We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed June 4, 2007

The Sofitel in Zurich is a great hotel. While not exactly in the best location (a bit of a walk to the old town), it is close enough to the train station without being too close and it is certainly in a safe area with easy access to public transportation (the 11 and 14 trams stop just a block down). The building does not look like too much from the outside, but the inside is just grand. The staff here is very helpful and friendly. Try to book a room rate which includes the breakfast which is very good and includes hot food (eggs and bacon) in addition to the traditional coldcuts, rolls, fruits and cereal. The rooms are wonderful - of good size, very clean and with the traditional Sofitel soft bed with the feather top. The windows are sound proof and they have nice room darkening shades and curtains. Overall, a great hotel which I would highly recommend.

  • Liked — comfortable and large room
  • Disliked — location a bit far from old town
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelerKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    839
    243
    43
    33
See reviews for
205
919
226
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

My third trip to this hotel, and would still recommend as a good hotel in town with proximity to the train station. The property asserts that it no longer books triples when I reserved through the US 800 number. However, the booking agent emailed the hotel, mentioned that I had stayed there before in a triple, and we were able to secure a rollaway for an extra 50 euros per night. The staff is still extremely efficient. The beddings were changed to remove all of the feathers (down allergy) in less than 10 minutes after we requested the change. The morning wake-up call was an actual call from the front desk and exactly on time. I would still stay here again in town, and stay at the Hilton if I wanted to be at the airport. Zurich is an expensive city, and this hotel (at 300 euros for a double, plus 50 for the extra bed) is a good value for this time of year. Most of the guests are business travelers. A small sign, but could be indicative of future changes-not all of the bathroom toiletries were the standard Sofitel Roger Gallet brand. Low end generic shampoo and shower gel were substituted.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank texas spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! We have visited Zurich a couple of times, but this has to be the best yet. Although the Sofitel does not offer river or lake views, it is located in the street behind the river road and is also close to the station and Bahnhofstrasse.

We arrived by car and the hotel has a convenient underground car park. On checking in, we were upgraded for free as the hotel was not very busy. Our room was lovely, and the bed has got to be the most comfortable that I have ever slept in! The décor was modern with a Swiss-twist (lots of pine wood).

The bathroom was lovely, clean and very modern with a huge walk in shower. A large selection of toiletries was provided.

The hotel staff were very helpful, and we were allowed to check out later at 1pm (the normal check out time is 12pm). We were very impressed and are planning to go back soon!

  • Liked — The beds were so comfortable.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

The Sofitel in Zurich, SZ was an excellent hotel and my wife and I are glad that we chose this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was smaller by American standards, but very reasonable by European standards. Additionally, the room was very comfortable, especially the bed and this helped after a long day of touring and sightseeing. The bathroom was very modern. Our room and floor were designated non-smoking (as was the hotel lobby) and there was never even a whiff of smoke (a surprise in a city where virtually everyone seems to smoke) at any time. The location was outstanding. It was a five minute walk to Old Town. Had we chosen a hotel in Old Town, we would have been disappointed by the crowds and noise. The Sofitel was the nicest, closest hotel to Old Town that allowed us to escape the noise and congestion of Old Town. All of this made our trip to Zurich especially pleasurable. We would strongly recommend the Sofitel. Try to book a package that includes breakfast. Dining is very expensive in Zurich and our package, which included breakfast, saved us 64 CHF daily. We were especially pleased booking through Skoosh as we encountered no difficulties during our stay and the staff of Skoosh was very responsive to out questions. The Sofitel was an excellent value for the money and comfort and location couldn't have been better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JWSFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

I visit this hotel about once a month on business, and have never been disappointed. As in all other European Sofitels, the beds are remarkably comfortable, and even if you get a single bed, these are nearly the same size as a standard European double bed. It's worth asking for a room that's not on the street -- go for as high a floor as possible, and overlooking the courtyard if it's available.

The staff are always friendly and welcoming, and even when there's a large check out queue at 8-ish in the morning, they're always extremely efficient. I once left my alarm clock in the room inadvertently, and when I returned a few weeks later, they had it ready and waiting for me!

As Zurich is a small city, it doesn't matter that the hotel's not right in the city centre. It's about 5 minutes' walk from the Old Town (where there are lots of good bars and restaurants), about 2 minutes from the lake, and about 5 minutes from the main railway station.

I've tried several other hotels in Zurich at this kind of price level, and this is by far the best. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendliness, efficiency
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Camdenicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Stayed there three times on business trips.
On the plus side: excellent beds, friendly understanding staff.
Rooms (ask for the ones giving to the inside court) are quiet and cozy. Excellent and varied buffet breakfast. Close to the center.
Overall value for money is rather good.

On the minus side: Although the location is very central (3-4 min. walking distance from Central Tram Station), it's not the most pleasant area, especially in the evening.
The rooms I had were always rather small.
The overall feeling one gets from the street, the lobby and the other guests is not that of a luxury hotel however.

I recommend this hotel for anyone who does not want to overpay and get decent value; but don't expect an atmosphere of high class luxury.

  • Liked — The beds, the breakfast, the friendly and efficient service
  • Disliked — Location not great, rooms and bathrooms small.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Eti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#25 of 138 in Zurich
874 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
722 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
817 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
346 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing