We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, classy and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
Ranked #79 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My stay at Hotel Enigmatt was extremely positive. The rooms were clean and the front desk was very helpful. I enjoyed my dinner in the restaurant which was pricey, but such is the case across all of Switzerland. I'd only recommend staying here if you are comfortable taking the Tram since it is slightly outside of the city centre. That being said, the tram is convenient and the location was very quiet which I appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 288 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Off the beaten path, this is a really nice hotel. The rooms were large and the service was very nice.
Quick walk to the tram which took you everywhere. The only negative was that the beds were not too comfortable, with very thin mattresses. The hotel was in the middle of a neighborhood and you really felt very safe walking around. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryljessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nice hotel with great charm. The staff is helpful. The rooms are quite large and well soundproofed. Nespresso machine available. A few tram station from Paradeplatz. In the Hotel, nice restaurant called (Orangerie). The bright restaurant is a spacious veranda designed and surrounded by fresh green of the garden.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lugano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed for one night and this was a very expensive hotel. The facilities are quite poor considering how much we paid. I would seriously recommend looking around for a better deal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Engimatt is the perfect place for a business trip - the hotel is very clean, the rooms are large for one person, the bathroom is small but extremely efficient, and the hotel is very close to the tram lines, which makes it super easy to get into and out of downtown. If you are feeling up for it, it's only about a 20 minute walk to the shopping area if you are taking a leisurely time.

The hotel wifi is a little confusing to set up each time, an there are download limits, but otherwise serves you well.

The free breakfast in the morning is great - various types of eggs, some meats, yogurt, juices, breads, etc. I enjoyed it every morning. The restaurant at lunch and dinner is good but rather pricey and for the amount I paid I would rather eat elsewhere.

Staff is friendly and always willing to help out, whether it be to call a cab at 4 in the morning, or provide scissors, or any other silly question I had.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is located at 15 minutes with tram 13 from the Zurich Hauptbahnhof, and at 5 minutes walking of the Silhcity Shopping Mall.
The rooms are fine (may be a little old fashion), clean and comfortable and the personnel is nice.
The rooms have free wi fi.
The breakfast buffet is standard. For lunch and dinner you may go to the hotel’s restaurant or to the Silhcity’s food court.
It is a hotel with a good relationship between price and quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eketaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Hotel is a 11 min tram ride from train stn a modern stylish hotel staff are friendly & helpful.bathrooms are small but have large walk in shower.rooms & bed are comfortable with complementary water/chocolate/tea&coffee make facilities.free wifi in rooms only.flat screen tv in rooms with aircon.buffet breakfast is good but finishes @ 1000 this cud b later!
Received a room upgrade & a cafe desert voucher to use in good orangerie restaurant.hotel also has a cigar smoking room & a lounge bar.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Wellenberg
#54 of 137 in Zurich
643 reviews
Langstrasse
Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ascot
#72 of 137 in Zurich
309 reviews
Hotel Rossli
#46 of 137 in Zurich
314 reviews
EMA House Hotel Suites
#11 of 137 in Zurich
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engimatt City-Gardenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engimatt City-Gardenhotel

Address: Engimattstrasse 14, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Zurich
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Business Hotel in Zurich
#43 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#48 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $194 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Engimatt City-Gardenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Oasis with stars Standard, Deluxe or one of our suites for a special occasion? No matter what you decide, you can expect something very special. Located in the quiet neighbourhood "Enge", our hotel is surrounded by a green Oasis of peace and aesthetics. Nevertheless most sights are near: only a few minutes walking distance and you are at the well known "Bahnhofstrasse", the historic old town and the idyllic Zurich Lake. The museum "Rietberg" with the appending park and its own fascinating history is located very near as well. Only a two minutes walk away is Sihlcity, a shopping mall with 80 shops, a cinema complex with 10 theatres and the Asia Spa. When you have finished exploring the city our hotel awaits you with a small discovery: all our bedrooms are individually designed and each of the rooms is it's own bright and peaceful jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Engimatt City-Gardenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engimatt Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing