We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but only average room for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Plaza Hotel
Ranked #46 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It is difficult to write a fair review of a decent hotel when it cost twice as much as the previous 5 star hotel we had stayed in Budapest. There was nothing wrong with the room, it was small, but clean and quiet considering the location. Contintental breakfast was included, with an upgrade available. Zurich is an extremely expensive city and I would stay here again if I wanted to be right in the town centre, otherwise I may look further out maybe near the lake for somewhere that is better value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on upper floors as the hotel is located near a busy road.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for Central Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 695 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Rooms ok the service ok hotel is in a good spot. But when checking out we asked for a taxi to go to the airport. When the taxi arrived it was a private car. Six kms to the airport cost Chf65. We don't know if we were ripped off by driver or usual practice of the hotel to do this.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralPlazaHotel, Geschäftsführer at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Sir, thank you very much for your stay at the Central Plaza Hotel and your comment. Our limousine service to the airport (10km) has one fixed price of CHF 60.- to avoid expensive extra charges because of heavy traffic.
The price of a regular taxi is between CHF 55.- and CHF 70.-, depends on the traffic situation.
We appologize, that our staff member did not inform you about the transportation rates to the airport, which are as well displayed at the front desk.
We do regret your impression of being ripped off and stay at your disposal for any further questions.
Kind regards.
The Central Plaza Hotel
Susanna Firl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for three weeks over the summer whilst on business. The hotel itself was clean but the decor is quite old. One of the plus points is the location is excellent, close to the train station, Old Town and restaurants. Unfortunately I experienced a number of problems during my stay, firstly a problem with the water tanks left brown water coming out of the taps and shower for several days. There is free wifi but it was down for a significant portion of my stay. Some of the TV channels also keep dropping in and out constantly. Overall for the price I'd expect more.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank mattrileyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We got a free upgrade to a suite on the 4th floor, beautiful view from all the windows. Great location near the train station and within walking distance of all the good places in town.The room was very big and the bed was super comfy. Limited breakfast for the money, better to get something from down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in the front
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very well located hotel in downtown Zurich just by the station but far enough so it was quiet and nice. The room was a bit on a smaller side but bed was comfortable and room spotlessly clean. The flat screen tv was really big for that size of the room and there was also a minibar but not other "extras". Bathroom was big enough but if you love powerful showers you might be disappointed. Bed was comfortable and it was super quiet during the night so all in all I'd recommend the hotel even thou it's pretty expenseive - anyway everything is in Switzerland. We checked in very early and to our great surprise the room was already ready. Lots of nice shops and restaurants just a few steps away so it's an excellent base for your stay. Trams just in front in case you need to go a bit further. Staff were very friendly and helpful and made use feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed for one night here on a short business trip to Zurich, arriving quite late in the evening and departing again early the next morning. Thus my impression of this hotel was based on the quality of my room, the reception area and the breakfast corner. Starting with my room it was certainly nothing special and quite pokey. The bed was comfortable enough, I had free WiFi (which worked!), a flat screen TV and a reasonable, if rather nondescript bathroom. No tea/coffee making facilities but a bottle of free sparking water.
The check in was friendly and efficient as was the check out the next morning. My shock at seeing the price for the room was greeted with an explanation that I was paying the corporate rate and that Zurich is expensive. OK, but...
I skipped the breakfast (extra charge!) but had an overly priced cup of coffee and croissant in the breakfast area. I did not get to enjoy any of the other apparent positive features of this hotel and will probably look for another hotel if I have to return to Zurich.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyekaytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Absolutely wonderful location. Next to the Zurich lake , close to various restaurants , shopping areas , and transportation which are all stones throw away from this great hotel.

The staff were very helpful and considerate. Infact I had inquired with them about how to get to the airport early in the morning. They gave me almost 3 options and helped me with it.

Will definitely stay here in my future stops.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
980 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#45 of 138 in Zurich
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#50 of 138 in Zurich
544 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#25 of 138 in Zurich
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Hotel

Address: Central 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#67 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $223 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the heart of ZurichThis is as close to the heart of Zurich as it gets. The four-star Central Plaza Hotel is located directly on the River Limmat, only a few minutes' walk from the railway station. Bahnhofstrasse the most famous shopping street in Switzerland, the shores of Lake Zurich and the charming old town with its boutiques, restaurants, and bars, all are in easy walking distance. And to delve into culture, all you have to do is step right outside – a wide variety of cultural events awaits you, at the Opera House, at the Schauspielhaus (Zurich Playhouse), and more.We are looking forward to showering you with comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Plaza
Central Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing