We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all .. Stylish and central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Plaza Hotel
Ranked #41 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The name says it all .. Stylish and central”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

For those wanting to explore Central Zürich there's no better option than the central plaza hotel For the price. The rooms are standard European size modern and include a flat screen television, Minibar and comfortable bedding. There is a very nice breakfast served every morning, Although overpriced if you pay additionally for it. Try and get a room rate through hotels.com or trip advisor which includes breakfast. The hotel is also very clean and non-smoking.

The staff are friendly and attentive and speak English, Which has also been my opinion of most people and Shops in Zurich. The trump card of this hotel is its location by the river and only a three minute walk to the main train station. The tram stop for Central is only one minute outside the hotel front door. From there The efficient tram system will get you anywhere in the city, Specifically tramlines six and seven. Further adding to the convenience of this location is a supermarket 100 yards across the bridge from the hotel's front door.

Overall a nice hotel in a great location and convenient to all forms of transit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sg_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    316
    122
    36
    23
See reviews for
103
224
61
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Close to station, lots of bars and restaurants close by. Lovely hotel, everywhere clean, comfortable beds and spacious enough room. Bar expensive but then everything is in Zurich. Coop over the road if you need any supplies. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Very well located. Close to major shopping area, restaurants and to the main train station which was very convenient. It's on the river and very close to the lake and the old town. Hotel has nice common areas, a decent restaurant bar (a bit expensive for its type but then everything in Zurich is expensive) and seems to have been remodeled recently. Rooms are less nice than the rest of the hotel. They are tiny and furnishings are modern but pretty basic. Very limited tv options. Just a few local channels plus bbc, cnn, etc. Overall it is a decent place to stay in a very good location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SPCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

excellent hotel ,only 5 mins from main train station, very convenient for shops and places of interest. excellent staff. roomsv ery clean bedsvery comfortable, restaurant excellent and staff where all very helpful and pleasant. would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Stanley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
974 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very central location. Just cross the river and you will find the train station. This is also the area of the high end shopping of Zurich. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We stayed for one night and returned 2 nights later. On the second time, we were given a smoking room which smelled very bad. I requested for another room. We were pleased with the alternative room which had a view of the river. Even better than our first room.

We had the buffet breakfast. Nothing impressive about this, just the standard choice of cheeses and cold cuts and fruits.

I would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Gruezi!

So out of all of the hotels I reviewed and kept looking for a decent deal money-wise and amenities / look & feel I logged on to my trusty Trip Advisor and Expedia and will not blame either but truly say - Stay Away!

This hotel is so out of date and really puts the beautiful city of Zurich to shame! The rooms are old, not up to date and to be honest out of the 7 European countries I've visited on my mini tour this was the worst hotel. There are plenty of hotels around this area plus honestly you can get to Central Zurich in about 10-15 mins max. I would recommend the Sheratons, Park Hyatt, Widder Hotel. This hotel is about 280 CHF (~300 USD) per night and absolutely not worth it.

The first night I got there they put me in a smoking room - which I could not breathe and asked them to move me but they were 100% booked. I was moved the next day - thank goodness on my insistence! There is no complimentary water in the rooms, the rooms have this dank smell and just odd feel. The bathrooms are old, old, old! This hotel needs updating something bad! Honestly, I enjoyed their gym because I have to work out everyday but the machines are old - the work out room is right when you enter and in plain view of all to gawk.

The only plus to this hotel is the location - literally 2 mins from Zurich HB (walking), 10 mins from Zurich Airport by SSSB (approximately 6.67 CHF (7.10 USD), 3 min walk from Bahnhofstrasse, 10 mins or less to Alstadt, Gross and Fraumunster, 2 corner Starbucks and a local grocery store - COOP, if you want water and quick snacks - better than paying the 5 USD for a bottle of water. At COOP, Evian etc is 1.10 CHF (~1.45 USD). As I mentioned, in my other reviews I am a loyal SPG member - should have stuck to the Sheratons (even in Sihlcity).

Looking forward to my Le Meridien experience in Vienna next! Tchuss Central Hotel - when I am back in Zurich next you will not get my business! Sorry not being a hater but just trying warn my other fellow wanderers! Happy & safe travels!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamieN_Global_Sole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked this hotel primarily for the location and would stay here again for this reason. It was less than a five minute walk from the main train station, which is the easiest way to commute to the airport. The hotel was also across from a tram stop and less than five minutes from a COOP grocery store, which turned out to be very useful considering how expensive eating out in Zurich can get. The room came with free wifi, which was slow at times but always worked. The room was a little small but was clean and comfortable. The fitness center was a big disappointment, as there was no privacy such that anyone entering the hotel can watch you exercise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 139 in Zurich
941 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#45 of 139 in Zurich
532 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#90 of 139 in Zurich
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Hotel

Property: Central Plaza Hotel
Address: Central 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#67 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the heart of ZurichThis is as close to the heart of Zurich as it gets. The four-star Central Plaza Hotel is located directly on the River Limmat, only a few minutes' walk from the railway station. Bahnhofstrasse the most famous shopping street in Switzerland, the shores of Lake Zurich and the charming old town with its boutiques, restaurants, and bars, all are in easy walking distance. And to delve into culture, all you have to do is step right outside – a wide variety of cultural events awaits you, at the Opera House, at the Schauspielhaus (Zurich Playhouse), and more.We are looking forward to showering you with comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Plaza
Central Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing