We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there were windows blocked in my room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is located in a very quite place 10 min on foot from the Zurich HB railroad station. The trip from an airport to the station takes approximately 10 min. There is free wifi at the airport so you can see the way to the hotel in google map. We reached the hotel in the late evening. At the reception we met gloomy unfriendly receptionist named Monja. I hope she was just tired since it was late evening. Next day and later all other staff was very polite and friendly. The room price didnt include breakfasts so we paid 29 francs per person per breakfast. There wasn't anybody in the hall who could help us to carry our luggage to the room. Our standard room was on the 4th floor. The size of the room was medium, not very big and not very small. There was a big kingsize bed with a very comfortable mattress, blankets and handy pillows. Everything in the room seem to be not shabby but new enough. Only in the bathroom there were some dirty places in the edges of the ceiling. Our room had the only one defect. It was impossible to open any window. They were blocked. An air conditioner didnt cope with getting the room colder. It was not hot in the room but it was not cold enough. And forget about fresh air. A receptionist told us that there are rooms with windows which can be opened but if the room faces the road blocked windows installed there to get the room more sound isolated. Thus our room had very good sound isolation. It's lack of racks in a wardrobe in the room. There is free wifi in the hotel but internet connection is awful! Disconnections happened constantly!!! In front of the entrance to the hotel restaurant you can find newspapers in German, French and several american ones in English. I failed to find British newspaper. Buffet breakfasts are great! There are a lot of hot dishes including omelette and fried bacon, muesli, yogurt, pastry including croissants, jam, cheese, pieces of meat. Also you can ask to cook fresh omelette or fried eggs. There are juices but if you'd like to drink fresh orange juice you should use manual squeezer. There are two nespresso coffee machines. So the hotel is great with good location and tasty breakfasts but next time i'll chose a room with windows which can be opened!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exhausted24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Grüezi Exhausted24,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us. Great that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Continental. Let me answer on your comments:
1) Arrival - I will follow up on your remark internally. Regardless of the arrival time, our guests deserve an authentic & friendly welcome. Further to that my Front Office team is more than happy to assist with your luggage, if no porter is available. Sorry, that this did not happen upon your arrival.
2) Room - we offer rooms in several categories. I recommend one of our spacious Superior rooms for your next stay.
3) Window - all windows facing the street side are intentionally blocked. This is indeed to improve the sound isolation and for security concerns. As my colleague informed you correctly we offer rooms facing the courtyard - there you can open the windows.
4) A/C - we will have it checked by our engineering. However, during very warm periods (above 30°C) all Euopean A/C's have their limitations (due to legal regulations)
5) Wifi connection - thanks for pointing it out. I will forward your remark to our IT department. Usually you are able to connect up to 10 devices with one W-LAN code.
6) No UK Newspaper - fair point. Thanks.
7) Breakfast - Thank you for your very nice feedback about it.

Hope that my answers were of any help for planning your next stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is very well located.service is exceptionally good.the rooms are good in size but needs improvement,specially the carpets and the a/cs.
Bright Lighting is required in the entrance lobby.Rest is fine.


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Chandra M,

Thank you for your kind review. My engineers are constantly busy to keep our rooms and furnitures well maintained. Not an easy task in an older building. Since they do a great job, I am convinced that the A/C in your room will be fixed when you stay for the next time with us.
Thanks again for your comments. See you soon again.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

When traveling in Zurich, I always chose Hotel Continental because it's a quick walk from the train station and located within easy access to both the old town and the Bahnhofstrasse area. The rooms are very comfortable and quite spacious (especially by european hotel standards) with a Swiss chalet feel. The surroundings are quiet, which allows for a relaxing sleep. Also the buffet breakfast is amazing. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaggyshoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Grüezi shaggyshoo,

Great feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you!
You are right, our breakfast buffet is amazing indeed. Thanks for pointing it out.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent several nights at the Hotel Continental in May 2014 along with a group of people. Booking the group was very efficient and check-in was performed without any problems.

It is more of a botique-type hotel and offers lovely accommodations. Our rooms were large and the maid took very good care of us. In some cases the bathrooms were smaller than other rooms. The lobby and seating areas were well arranged for meet and greet with the rest of our group. Our breakfast was included with the room rate and we had excellent and varied choices, especially wonderful breads and sweets.

Our only objection was the front desk did not seem to know who was on first. We tried to make several airport transfer reservations and we always received the reply "our colleagues will arrange it." When we went back to check on our reservations nobody seemed to know what had been done. It was very frustrating. It appeared that the front desk help could not make any arrangements on their own. Someone in the offices had to do it. Finally their bellman saved us. He very efficiently arranged for taxis, they arrived on time, and had us off for a quick return to the airport.

Room Tip: Request a room with a larger bathroom. There are some available. Also higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tellicomarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Grüezi tellicomarge,

Thank you so much for kind feedback. Naturally I have already followed up on your comment regarding our Front Desk.

Rest assured that my team is able to arrange for transports. Follwing my information all of my Front Office team members were asked for support in the same matter with different informations given concerning the group pick up time - in the end they simply lost the overview. For your next stay I recommend to have one person from the group arraning for the transport directly with one of my Front Office team members.

Great that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was my first stay at the Continental, and I was impressed. The room was stylish, confortable, spacious and well prepared. The staff were helpful and friendly. I only ate breakfast in the hotel, but that was good too. The location is cemtral and convenient for the station. I will definitely use this hotel for personal and business trips and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Chris H,

Glad that we were able to impress you. Thank you for your very nice review on tripadvisor.

See you soon around.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed only one night but was very impressed. We arrived at 9am from the US. 2 of the 3 reserved rooms were ready so that was ideal. Staff is very nice, authentic Swiss cider greets you at the door and the bar/restaurant is charming. Close to the old town and the rail station. This was a great hotel for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravelAmherst_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Grüezi luvtravelAmherst_NY,

We would not leave our guests waiting in the lobby just for the sake of guaranteed check in times at 2pm. If there are rooms available, we will assign them to you. However, if you want to have your rooms guaranteed in the morning, you could book the night before and pre-register.

Thank you for your nice review and see you hopefully soon again.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 138 in Zurich
1,020 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
891 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 138 in Zurich
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
901 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $163 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing