We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
167
193
102
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
193
102
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spg gold old town within walking distance upgraded to a junior suite business district business trip business hotel front desk staff corner room two blocks minute walk quiet at night spent one night air conditioning staff was very friendly and helpful hotel is in a great location decent size
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 493 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

It's a smallish Sheraton as flagged by others, with a reasonably good location (no views but central). The actual building is dull in the extreme (hence night photos on hotel website) but in itself not an issue. The lobby reminds me of a Hampton Inn...really spartan and small. Staff very helpful though.
Rooms
Nothing special but clean and reasonably comfortable...once you figure out how all the lights work. Bed comfortable and furniture uninspiring but OK.
Bathroom was nice and clean.
BUT...they charge for wi-fi ! Another US hotel chain that rips you off in Europe...free in the dire lobby but why not in your room ? We really need to start a campaign to address this issue.
Breakfast was OK at best...frankly a rather depressing affair in an East-European style setting with limited choice and an air of quiet desperation. Avoid this bit.
I find Zurich singularly and peculiarly ill-equipped when it comes to hotels and the Sheraton charging almost EUR300 for the night was further evidence of this.
Get a better deal or avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gastronauta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I'm araound Zurich a lot on business travel and have tried many hotels by now. Problem is that they are all over priced. In my opinion: when you paying over 300 CHF for a night you should get something in return. At Neues Schloß, they do not have a SPA or a GYM but they make up for it by really having brilliant service (something that you don't get in CH very often - don't know maybe it's just not Swiss to be customer friendly if you do not have a bag full of money with you to store in there vaults...).
Of course you get the usual good advice on dining, attractions, what to do with clients but in addition, they are happy to give you advice on jogging down to the lake or in the nearby park or help you with any business arrangements.
when I forget something, it doesn't take a day till they call me and mail it to me - of their own accord.
The restaurant is nice, not over priced and has a good selection of the regional cuisine although if you dine there more often, you will really need that gym to work it off (please, Neues Schloß, build one ;-)
The Hotel is very well situated for getting around the big business and enjoy a nice evening downtown.

I would rate it with 5 stars but for not having the Sauna or Gym.

Room Tip: any room is quiet and nice but the higher you get (floors and prices) you get more space. Best thing are the rooms on 5th and 4th floor facing the street as you can get a good look from the balcony down to the lake!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_travellonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is in a very nice part of Zurich. In addition, it is just a couple of blocks from the lake, about 10 min from the Enge Bahnhof, about a block or two from tram lines, easy walk to old town -- just a great location. The hotel seems more like a boutique hotel than a standard size Sheraton. The rooms are well-appointed and very clean. The staff is very nice and helpful. A nice sitting area off the lobby has free WiFi and a computer and printer available. Agree with all the previous good reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandJ-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a nice, quaint little Sheraton in a great location. It's walking distance to alot of great restaurants, shopping areas, and the train/bus stop. The hotel itself is very well laid out, and nice and modern. The lobby area has free internet and computers to use which is a great touch, considering how several hotels charge for this use. The rooms were nice - could be considered a bit on the small side, but that's the norm in European hotels. Very comfortable, nonetheless. This is a hotel that I would stay in again if I came back to Zurich.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel seems small, but we had no problem enjoying our stay here. We had a corner room with a corner balcony which was wonderful! The rooms were filled with whatever you could need or want. We walked to many attractions and the bus stop was not that far away. It is also walking distance to the train station. The staff was very helpful. The bar/relaxation area was a nice plus. They offer unlimited access to the internet with 2 computers in this area. They also had apples and nighttime candy every day. It rained the days we were visiting and they had plenty of umbrellas for the guests to use. We would love to return.

Room Tip: The corner rooms with the balconies are wonderful! We had lunch outside on our own balcony one day!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldBridgeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews