We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantik Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Europe
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Europe for the second time last month. I decided to go back to the Europe due to its location right next to the opera house. I was impressed by the service i have received, the staff remembered me and offered me a wonderful welcome drink. The receptionist offered me the same room as last time which was beautifully decorated. I enjoyed my stay and will definitely return to the Hotel Europe next time I'll be visiting Zurich.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 148Ela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12970, Verkaufsleiter at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear 148Ela

Thank you very much for your time and for your very nice review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us and we have done our job well.

Yes, that is our Job to save preferences of our guests.
Thanks for the kind praise.
We always strive to get the best from our employees and to improve our quality continuously.
 
We would be delighted to welcome you again in the beautiful Hotel Europe.

Best regards

Mustafa Türker
Member of Director & Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    80
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
141
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Good location for this hotel; overall I was impressed by the little touches. Bathroom is very small but nicely appointed. Welcome drink (prosecco) in the bar. Good restaurant (Quaglino's) in the hotel in case you don't want to venture out at all. Windows very solid so no noise from the street at all. Friendly staff. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Aveneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12970, Verkaufsleiter at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Aveneg

Thank you for your time and for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us.

Sorry that you had a small bathroom.
We would be very welcomed if you had contacted the front desk. Of course, we would have given you another room.
Or call us at the next time for a booking directly, we would very much like it to advice and offer you a room with a larger bathroom.

Thanks for the kind praise of our reception and our restaurant.
We always strive to get the best from our employees and to improve our quality continuously.
 
We would be delighted to welcome you again at the beautiful Hotel Europe.


Best regards

Mustafa Türker
Member of Director & Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Don’t stay in Room 30 – the bathroom floods every time you take a shower. You’ll need an extra towel or bathmats to keep the water back. The bathroom and bedroom smell strange and the air conditioning does not appear to work on any setting – open the top window and, if more air circulation is needed, open the door to the balcony. Not satisfactory at all. The breakfast is adequate, although we had an all-in package but the staff seemed very unsure about letting us have it. The reception staff are friendly and very helpful. Location is excellent, particularly for the opera house and the lake.

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions about the room you are allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rscfanBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Dear Tripadvisor users!
I have decided to share with you my thoughts about the hotel as it is important to know what to expect.
The hotel is nicely centrally located. And it is not overpriced for a four star hotel in Zurich.
Now let us see what it means a four star hotel in this case.
I came from the airport quite late (23.00). The first thing I noticed entering the hotel was an unpleasant smell of fried fish and burning oil. I was very hungry and I thought "at least restaurant is working". My blood sugar level is not always stable so I have to eat in due time.
I went up into my room (number 24) accompanied by the smell of kitchen all the way to my room.
In the room I found a safe that I needed but unfortunately it needed a key. I thought they have all been changed by now (it is 21st century) not to carry a safe key with you.
They brought me a key and asked to sign for it. I guess in case I loose it.
The room is small but OK. And only four pieces of furniture: a deska chair, a small table for magazines and a bed. Very narrow bed on wheels that allows the bed to slide under you when you move in sleep.
The funniest part of the room is a very very small bathroom with a tiny glass shower cabin. When I tried to open the door in the cabin it hit the sink so I could not squeeze into the shower. I pushed the door into the shower cabin, got myself in but it was a trick to close the door behind me.
It is partially my problem as I am quite tall - 6,3, and quite big as well - 112 kg ( aprox. 165 lb.) or 11.8 st. But I am still a human being
and I never had such a problem before.
I gave all this data for all of you to be able to imagine a fanny picture of a big man taking shower in a tiny shower room.
Now it was time to take care of my blood sugar- I thought. I called the reception for in room dining and the answer was: no meal till morning. The kitchen is closed.
Next day I checked the room of my colleagues who are staying in the same hotel to find out that they had a nice and reasonably furnished (king size bed) room with sufficient size bathroom and shower room (with sliding door that made much easier to get in and out). So we went downstairs and the funniest part started:
Question: why for the same amount of money we have rooms with so much difference?
Because you booked through booking.com and you colleagues called us directly.
Question: What happened with the mini bar you promised in my booking confirmation?(see the letter from booking.com)
We took away all our minibars as it was creating a lot of problems for us.
(So from now on - I thought - my dear guests you will have a problem when you want to take a medicine at night and there is not water in the room as they provide water for the first night only)
Question: Why I could not have something to eat in my room in the evening.
Answer: At night we can give only water.
Question: why on booking.com the hotel declares the 24 hour room service.
Answer: We meant only drinks.

My advice to all of you who traveling to Zurich.
If you decide to stay in Hotel Europe make sure you get a decent room with a proper bed. It s a double room but it is a bit more expensive.
I have a big question:
is it really a four star hotel?

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a well-placed Hotel is not the most modern but is very pleasant and well-priced, it has a certain charm which is sometimes lacking in large hotels, the staff I found to be friendly and helpful.

The air-conditioning wasn’t the best and I can imagine in the height of summer difficult to live with, I had a room on the first floor which was a little noisy but I slept with the window open.

I think it’s good value for Switzerland and its well located.

Room Tip: go upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mondomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Ohio
Level Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

For location, this place is it. Literally every tourist attraction in Zurich can be see from 5 minutes from here. However the rooms are the smallest rooms I have ever seen, even in former soviet countries. Service is minimal. But I would still stay their again because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolphingvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great small, very european hotel. Felt more like an inn. Good bistro next door. Great location, could walk to almost everything. Pleasant, low key staff. Smallish rooms but well appointed and very nice upscale bathroom. Had great dormer window. Room was very quiet. Excellent pick, would stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel offers triples if you are traveling with a child, rare in Europe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#8 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Europe

Property: Romantik Hotel Europe
Address: Dufourstrasse 4, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Business Hotel in Zurich
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#14 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantik Hotel Europe is located near to the famous Bahnhofstrasse, the Paradeplatz with its banks, the picturesque old town and various places of cultural interest. Situated in a central location right next to the Opera House and Lake Zurich, the hotel combines stylish interior and individual charm with state-of-the-art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Romantik Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing