We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable, elegant rooms in a quiet area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Engimatt City-Gardenhotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
Ranked #74 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Budapest
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“comfortable, elegant rooms in a quiet area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

Out of the center of Zurich, but Zurich being a small town, it means 10 minutes by tram. Tram service is excellent, frequent even late in the evening. There is a new shopping complex in 5 minutes distance convenient for buying small things or have a quick dinner. Breakfast in the hotel is excellent, the orangerie has a very good atmosphere. Deluxe room is elegant but does not want to be a statement. The roof can be hot in the summer, though. Reception was helpful which is needed because of the trains and directions.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boldizsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    119
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
43
67
18
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eilat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

The rooms are big, clean, quiet ,comfortable. The Staff was warm and patient. gave us wide information when we asked and offered a great service. Location is great- near a big new shopping center,restaurants open till 23.00!! By foot 15-20 min. walk to the center.
8 min. to a trainstation.In short- Thumbs up!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivonneEilat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

This hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but is surprisingly nice on the inside, with attentive staff and a very good restaurant. We went during the off-season, which probably explained the good rates. The only negative was the pervasive cigarette smoke throughout all the public areas. We couldn't smell it in our room however. The air conditioning was limited to decreasing the temp to a maximum of 9 degrees below the outside temperature, so beware if there is a possibility of hot weather during your trip--this might not be the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Yes, this hotel is in a residential area. But, it is a short walk to old town. Meandering through the neighborhood was very relaxing and beautiful if you are not in a rush. If you are short on time, then just buy tram tickets at the hotel. It is easy to use and will take you wherever you want to go.

The room we stayed in was huge by European standards. Very nice. The courtyard outside the restaurant was also lovely. The restaurant looks out on to the courtyard. The breakfast served is included and is very satisfying. It had hot and cold foods. Scrambled eggs with sausage, boiled eggs, mueslix, fruit, etc.

My ONLY negative comment is that I detected a faint smell of smoke either in our room or out in the hallway. I noticed there were ash trays in our room. I am very sensitive to smoke. Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tex_trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Engimatt for 3 nights. The staff was plesant enough. We found a discount for the hotel so we paid $150 and from what I know of, that is a great price for Zurich. Not totally centrally located but not too far out of the way. Nice breakfast and a fun clay tennis court to play tennis on for $20 a hour.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jctuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Lovely leafy location just off the tram line (#13). Breakfast was great. Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable with our own little patio. Shower was large even for my 6 ft. 4 inch husband. Quiet area but near a shopping center with good restaurants, Sihlcity, and a grocery store for snacks. Enjoyed everything about our stay here and in Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

I brought my boyfriend here as a birthday surprise and we thought it was excellent. Our room was huge, loads of storage space, lovely on suite, and patio doors onto the balcony. Breakfast was good with lots of choice.

There is a very large shopping centre (central plaza) with bars and restaurants 5 minutes away. The main town is 20 mins but it is a nice walk. If you can't be bothered there is a bus/ tram stop just out the front. We enjoyed the walk as there is plenty to investigate on the way!

We took the boat trip on lake zurich and the mount titlis trip. Both were good and I would reccommend.

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful. I emailed from London to request a birthday cake for my boyfriend and they arranged for this to be made. They also gave us maps and local information.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey_Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Ascot
#86 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Enge
Seestrasse Apartments Drei Konige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#8 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engimatt City-Gardenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engimatt City-Gardenhotel

Property: Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
Address: Engimattstrasse 14, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Zurich
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Business Hotel in Zurich
#43 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#45 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Engimatt City-Gardenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Oasis with stars Standard, Deluxe or one of our suites for a special occasion? No matter what you decide, you can expect something very special. Located in the quiet neighbourhood "Enge", our hotel is surrounded by a green Oasis of peace and aesthetics. Nevertheless most sights are near: only a few minutes walking distance and you are at the well known "Bahnhofstrasse", the historic old town and the idyllic Zurich Lake. The museum "Rietberg" with the appending park and its own fascinating history is located very near as well. Only a two minutes walk away is Sihlcity, a shopping mall with 80 shops, a cinema complex with 10 theatres and the Asia Spa. When you have finished exploring the city our hotel awaits you with a small discovery: all our bedrooms are individually designed and each of the rooms is it's own bright and peaceful jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Engimatt City-Gardenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engimatt Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing