We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Comfortable and Friendly Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #33 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Extremely Comfortable and Friendly Hotel...”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel for one night in June 2014 and could not have been more happier with my stay. The hotel is easily accessible from the main train station by walk or via trams. Taxi to the hotel is not recommended as it is expesive (like all of Switzerland) unless you have loads of luggage.

Once inside the hotel, you are blown away by the service. The staff are extremely helpful and checkin is easy and very fast. Do not argue or fight for an early checkin; if the room is available you can checkin anytime you arrive.

The rooms are quite sufficient in size and the bed is extremely comfortable. Sleep quality was great. The bathroom was a little small compared to other Novotel and Sofitel hotels I have stayed in from Accor Hotels. Since it was just the one night I stayed, it was manageable. Maybe there are bigger bathrooms in other type of rooms.

The breakfast at the hotel is also worth it with a number of choices.The restaurant in the hotel is also great. The staff are very attentive and cater to your every need.

The only con I could think of was the Bar closing at 23:00 CET. It was after all the World Cup season and I wanted to watch the matches at late night having a beer among other Football Fans. Unfortunately I had to watch the match in my room alone.

The Bahnhofstrasse (famous Shopping Street) is at a walkable distance from the Hotel. It's very easy to get to Lake Zurich from there and take the many crusies on offer.

All in all, an excellent hotel to stay. Zurich is a city that does not require much time for sightseeing unless you are doing a lot of excursions to the Alps which I had already done. So stayed here just the one night but will certainly be back to the hotel whenever I am back in Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuiku2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Grüezi chuiku2,

Thanks a million for your fantastic and detailed review. Let me answer some of your points. Well, you are right, we should have kept the bar longer open during the football championship. Sorry that this did not happen.
You should not underestimate the Zurich sites. Going really into detail would take one more than a day. This is a cultural hub of Switzerland - check with our Front Office during your next stay.
And yes, taxis are rather expensive in Zurich. Our hotel can easily be reached by train from the airport - and trains are not expensive and very reliable.
Thanks again for your feedback and see you hopefully soon again.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    863
    256
    50
    34
See reviews for
217
948
234
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I had stayed in this great hotel for many occasions, and I would definitely book a room if I would be travelling to Zurich in the future. Hotel location is not in the middle of the centre, but it is not far away either. The neighbourhood where the hotel is located is peaceful so there is no noisy disturbances. At least we didn't encounter them.

There is an excellent Chinese restaurant next to the hotel (Called Luo) and I warmly recommend it to anyone who likes that kind of food. There are many other restaurants nearby of course.

Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was luxurious if I remember correctly.

The rooms are cozy and very clean. There is safe box and fridge inside the rooms and we didn't miss anything.

To summarize: this is a great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Terve Magus M,

What a great review! Thank you so much for it. And you remember correctly - our breakfast offer is one of the best in town.

Send my regards home, to beautiful Suomi!

Esko Rebstock & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed in this hotel recently for just one night as a layover when we needed somewhere convenient yet comfortable and this hotel met that criteria. Easy walk from the train station, really comfortable bed, small but efficient bathroom and just a couple of blocks to walk to the old town.

Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Grüezi dalbertson,

Thank you for your kind feedback. For you next stay ask for one of our rooms with a more spacious bathroom and a walk in shower.

Hope you had a great journey onwards after the layover.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed here for business in June 2014 having last stayed here just over 10 years ago. Things have changed a little inside, the location remains perfect for Zurich just a short walk up the low hill from the main train station. Breakfast buffet was not the best I have encountered but the range and variety was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyDave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Uri S,

Thank you very much for your nice review on tripadvisor. Great that you enjoyed your stay with us.
See you soon again in Zurich
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great and clean hotel. located just a few minutes walk from the center of the city. comfortable room with everything you need. Good breakfast, friendly stuff. Would definitely recommend and will come again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed two nights in a standard room and although the room was a tad small, it was immaculate and very quiet. The pillow was a welcome addition and nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff. They serve an excellent buffet breakfast as well. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: perhaps choose a bigger room - junior suite??
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snagfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear snagfu,

Thanks for recommending us. Highly appreciated. For your next stay I suggest you to book one of our spacious Superior Rooms.
See you soon around.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at this hotel two days while in Zurich. It was one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The staff was very helpful and ready to answer any questions we asked. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have experienced. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Grüezie Dave R ,

A real treat reading your review. Thank you so much for it. I will share it with my team.

Best regards from Zurich,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 139 in Zurich
941 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
778 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 139 in Zurich
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
861 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#38 of 139 in Zurich
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing