We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
308
110
43
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
308
110
43
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house charming hotel old town stadelhofen train station free breakfast wonderful stay perfect location zurich lake rooms are small cold meats lovely room street noise yogurt business trip an expensive city tram stop nureyev
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 475 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with my boyfriend on a long weekend and it was really a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful, romantic, clean, and the staff were all really helpful and polite... The hotel's location is perfect- mins walk from the old town and center of Zurich... I would recommend this to anyone looking for a convenient & romantic stay in the heart of the city with no hesitation!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank alkihou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Z, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2016

Dear alkihou,

please book next time directly via our own hotel website europehotel(dot)com in order to receive cheaper rates and the breakfast free of charge compared to online travel agents who offer higher rates and exclude the breakfast.

We are happy that our Romantik Hotel has been a wonderful experience for you as a couple. It was a pleasure meeting you. I can highly recommend that you have a look at the other Romantik Hotels. It is a great consortia offering a variety of beautiful & individual properties.

Kind regards from Zurich,

The Kramer Family & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

The Romantik Europe is a charming hotel, old-fashioned, with really great service. From the cozy elevator to the wood-floor rooms we loved the place. The beds were great including big fluffy pillows. The location is terrific - don't fall for the old town - close to an easy-to-navigate train station. For those with luggage, there are no steps between the station and the hotel. The staff were lovely and observant for any needs. The continental breakfast was flavourful with fresh juices. All in all a great value.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank williamsM29HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Z, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2016

Daer William S,

please book next time directly via our own hotel website europehotel(dot)com in order to receive cheaper rates and the breakfast free of charge compared to online travel agents who offer higher rates and exclude the breakfast.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed our location and service. It is very nice to hear that you have rated our hotel as a great value as we try to achieve the best service possible.

Please message us when you are planning to come back to Zurich.

Kind regards,

The Kramer Family & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016

Hotel location was fantastic, right by the lake and only a 10 or so minute walk to the old town. Our room was very nice with a cute balcony and comfortable bed. There was a room near us that got back quite late and it woke us up, but not the hotels fault. Check in was easy and the restaurant downstairs is good for a small lunch. Great stay!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coreys172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Z, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2016

Dear Corey S,

please book next time directly via our own hotel website europehotel(dot)com in order to receive cheaper rates and the breakfast free of charge compared to online travel agents who offer higher rates and exclude the breakfast.

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry those guests have woken you up. Our night auditor has got in touch with them right away and asked them to be quiet. I hope that it has not effected your stay too much. It would be lovely to welcome you back again.

Kind regards from Zurich,

The Kramer Family & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016

We stayed at the Romantik Hotel Europe last week, and really enjoyed it. The owners were staffing the reception desk because the people that normally do it were on vacation. They could not have been nicer or more helpful, all the while being very professional. For example, it was raining when we arrived and they offered us an umbrella if we were going out to see the area.

Everything about it was nice. The room was very pretty. The bathroom fixtures were modern. We had dinner in their dining room and it was one of the two best meals we had on our vacation. It wasn't cheap but definitely worth it. We had dinner the next night at a trendy restaurant which had been recommended by a friend; the meal and overall experience wasn't close to what we had at the restaurant, called Quaglino. Breakfast was part of the deal and that was really good as well. All of the food, drink and service were 5-star.

The location is very convenient being right behind the Opera House. It is also one short block from a tram stop. This was our first time in Zurich so we took at taxi to the hotel from the train station, but when we left, we took the tram. it was much less expensive than a taxi (taxis in Zurich are expensive) and almost as fast. It is close to a very good shopping area and close to the cathedral.

If I was going to Zurich again, this is where I'd stay.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stan2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Z, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2016

Dear Stan2034,

please book next time directly via our own hotel website europehotel(dot)com in order to receive cheaper rates and the breakfast free of charge compared to online travel agents who offer higher rates and exclude the breakfast.

Than you very much for your comment. Yes, the taxis in Zurich are indeed expensive. Therefore, we always recommend to take train S16 from the Zurich Airport zo the train station Staldelhofen and it is literally a 3 minutes walk to our hotel which is located right behind the opera house.

Kind regards from Zurich,

The Kramer Family & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016

To start, the room we stayed in was beautiful. We even got a nice little balcony with two seats. The accommodations were great and we loved the room. That's not what I want to talk about in this review though.

The service at this hotel blows away any five star hotel I've ever stayed in. Everyone, from the front desk staff, to the management/ownership, to the bartenders/wait staff, to the cleaning staff, were amazing. I have never felt so welcome before in my life. Usually, I would want to single out one person who made such a trip magical, but it really was a joint effort. There was no shining star, as every person was a shining star in their own way.

We were given recommendations on restaurants and trips by the front desk. They helped us see beautiful Lucern by train, rather than by tour, and we loved their recommendations. Each restaurant was great that we tried, but we ended up eating at the hotel two nights.

We ate at the hotel because the food was fantastic. The service was so good, we preferred to eat and drink right in the hotel. These people know how to cook food and serve drinks. Even if I didn't stay at this hotel again in Zurich, I'd come here for drinks and food. But that won't happen, because I'd only stay here if/when I travel to Zurich again.

The location is perfect, 1 block from the lake and a very short walk to much of the shopping in old town. The main shopping district is a beautiful and short walk along the lake as well.

I'm trying to keep this brief with highlights, but there just isn't enough good things I could say about this hotel. It was a perfect stay and we were so sad to leave. I will be back.

Room tip: Ask for a balcony/terrace room. We had coffee on it one day and it was great.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 416erikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Z, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2016

Dear Erik D.,

please book next time directly via our own hotel website europehotel(dot)com in order to receive cheaper rates and the breakfast free of charge compared to online travel agents who offer higher rates and exclude the breakfast.

Wow! You comment made us more than happy. Thank you for sharing your experience at our family operated hotel. Let us know when you are planning to stay again in Zurich and we will certainly keep our doors open for you.

Was very nice meeting you!

All the best,

The Kramer Family & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews