We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, convenient, great room and very good food”
Review of Hotel Glockenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Glockenhof
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice people, convenient, great room and very good food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed there one evening. Total was 332 CHF. Not far from the main train station [Bahnhof]. I know Best Western in the US is not a premium brand, but this hotel was very nice. I had a separate tub and a nice shower. Spacious room. Staff was nice enough to research the train schedule for me and printed out the details.

Room Tip: Nice open staircase that is easy to use which I prefer over elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier03, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to change your view of the Best Western Hotels. Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcoming you back real soon.

Matthias Sutter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    187
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
103
100
31
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel was simply elegant with many added features----expresso machine, fresh fruit on arrival, north american power options, exceptional breakfast included. The location was a short walk from the train station in the heart of the shopping district. The front line team was extremely accommodating. 5 star in our recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 111jaynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier03, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely review and the 5 star score you gave us. Zurich is always worth a trip and we hope to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Matthias Sutter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

very good quality place in best location just a few steps from Bahnhofstrasse and the station. Easily accessed by public transport or by foot on the Bahnhofstrasse. Two nice Restaurants and a very comforting served little garden aerea belong to the house.
Well established and working in good standards for quite some years now. Stylished and modern at once

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klopfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier03, Manager at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear guest

First of all I would like to thank you for your loyalty towards the Hotel Glockenhof and for your warm words regarding our high standards of Service.

I hope there are many more visits to come.

Matthias Sutter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel for business travel a few times over the past 2 years, my latest stay was this May.
Rooms are small but clean and have everything you need, front desk is welcoming and efficient. The location of this hotel is great, close to everything.
If you are in Zurich for business this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: There are bigger and smaller room. Try the bigger ones, it's considered an upgrade but if they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier03, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guest

First of all I would like to thank you for your loyalty towards the Hotel Glockenhof and for recommending us to the TripAdvisor users and especially the business traveller. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything met your needs. To meet all our guests requirements we have different room categories with different sizes. We would be happy to show you some examples when you visit us next time.

Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcoming you back real soon

Matthias Sutter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is my favorit hotel. We stay in this hotel several times and I fill as iam camming home. The rooms are terrific, The staff are very kind and they try to do every thing to give you the best vacation.
Reception staff are very friendly and professional
I recommend to enjoy your vacation in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier03, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your amazing review and for your loyalty towards the Hotel Glockenhof. We are glad you enjoyed a memorable stay with us and we are looking forward to be able to say: "Welcome back to Glockenhof".

Matthias Sutter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Zurich is expensive so you are not going to get any bargains. The hotel is in a great location. Handy to the main shopping areas, right near bahnhoff strasse where watch stores abound, and right near the "old town" part of the city. It's a relatively short walk down to the lake which is well worth seeing. The rooms are fine. Nothing fancy but quite serviceable. The restaurant and bar seem to serve the same menu. Food is quite good and won't break the bank but again Zurich is an expensive place!
Service was very good and all staff were friendly helpful and professional. In summer the outdoor area of the hotel looks like it would be a good spot as there don't seem to be that many places in the town that have good outdoor areas - guess you need to head to the lake for that.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier03, Manager at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you soon again.

Matthias Sutter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
271 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Actually, it is an old well known hotel in Zurich (it belongs to Best Western today). I stayed in this hotel several times and every time I stayed I was satisfied because the room was clean and the people in the hotel were very kind. The location is fantastic, just off Bahnhofstrasse, in front of the famous vegetarian restaurant "Hiltl", next to St. Annahof department store. Still it is amazingly quiet and I like the design of the hotel and restaurant, which is simple, minimalistic and very Swiss. I can recommend the restaurant also just for lunch, dinner and a glass of wine before you go home. The food is modest but good Swiss specialties (photos) The restaurant is nicely located in the corner of a crossing and quite transparent. The people on the pavement can see us but it is a friendly and safe encounter with the local people. It is categorized as a business hotel and not too expensive compared to the others around this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentePaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier03, Manager at Hotel Glockenhof, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest

First of all I would like to thank you for your loyalty towards the Hotel Glockenhof and for recommending the Glockenhof to the other TripAdvisor users. We are glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and I hope I will not be too long before we have the pleasure to welcoming you back.

Matthias Sutter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 139 in Zurich
925 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
428 reviews
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
#46 of 139 in Zurich
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
463 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glockenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glockenhof

Property: Hotel Glockenhof
Address: Sihlstrasse 31, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Glockenhof)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Zurich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#36 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Glockenhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Glockenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing