We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Central Plaza Hotel
Ranked #46 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times. They are now finished with renovations. From the hotel you overlook the Limatt river. The train station is 2 minutes away. The bar is quite active! Good central location. A business hotel, but convenient for a short stay just to visit Zurich.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    305
    120
    36
    22
See reviews for
90
219
59
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Was really looking forward to staying at this hotel but I am sorry to say the service wasn't very good. We had to ask for towels to be put in our room, no one was there to welcome us at breakfast so I just started to help myself and then a waiter finally appeared, also not very approachable to ask questions. One good thing is the location it is right by the main station but I will not be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is certainly one of the best in town, but the stuff albeit reasonably professional is not very friendly. They were not willing to explain much about the town, when I asked about the concierge (gave me some quick directions on the map, that was all). On the morning when I came to have my breakfast, the waitress looked at the clock (it was 10:20, they serve breakfast until 10:30) and said: oh, you are late, but I will still serve you! Rooms are very small, I stayed on the fifth floor and the window was tiny, had to wait half a hour for an iron, although I asked the reception to bring it ASAP as I had a meeting in a short while. Overall, it was comfortable to stay in the centre of the city, but I am not sure if I would stay there again. As a hotel itself, it is nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Central is more or less a business hotel -- no vacation amenities. Good breakfast, fine service, a short walk from the central railroad station and the center of town. Definitely a convenient place to stay at a god price by Swiss standards.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are over heavily travelled streets -- so if you are peculiarly sensitive to sound, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had a lovely weekend stay at the hotel - very impressed with the location which is a few minutes walk from the station, the main shopping area, the old town, and overlooking the river. Stayed in a room on the first floor overlooking the tram stop and river - no issue with noise at all. Room is very modern and clean with comfortable beds and a decent sized bathroom with bath and separate shower. Safe and mini bar fridge also in the room plus a huge tv and great air con. We had continental breakfast (cold meats, smoked salmon, croissants, yoghurts) included but upgraded to the cooked breakfast (scrambled egg, sausages, bacon, and a glass of Prosecco for 8CHF per person) - nothing great and certainly wouldn't pay the 26CHF per person the hotel charges. Staff were very helpful and booked a taxi for us to take us to dinner on the Saturday evening (went to Acqua on the lake overlooking the mountains - lovely food and great scenery). Would certainly recommend this hotel as it is a great base for exploring Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ley30London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

A five minute walk from the railway station, and right by the river, this is a lovely location. Our room was very clean, large, and with new, modern facilities including free WI-FI. Despite being only on the first floor, and overlooking the tram station below, sound insulation was excellent and no noticeable noise came in from outside. Excellent air conditioning cooled us down after spending the day in the 30 degree+ heat of a Zürich August. Being central, it's only a few minutes walk from all other parts of town, and only ten minutes from the lake. As others have mentioned, breakfast is expensive for what it is, but that would be my only negative comment. I had a very comfortable stay here and would recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The best thing about the hotel is the location.

Rooms are small'ish but that is expected in central parts of cities in Europe. Rooms clean and functional with a great view. (we upgraded to a superior room).

People complain it is loud with street noise at night ... This isn't that bad and we expected it. Because of the fantastic central location.

Breakfast is the biggest let down don't bother with it. €18 and you literally get bread rolls, jam and a single egg *or* yougart.

There is a coop supermarket across the road that has great bread rolls and hot pastries (meat, spinach etc) for 1.95 each. The bread rolls are nicer at the coop than the hotel.

As stated above would stay here again any day. Would probably get a bigger room again as we have a baby.

Staff helpful an parking while tight is avaliable. Easy to find by car.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrs2065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#52 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Hotel

Property: Central Plaza Hotel
Address: Central 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#67 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the heart of ZurichThis is as close to the heart of Zurich as it gets. The four-star Central Plaza Hotel is located directly on the River Limmat, only a few minutes' walk from the railway station. Bahnhofstrasse the most famous shopping street in Switzerland, the shores of Lake Zurich and the charming old town with its boutiques, restaurants, and bars, all are in easy walking distance. And to delve into culture, all you have to do is step right outside – a wide variety of cultural events awaits you, at the Opera House, at the Schauspielhaus (Zurich Playhouse), and more.We are looking forward to showering you with comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Central Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Plaza
Central Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing