We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like sleeping on a cloud!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #34 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This was my first trip to Zurich and I actually had difficulty getting inspired to go out to see the city, because the bed was just so comfortable I didn't want to leave it! But I digress:-

We arrived in Zurich by car and the hotel was easy to find and we could drive straight into their underground parking garage. I noticed later it was also very close to the train station, so would be also very convienient for those arriving by rail. The welcome at the front desk was probably the most friendly I have ever received in a hotel anywhere. When we enquired about restaurants nearby, the staff were happy to recommend an excellent restaurant and made the reservation for us on the spot.

We booked a standard room and it was very large (certainly by European standards) and had a great layout. The toilet was in a separate room (with its own basin and mirror) and the bathroom was very large, with a huge shower AND a full size bath. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean. They also had numerous power sockets in each (so you can plug in your hair straightener or whatever and still stand in front of the mirror), which is a simple thing which so many hotels in Europe don't have. The bedroom itself had a work desk, a small table with two big armchairs, wardrobe and of course, the bed. The bed was very large and it had some type of woollen or down underlay on the mattress - combined with the lovely bed linen, it was the softest, most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel, so can't comment, but we walked down to the old town (perhaps 15 mins away) where there were plenty of great cafes and restaurants. The only downside of our stay was that a member of the housekeeping staff let herself into our room late one afternoon (after managing to somehow unlatch the chain across the door) and without knocking or calling out first, which I found a bit strange. But other than that little surprise, the hotel was excellent and I would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2010

About an 8 minute easy walk from the train station. We had 3 rooms at this hotel. Single room was large with a work desk area. Other two doubles were adequate size. A/C did not cool enough to southern standards. Rooms were quiet. Bathrooms had nice fixtures and amenities. Free fruit and apple juice available in the lobby. One computer available in the lobby. Wifi available in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The only 2 complaints I had of this hotel was that the room smelled of cigarettes despite it being a smoke free hotel. The second was that parking was extremely expensive. When I first got there, I asked one of the receptionist and was told that it cost $15, however upon checkout it turned out to be $25 per day, which cost us a total of $50 in parking alone. It's the most we've had to pay for parking on our trip so far.

Apart from these 2 things, the hotel is a short walk to Central Zurich and Bahnofstrasse. The staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't have a Swiss converter and they offered one for us to use. The room itself was clean and quite roomy. Prices were reasonable given the location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Fatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

If you are on business in Zurich for a couple of nights then this hotel might be adequate, but if you are a tourist looking for 4 star accommodation this hotel is far from adequate. Its locations stinks. It is too far from all the major sights and is in a very uninteresting, ugly part of town. The building itself is a soulless, sad, mid-centrury facade, the lobby is depressing and the entire vibe of the place is dreary. The clean, crisp, centrally located feeling one gets from its website is a total misrepresentation. It certainly doesn't have any 4 star feeling. I eventually changed hotels. This hotel may look like a good value for the money but it is not.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I read a lot of reviews and looked around a lot to find a good hotel in Zurich that was in a good location that wasn't too expensive. I chose this hotel and was very very pleased with the choice. The front desk staff was above and beyond helpful, polite and excellent. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on. I really liked the location because it is close to the train station and close to everything in town. I stayed in the supirior room for my 4 night stay and was very please with the space and furnishings. Also, I noticed a lot of hotels in Switzerland have odd bathrooms where they are open to the main room so if you are sitting on your bed for example, there would be no door to block you from seeing a person in the bathroom bathing or brushing their teeth. I think that sort of bathroom setup is strange so I was very happy that this hotel has the standard, closed door, non window, private bathrooms that I like.

The only negative thing I can say about the hotel stay was the housekeeping service, seemed to get worse each additional day, it was excellent the first day but the room was not given very much cleaning attention the following days.

If I travel to Switzerland again I will definately stay at this hotel and I would recommend it to my friends as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinman2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel from 30th Apr to 3rd May 2010. The hotel is 5 mins walk from the train station, 15mins to the lake and about 10 mins to the old town.The staff were 100%, so happy to be of assistance.The room was spotless. The bed was so comfy as others have commented. We had a breakfast inclusive rate and the breakfast was very good, even served till 1:30pm at the weekends. The room included a minibar and flat screen TV and safe. The shower was both hot and powerfull. We would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_happyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This hotel was a great find, we booked this hotel after reviewing it on TripAdvisor.

It was a easy 5 minute walk from the station and we found the staff to be excellent.
The free WiFi was a nice addition. The staff were very helpful when it came to advising which local restaurants to go to (depending on your budget) and how to get to local attractions.

The room was nice and very comfortable, the room doors are fire rated which makes the sound proofing excellent.
Zurich in general is quite expensive, the bar in the the hotel is no exception. A Vodka and coke cost 16 CHF, 11 for the Vodka and 5 for the tiny bottle of coke.

Overall we would recommend this hotel, just avoid the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
988 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 137 in Zurich
848 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 137 in Zurich
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
887 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $174 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing