, WiFi didn't work. Staff were very friendly helping me park the car, although they charged. I would not recommend for kids or for long, dodgy around the back garage.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Electronmike1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is a perfect stop in Zurich. Great location and easy access to all transportation at the front door. The rooms are clean and comfortable at a do-able price. Their breakfast was perpared for international guests as well as local business people. Our party had a double and a single room. both were exactly as we needed. Stay here again - YES! Recommend it to others - YES!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This was my first Switzerland stop. I was very pleased with the room. Very clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Transportation was convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz53012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in March because of it's low cost and central location.
It is very conveniently located next to the railway , tram and bus stations in the heart of zurich.
It can be reached from the airport very conveniently by tram.
The waiting time is not much and rooms are quickly allotted.
The tea is free but the coffee is not ... but is excellent for a tired traveler.
The rooms are quite small and overshadowed by the bed and there is not too much space.
There is no coffee or tea making unit in the room but tap water is drinkable.
There are no special rooms but they do advertise some special rooms.

The hotel is definitely not a resort but is good for the active traveler : conveniently located
and good for sleeping.
The best thing is the location : the railway station and bus depot is about 10 minutes walk : and the trams run from the doorway.

Overall , it is neat and clean but quite small. Ideally suited for a busy traveler, good for sleeping in at night but definitely not for spending lazy weekends or enjoying inside the hotel. It is also cramped up but neat and clean and value for money depending on the purpose you use it for.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank best0fluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I stayed at the comfort inn 3 nights, it's very convenient to get from the airport to the hotel, and from the hotel to the ETH university that I needed. I stayed in a front room and slept with an open window, it was a bit noisy but not in a disturbing way (and I'm quit sensitive). The room is small, but I did not spent much time in there, the price is low, breakfast is nice, I was very happy with the place. Good value for money

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bina2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#34 of 138 in Zurich
664 reviews
Hotel Montana
#48 of 138 in Zurich
977 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#37 of 138 in Zurich
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 138 in Zurich
877 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 138 in Zurich
853 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 138 in Zurich
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Zurich

Address: Leonhardstrasse 6, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $213 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Zurich 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•70 air-conditioned, cozy and compact budget rooms at reasonable rates. •LAN high-speed and WLAN Internet Connection (at a fee), in room air conditioner, direct-dial phones, safe deposit box and cable-TV (12 languages).. complimentary Wireless LAN in public aereas• Superb Champagne-breakfast-buffet.Starting 06:15 a.m.• complimentrary Internet Corner.. Smoker lounge • «Early bird breakfast».• Hotel Airport Shuttle (against a fee).• Complimentary tea and coffee bar with international newspapers.•Panorama-roo with a view to mount Uetliberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Royal Zurich Hotel
Comfort Inn zürich
Comfort Inn Zurich
Royal Zurich Comfort Inn
zürich Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing