We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, a fantastic stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Europe
Ranked #17 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Once again, a fantastic stay.”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Third time staying here, first since the renovations, and I was a little worried the quirky charm and the incredibly calm and friendly atmosphere would have gone. Needn't have been. This is still the same wonderful, slightly old world but now with all mod cons (free wifi - in Zurich - a miracle!) joy it always has been.

As ever my trip was for the Opera (for which this place could not be better placed, my balcony looked out over the back of the House). As ever the staff were as nice and friendly as you could imagine. The rooms are wonderfully updated. It still feels like the old place but now everything is up-to-date. OK it's not cheap by rest of Europe standards, but then nothing in Switzerland is! But if you are in town for the opera and looking for a calm and relaxing atmosphere with all mod cons and welcoming staff, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmacaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexia H, Director of Sales at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you so much for this great and detailed review! This is always a positive sign of our skilled performance and the only way we can improve steadily.

The Hotel Europe has undergone an extensive renovation in 2011. Carefully matched fabrics and wallpaper borders were arranged with antique furniture and chandeliers what the distinctive charm of the late 19th Century house built in stresses. The technical infrastructure with the highest standards was implemented after the conversion. So your new favorite room is waiting to be discovered by you!

We agree that the prices in Switzerland, especially in Zurich, are higher than in other European cities. The Hotel Europe provides very high quality, class and a very personal guest service.

We'd like to thank you for recommending our Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Europe Zurich.

Your Hosts

Eria Kramer & Mustafa Tuerker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    87
    31
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
155
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
191 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

After searching for various hotels this was booked by the production house we did not come across it in our search online. Fra Krammer has done an excellent job on all counts. It was a pleasure to be greeted with such a personalized service and a genuine smile.
Free wi fi and complimentary water all part of the service. The bistro is also very good.

Room Tip: Very happy with our double room as we also looked at the junior suite but our bathroom was a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukamakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Colombia, Venezuela
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Was here for a one night business visit to Zurich, loved the hotel. Samll personal and great control by the owner Mrs. Kramer. Though missed my daily swimming routine

Room Tip: Take top floors as view of the lake is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarvis4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very nice, small boutique hotel - you feel like at home. Everybody very friendly, but never too personal. rooms very cosy and very clean, food great, location perfect - we love the rooms under the roof with view on the alps... our favourite hotel in Zurich - by far.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have a nice few on the alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manuel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My family stayed a couple of nights here. It has a good value for money if you are looking for something city centered. My kids loved it as they could go shopping in the globus 2 blocks away from the hotel. As the opera housen was that near we baught tickets on the day of the arrival and the show was great! If you are not sure of what to see in zürich the staff of the reception give you interesting locations/exhibitions to visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I had the opportunity to visit Zürich on a business trip and I stayed at Hotel Europe. The service was simply efficient and personalized. Mrs. Kramer, the owner, had been a charming lady and very helpful in finding me a restaurant for a business lunch with my business partners. The restaurant inside the hotel serves excellent french food where i ate on my second day. If you are on a business trip to Zürich i recommend this hotel as it offers free of charge internet and great food!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed in the hotel 3 weeks ago and was very satisfied. The staff was very friendly and the double room had a beautiful interior design. I was missing a swimming pool in the hotel but unfortunately all hotels in Zürich do not posses one as i've noticed on booking.com. I recommend this hotel to couples who look for a nice weekend in Zürich as all shopping sites are easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
842 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
428 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 139 in Zurich
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Europe

Property: Romantik Hotel Europe
Address: Dufourstrasse 4, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Business Hotel in Zurich
#14 Family Hotel in Zurich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantik Hotel Europe is located near to the famous Bahnhofstrasse, the Paradeplatz with its banks, the picturesque old town and various places of cultural interest. Situated in a central location right next to the Opera House and Lake Zurich, the hotel combines stylish interior and individual charm with state-of-the-art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Romantik Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing