We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Bed, Handy Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #29 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable Bed, Handy Location”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Where can I buy one of these beds? Damn that was a great nights sleep! This hotel was fairly well located, nice and handy to the train station and Bahnhofstrasse shopping/dining strip. Although other hotels may well be closer, Hotel Continental is close enough to be handy yet avoids any night time street noise.

The entrance to the hotel from,outside is a little drab looking, it's really just a spinning glass door entrance in the side of an otherwise grey concrete monolith... But once inside it nicely resembles the traditional swiss chalet style look n feel... At least reception area does. The hallways could do with a makeover, perhaps new carpets etc but nothing wrong with our room itself. Shower pressure was good and water was hot! Both very important to me.

Had a most enjoyable buffet breakfast in the morning, which was included in our room rate and the selection was of the standard you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Personally I think the price was rather steep in comparison to everywhere else we stayed on our European trip... However, having said that it was one of the cheapest prices we could find for accommodation in Zurich.... So it might be very well priced when compared to other Zurich hotels of a similar star rating. The staff were very warm and friendly not to mention helpful.

Zurich itself is quite expensive, and is definitely designed for the rich and probably famous. We felt totally put of place. The prices of accommodation, taxis, food, drinks were all well outside our budget and we struggled to find somewhere to eat that we could actually afford. I wasn't going to pay the equivalent of AUD$96 for a steak. Eventually we did find a nice Chinese restaurant (I wish I knew its name so I could review them because their food was very good), but for the most part almost very restaurant we reviewed the menu too we had to walk away from based purely on price. Even McDonald's wanted AUD$35 for 2 burger combos with small drinks and small fries! Ridiculous!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    848
    244
    44
    33
See reviews for
206
931
231
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Zurich HB is about 15 minutes walk away. Beware that there is a slope upwards to the hotel if you were to walk from the HB, dragging a heavy luggage was a little tiring. If you are lazy, it is also very convenient to catch a tram back to the hotel.

This was the first and only hotel to ask if I would like to upgrade for a larger room (since there were 2 guests). I guess perhaps its due to the hotel being in Zurich, but I had gotten free upgrades in my other accommodations so this left a sour note. Front desk staff were not as friendly and felt a little curt.

Room was well sized although outdated. Beds were not that comfortable as the middle had sunken in. Bathroom was of decent size as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babysilve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is located in a very quite place 10 min on foot from the Zurich HB railroad station. The trip from an airport to the station takes approximately 10 min. There is free wifi at the airport so you can see the way to the hotel in google map. We reached the hotel in the late evening. At the reception we met gloomy unfriendly receptionist named Monja. I hope she was just tired since it was late evening. Next day and later all other staff was very polite and friendly. The room price didnt include breakfasts so we paid 29 francs per person per breakfast. There wasn't anybody in the hall who could help us to carry our luggage to the room. Our standard room was on the 4th floor. The size of the room was medium, not very big and not very small. There was a big kingsize bed with a very comfortable mattress, blankets and handy pillows. Everything in the room seem to be not shabby but new enough. Only in the bathroom there were some dirty places in the edges of the ceiling. Our room had the only one defect. It was impossible to open any window. They were blocked. An air conditioner didnt cope with getting the room colder. It was not hot in the room but it was not cold enough. And forget about fresh air. A receptionist told us that there are rooms with windows which can be opened but if the room faces the road blocked windows installed there to get the room more sound isolated. Thus our room had very good sound isolation. It's lack of racks in a wardrobe in the room. There is free wifi in the hotel but internet connection is awful! Disconnections happened constantly!!! In front of the entrance to the hotel restaurant you can find newspapers in German, French and several american ones in English. I failed to find British newspaper. Buffet breakfasts are great! There are a lot of hot dishes including omelette and fried bacon, muesli, yogurt, pastry including croissants, jam, cheese, pieces of meat. Also you can ask to cook fresh omelette or fried eggs. There are juices but if you'd like to drink fresh orange juice you should use manual squeezer. There are two nespresso coffee machines. So the hotel is great with good location and tasty breakfasts but next time i'll chose a room with windows which can be opened!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exhausted24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Grüezi Exhausted24,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us. Great that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Continental. Let me answer on your comments:
1) Arrival - I will follow up on your remark internally. Regardless of the arrival time, our guests deserve an authentic & friendly welcome. Further to that my Front Office team is more than happy to assist with your luggage, if no porter is available. Sorry, that this did not happen upon your arrival.
2) Room - we offer rooms in several categories. I recommend one of our spacious Superior rooms for your next stay.
3) Window - all windows facing the street side are intentionally blocked. This is indeed to improve the sound isolation and for security concerns. As my colleague informed you correctly we offer rooms facing the courtyard - there you can open the windows.
4) A/C - we will have it checked by our engineering. However, during very warm periods (above 30°C) all Euopean A/C's have their limitations (due to legal regulations)
5) Wifi connection - thanks for pointing it out. I will forward your remark to our IT department. Usually you are able to connect up to 10 devices with one W-LAN code.
6) No UK Newspaper - fair point. Thanks.
7) Breakfast - Thank you for your very nice feedback about it.

Hope that my answers were of any help for planning your next stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabalpur, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is very well located.service is exceptionally good.the rooms are good in size but needs improvement,specially the carpets and the a/cs.
Bright Lighting is required in the entrance lobby.Rest is fine.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Chandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Chandra M,

Thank you for your kind review. My engineers are constantly busy to keep our rooms and furnitures well maintained. Not an easy task in an older building. Since they do a great job, I am convinced that the A/C in your room will be fixed when you stay for the next time with us.
Thanks again for your comments. See you soon again.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

When traveling in Zurich, I always chose Hotel Continental because it's a quick walk from the train station and located within easy access to both the old town and the Bahnhofstrasse area. The rooms are very comfortable and quite spacious (especially by european hotel standards) with a Swiss chalet feel. The surroundings are quiet, which allows for a relaxing sleep. Also the buffet breakfast is amazing. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaggyshoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Grüezi shaggyshoo,

Great feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you!
You are right, our breakfast buffet is amazing indeed. Thanks for pointing it out.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing