We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff in a Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel
Ranked #75 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Staff in a Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband travels to Zürich once per month and generally stays at this hotel because of it's convenient location, excellent staff and very good, free breakfast. I joined him on this trip for a short holiday and to meet up with friends. (We used to live in Zürich, so I am very familiar with the area.)

This is a very nice hotel and the stay is quite friendly and accommodating. As with all Swiss hotels, it was exceptional clean. (The Swiss are known for that!)

My only complaint was the bed, but that is a cultural difference. The Germanic cultures (Germany, Austria. German-speaking Switzerland) tend towards beds that are much firmer than I am accustomed to. And the "double beds" or Kings tend to actually be two twin mattresses next to each other on the same frame with separate sheets and comforters. It's a "German Thing." Sometimes the American hotels go with the American style beds (softer), but frequently do not. It's not something I would expect them to change, but if you are someone who has difficulty sleeping on harder mattresses, you would probably want to be aware that it will be a common issue when traveling in this part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieter-van-Beugen, General Manager at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Madam / Sir,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel with us.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich that you liked our Hotel. As you already mentioned bed preferences are different and I hope our Sweet Sleeper Bed didn´t keep you awake too long.

Wishing you all a merry Christmas and a happy New Year and hope to welcome you back to Zurich in 2013.

Pieter van Beugen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    171
    85
    12
    14
See reviews for
54
146
35
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Very nice mid range hotel in Zurich.

Rooms are small but nicely decorated. And yes!, there is a free power outlet next to the bed.

View is not much to speak of, mine wad on a busy street.


Loved staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieter-van-Beugen, Manager at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Raymond L.

thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

Hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Pieter van Beugen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

we were there a while ago, but the woman who was at the front desk was very rude and dismissive. i am not sure if she was a rude person in general, or if she was partial to not liking americans but it was a turnoff for sure. the location was decent - but the rooms were tiny. we paid with starwood points - if we had paid with cash i would have been really upset. i wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydaysNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieter-van-Beugen, Manager at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,

first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.
We are sorry to hear that you did not find the attitude of our front desk staff welcoming and
we would like to insure you that this is not a standard which we follow. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and totally independent of country of origin.

It would be a pleasure if were able to welcome you back to the Sheraton Zürich Neues Schloss Hotel sometime in the future and maybe have the chance to convenience you from the opposite!

Best wishes from Zurich!

Pieter van Beugen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the fourth hotel in Zurich in which I've stayed over the past two years, and I've come to accept that hotels there are just not as good as anywhere else I've been. Thus, while the Sheraton is by no means of the standard I would expect of Starwood hotels in other cities, I would book here again.

Rooms:
My room and bathroom were a decent size for a hotel in Zurich, and the bed was comfortable. Everything was clean, although the decor is very bland. Also, wifi isn't offered in the rooms.

Service:
I really liked the service here. Everyone was nice, helpful, and efficient. Also, and it's a bit unusual for Zurich, they actually have turndown service each evening.

Location:
Great location if you are in Zurich for business (which I was). The area is likely a bit too commercial if you visit Zurich for tourism. Also, it's a bit far from good restaurants for dinner.

Food:
The breakfast was terrible. The breakfast room was cramped and dirty, and the small food selection was positioned rather awkwardly in a corner. The food was awful. I ate there only once despite it being included with my room charge.

I order room service for dinner once. On the plus side, they offer a healthy options menu, which is very hard to come by. On the downside, the food wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great. If you are on an expense account and looking for a healthy option, I recommend it. If you are not optimising for health or are paying out of pocket, eat elsewhere.

Overall, the Sheraton is a better option than other places I've stayed in Zurich, but make sure to manage your expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieter-van-Beugen, Manager at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

I would like to thank you very much for your extensive review.

It is always a pleasue and very useful for us to get such detailed comments about how we perform. Only in this way we can make our Service even better to our valued guests.

I hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel sometime in the near future.

Warm regards from Zurich

Pieter van Beugen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. Positioned within 5 minutes walk of Bahnhofstrauss was very convenient for my wife's shopping and my business. Hotel is small, especially for a Sheraton but very well equipped. As reviewed previously their wifi is through a 3rd provider but I connected in the room through cable and found no problems. The rooms are well appointed and the in room espresso machine and iron and iron board were all a welcome treat after many other hotels in Europe simply do not have either. The staff were helpful but our late checkout included in our special rate was not acknowledged by staff at first who wanted to charge us CHF 50 per hour between 2.00 pm and 4.00 pm for the late checkout. After producing a hardcopy of the relevant reservation confirmation they didn't charge us. Did not try the restaurant, but would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieter-van-Beugen, Manager at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Ian P,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your time in Zurich and your stay at our Sheraton Boutique Hotel.

I´m sorry to hear that there were some misunderstandings about your late check out but I´m glad everything was solved directly on the spot. This unfortunately must have been some mistake in communication between our reservation and front office department, once again sorry for that.

It would be a honour to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Pieter van Beugen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed for three nights and liked the small, intimate vib of a boutique hotel. I also liked that the location was quiet and away form the main hub. You can get to any place by a nice walk or by the bus system which is worth experiencing as a model of efficiency. The staff was helpful and gave us good advice for food, etc. Very enjoyable and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Director of Sales at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Janet R,

thank you so much for your review! Yes, due to our size of 60 roms, we are one of the smallest Sheratons with a boutique hotel feel, which our guests love.

We hope to have you back with us soon and send you warm regards from Zurich,

Christina Roesle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

After one night at the Crowne Plaza Zurich (horrible) we moved to this Sheraton. What a wonderful difference!! The staff was so helpful and we were treated wonderfully. The location is perfect for sightseeing and business. I was there for leisure and also to scout out hotels for my clients and friends. Will definitely send them to this Sheraton! The room was a very nice size and the Internet in the business center worked fine. Also great for early arriving US guests that have just flown all night. All around an enjoyable stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DebSTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, Director of Sales at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear DebSTravelAgent,

thank you so much for your kind words on your review. We are very happy to read that your stay was just great!

We would be pleased to welcome you again to the Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel.

Kind regards,
Christina Roesle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Hotel Ascot
#84 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#9 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel

Property: Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel
Address: Stockerstrasse 17, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Zurich
#46 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#46 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#68 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel is idyllically situated in the heart of Zurich. With its 60 rooms and suites the boutique hotel offers the perfect ambiance for a sightseeing weekend in the lively metropolis. Only a few steps from the Opera, the famous Bahnhofstrasse or the Old town, the Hotel is a place of wellbeing and calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton zürich
Sheraton Zurich
zürich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing