We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
Ranked #75 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Den Haag, Nederland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, quiet hotel”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel had nice, spaceous, clean rooms with good beds and an own Nespresso machine. Breakfast buffet was nice. Located in a quiet neigborhood very close to a train station. I will stay there again on my next business trip to Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerbert1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    122
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
68
18
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 days at Engimatt. The hotel was very lovely and friendly. Everything was marvelously neat and clean, the staff were very friendly and kind, and all in all I enjoyed everything. My only problem there was the bed and pillow which were to soft for me.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ramin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Love this place... Reception / reservation / restaurant staff are professional & friendly
Rooms are very nice and comfortable
It's my second home when I'm in Zurich....
Value for money is great.
U have nespresso machine in your room.
Lovely garden terrace during warmer month

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business and was severely unimpressed; I recommend to avoid at all costs.

Pros:
It was clean.

Cons:
Very uncomfortable bed
Terrible pillows
Rubbish, scratchy towels
Not many toiletries, didn't even have proper shampoo in the room
CHF 270 per night for the above

Room Tip: Assuming all the rooms have the same uncomfortable beds and rubbish pillows, I recommend you stay so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panda1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

You feel like at home at this quiet neighborhood you feel like you live in the hurt of real Zurich as citizen and at the same time so near to the public transportation with a friendly helpful stuff exactly like you live with your family, never be shy to ask them for or about any thing. Good service and so clean. Good for business traveler.

Room Tip: All rooms have same view no need to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebatalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beit She'an, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After a Thursday night Swiss Air engine failure…and not getting onto the Friday morning flight back to Tel Aviv, I found myself stuck in Zurich for Shabbat. As an Orthodox Jew, I needed somewhere to stay for the Sabbath and this was one of the Hotels on the list of Hotels close to the “Jewish” area of Zurich. At 10am on the Friday morning, I phoned them up and asked if they had 2 rooms available until Saturday night. They did.
I arrived with a colleague of mine at the Hotel at about 1200 and we were sorted out within a few minutes. We were given rooms on the Second floor and immediately went up and “dumped” our bags. We needed Kosher Food and some clothes…and luckily, there is a Kosher Deli 2 minutes walk away from the Hotel and a Big Shopping Mall about 5 minutes walk away.
After stocking up on Food (and socks and underpants and a clean Shirt bought in Sihlcity), I could finally relax for a couple of hours in my room.
The room was not massive, but very comfortable. There was a 32 inch TV ( that I did not turn on), a large single bed, a desk with chair ,a Nespresso coffee /tea maker, a fully stocked minibar ( not cheap – but I didn’t drink anything anyway), a comfy armchair and separate little table (with glossy books/catalogues about Zurich and Switzerland on) and a small wardrobe + shelves cupboard. The room was well lit with lots of extra lamps and the whole place was spotlessly clean and in excellent state of upkeep. The Air conditioning/heating worked perfectly, and the room was kept at a comfortable temperature at all times. There was free Wi-fi and I was up and running within a couple of minutes. The service and speed were fine.
The bathroom was also super clean. It was a single room, so 1 big, 1 medium and 1 small towel were hanging up neatly. There was only a shower unit (no bath), but it suited me fine.
It had been snowing and so I was not going to be going outside much, but there was a balcony and a chair and table out on the balcony. The view was also pleasant enough. The quiet residential neighborhood meant that there was never any noise in the room (either from outside or from other rooms).
I only actually had coffee for Breakfast on the Saturday morning, although I noticed that there were many other things available ( including fruit and salad) .
There was a problem with the lift for most of the time that I was there (but I was only on the 2nd floor and due to it being the Sabbath, I wasn’t going to use it either).
The staff was excellent and well aware of the requirements of the Orthodox Jew and Shabbat. They came and opened the door to the room without even being asked! They were friendly and helpful at every request (ordering a cab, telling us where to get where etc.).
We were 3 minutes walk away from one synagogue and 5 minutes from the other. This made everything very convenient.
Summary – A Lovely hotel, with excellent staff and service. Convenient for shopping and getting into town (and for Jewish things – Food, Synagogues etc.). Price was not cheap, but I wasn’t paying anyway.
Something to add – If you are an Orthodox Jew, remember to take out the light bulb before Shabbat in the light just inside the door of the room, as it goes on automatically upon opening the door.( and remember to return it after Shabbat!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJREisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was at an offsite at this hotel last week, but was not staying. Unfortunately the night before, I broke my toe and decided to ask the hotel to help arrange a doctor around the times I was at the offsite.
The hotel could not do enough for me, arranging this and the manager, Felix, who was the loveliest man, insisted on driving me to the doctor.
Because of this, the hotel for me is 5 stars.
Added to that, our conference room was good, food really nice but it was the kindness of the staff in my hour of need which stands out for me

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AClu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Ascot
#85 of 139 in Zurich
284 reviews
Langstrasse
Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#28 of 139 in Zurich
461 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#55 of 139 in Zurich
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engimatt City-Gardenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engimatt City-Gardenhotel

Property: Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
Address: Engimattstrasse 14, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Zurich
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Business Hotel in Zurich
#43 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#46 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Engimatt City-Gardenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Oasis with stars Standard, Deluxe or one of our suites for a special occasion? No matter what you decide, you can expect something very special. Located in the quiet neighbourhood "Enge", our hotel is surrounded by a green Oasis of peace and aesthetics. Nevertheless most sights are near: only a few minutes walking distance and you are at the well known "Bahnhofstrasse", the historic old town and the idyllic Zurich Lake. The museum "Rietberg" with the appending park and its own fascinating history is located very near as well. Only a two minutes walk away is Sihlcity, a shopping mall with 80 shops, a cinema complex with 10 theatres and the Asia Spa. When you have finished exploring the city our hotel awaits you with a small discovery: all our bedrooms are individually designed and each of the rooms is it's own bright and peaceful jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Engimatt City-Gardenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engimatt Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing