We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The MOST comfortable bed of any Hotel EVER” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The MOST comfortable bed of any Hotel EVER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We found this hotel very good value for the price we paid ( Switzerland not being the cheapest place to visit ) The service was excellent, the room had complimentary carbonated water, chocolate ( yum! ) and in the lobby apples and apple juice, quite a lot of freebies which is always a bonus.
Our room was not huge but adequate, very clean, we had the use of bathrobes and slippers and had THE best nights sleep of any hotel we have EVER been to. The pillows and mattress were sooooo comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud, extremely comfortable.
The hotel is well located, everything was within easy walking distance, especially the train station which is handy. It is not far from the old part of town which was very convenient in the evening to get better value for money restaurants and not have to fork out for taxi's every night.
If you go out of the Hotel entrance and turn left, a few minutes walk down the road on the left is a lovely little bakery that bakes beautiful pastries, bread and yummy breakfast treats if you want a cheaper breakfast or like us didn't have it included with the hotel room rate.
We would definately return to the Hotel Continental if we ever have the chance to visit Zurich again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebe318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Grüezi Bebe318,

Very nice review indeed. We are glad that you had such a good night's sleep in our bed.
See you hopefully soon again.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    834
    241
    43
    33
See reviews for
204
914
224
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you're looking for a hotel that places a high quality on good beds and sheets, look no further than the Hotel Continental Zurich. Unlike other hotels in Zurich, this one has a comfortable climate control setting, allowing guests to actually reach their personal comfort setting. Many other hotels I've stayed at were either too hot or too cold, which is ridiculous, considering the money we spend on rooms in this city. Located two blocks from the main train station, everything you need is accessible from this hotel. As I mentioned earlier, if you desire a good location AND a good sleep, you will be pleased by choosing this hotel. Finally, the staff was very courteous, adding the proverbial cherry on the top. Good luck and enjoy a beautiful, fine city!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Diego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Grüezi Juan Diego S ,

What could we possibly add to this fantastic review? Thank you so much for it and you are right in every point.
See you hopefully very soon again.

Kind regards,

Esko Rebstock & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was my first stop after traveling from the US. The central location is ideal to sites and restaurants, and was an easy walk from the train station with rolling luggage. I arrived at the same time as a large group and the staff processed everyone's check-in politely and efficiently.

The room was of typical size for Europe and clean. The bathroom was particularly nice and updated. The bed was comfortable and room quiet. My room had a window at street level, which some may dislike, but curtains and soundproof windows prevented any inconvenience. Breakfast was excellent and consisted of a variety of hot and cold options.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuytsKralj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear DuytsKralj,

Great review! Thank you so much for it. For information - we have a few rooms facing the quiet backside of our hotel on street level.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is in a very good central location, and the lobby, breakfast and staff were all acceptable.
But the room I stayed was in a very inferior condition: everything was dusty, the telephone, the TV control, the lamps, the tables. The room looked like it was not dusted for a long time. The carpet was smelly, sticky and soiled at various spots. The air vent was across the bed and the cold air hit you directly and when off it was terribly stuffy. The bed creacked a lot and even though I asked for 3 pillows at booking, the 3rd never came. The bathroom was clean but there was no bathrobe or slippers. Check out time was 12:00pm and I needed to work in my room till then. More than 4 people including cleaning staff knocked on the door all morning asking when I was leaving. I had every right to stay till 12:00 but I felt unwelcomed and that the hotel just wanted me to get out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank connie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear connie p,

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused.
Could you be so kind to contact me directly by e-mail for a more detailed feedback? My e-mail address is: h1196-gm@accor.com
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour group so had no choice of where we stayed. The room was so small there was barely enough space for luggage. But, the bathroom was not clean (I won't go into detail). When I reported it to the front desk, they said they immediately would have it cleaned again but they never did. There were also white spots on the carpet that looked as if someone spilled bleach or something. It was very disappointing.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mhannahs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear mhannahs48,

We are very sorry for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay with us.
Concerning the bathroom cleanliness I will follow up on your remarks right away with my team.
Follwing your review you obviously stayed in one of the Single Rooms. This room type is perfect for business travellers.
For coming stays I suggest one of our spacious Superior Rooms.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#25 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing