We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
$317
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$402
$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $360/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
$257
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$226
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$348
$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $362/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$569
$413
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $458/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$146
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,212)
Filter reviews
2,212 results
Traveler rating
900
936
284
56
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
900
936
284
56
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple juiceold towntrain stationswiss chaletminute walkaccor hotelssuperior roommain stationcomfortable bedan upgradeexcellent hotelbuffet breakfastsingle roomthe air conditioningcentral locationnespresso machinezurich hb
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 2,212 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour group so had no choice of where we stayed. The room was so small there was barely enough space for luggage. But, the bathroom was not clean (I won't go into detail). When I reported it to the front desk, they said they immediately would have it cleaned again but they never did. There were also white spots on the carpet that looked as if someone spilled bleach or something. It was very disappointing.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank mhannahs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear mhannahs48,

We are very sorry for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay with us.
Concerning the bathroom cleanliness I will follow up on your remarks right away with my team.
Follwing your review you obviously stayed in one of the Single Rooms. This room type is perfect for business travellers.
For coming stays I suggest one of our spacious Superior Rooms.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Breaking our journey across Switzerland in Zurich, we spent a night at the Hotel Continental. Conveniently situated close by the railway station, we easily found the hotel and received a warm welcome from the reception staff. There was a supply of fresh apple juice and a huge basket full of delicious apples.
Our room was furnished in a Swiss style and the bed was adorned with a snug duvet. With some subdued noise from passing trams, we slept well.
Breakfast consisted of some hot food and plentiful supplies of breads, pastries, fruit, meats, cheeses, etc. The staff were attentive and friendly.
The hotel also produced a daily news sheet in a variety of languages, covering both world and UK stories for English guests.

Richard & Chris, Lincolnshire

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Richard F,

Your review on tripadvisor is highly appreciated. Thank you so much for the pleasant lines.
See you hopefully soon around again.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Good location. A few minutes away from the main shopping street and old town.
We came to the hotel but on of the two rooms was not ready. We were tired but it was OK as we came at 1.30 and check in time is 14.00. We said we'll go and have lunch in the hotel's restaurant and come back by 14.00. We gave them more time so we came back at 15.00. The room was not ready again and we were suggested to wait more. No apologies, nothing.
Later when we went upstairs in the first room was very bad cigaret smoke smell (buy the way the hotel is not smoking; we were told that for security reasons they cannot open windows). In the second room, the one that was ready later, the windows were wide open tough it was also unpleasant smell in the room but at least I had fresh air inflow. We stayed on the six floor. One has to change the elevator to get there. It is very difficult for me to judge about the whole hotel but rooms on the six floor were worn out. In the hotels they use the word "tired". In our case I'd rather use exhausted. Not clean and the smell I already mentioned. The breakfast was good enough, lunch - little choice, but also not bad.
Overall the feeling of the hotel is mixed but not good. Service is unfortunately as in many places in Zurich generally not very good. Very cold and not attentive. They are smiling and polite on the surface but immediately become cold and reluctant to talk if you tell them that you are unhappy with something. Obviously there are nice exceptions like Widder Hotel for example.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Grüezi Igor S,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused.
Naturally I followed up on your comments. Your request was for two adjoining rooms and we could have given you two rooms at time of your arrival but unfortunately not next to each other. This situation should have been handled by us in a more professional manner without a question.
Concerning the cigarette smell mentioned by you. Yes, our hotel is 100% non-smoking, but I trust you understand, that we have no influence on a persons behaviour.
All windows facing the courtyard can be opened - windows facing the street side are closed due to security concerns.
Our technical department has been instructed to check the rooms where you stayed in.
Sad that you have such a negative feeling about the service attitude in Switzerland - and rest assured, my team is authentic and does not "pretend" being friendly...they just are.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at Continental Zurich for one night this March. This was our first hotel stay during a 9-day visit to Switzerland. We rented a car at Zurich Airport. The hotel was relatively easy to find, although parking underground was quite expensive and there are no cheaper alternatives for street parking (we knew about it when making a reservation).

Check-in was quick and easy. Room was impeccably clean and comfortable, although on a smaller side, but not too inconvenient for one or two night stay. Bathroom was also surgically clean (I looked for dark spots on silicone caulking and tile grout and I could not find one). Bathroom was very small though, especially the shower stall - 2.5' x 2,5' at best. This was not only in this hotel, but in others we stayed in on this trip. I will have to repeat this sentence for my reviews of other Swiss hotels we stayed in. Overall cleanliness, neatness, staff professionalism and service quality we have experienced in Switzerland are among the best we've ever experienced (and we travel a lot!).

If hotel staff is reading this, take one suggestion: Add a couple more pillows into the room. Pillows are of good quality but quite thin and the second one would have made it more comfortable to sleep. Also, the comforter was too warm for us; we would have preferred a thin cotton blanket. We could have asked for these, of course, but we're too tired from the long trip and didn't think too much of it.

We booked through Expedia. Our room price included breakfast for two and free WiFi. Breakfast was excellent with pretty everything one might need and then some. Assortment of Swiss cheeses, gourmet coffees, eggs, cold cuts, fruits, yogurts, juices, jams and fresh thick crust breads. Final touch - huge glass pale of homemade apple cider in the lobby. Everything is very expensive in Switzerland compared to North American prices. We were very happy we had this included in this reservation. If we didn't, we'd have to pay 30 francs (~$35USD) per person for breakfast plus 20 francs ($23 USD) per night for WiFi.

Overall, very good impression and hotel stay experience. Thank you.

Room Tip: Reserve rooms with Free Breakfast and WiFi Ask for extra pillows
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaPhotoNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Grüezi NaumCalgary,

Thank you for your detailed review on tripadvisor. Yes, we are reading all guest feedbacks and even more important, we follow up on them.
At the moment we have four pillows on the beds. In addition you will find a pillow menu on the nightstand, where you find a wide choice of i.e. duck feather or spelt-chaff pillows Thanks for the suggestions - we will look into them in detail.
Compared to North American price levels you are right about Switzerland - definitely more expensive over here. We offer complimentary WLAN in all guest rooms and our fantastic breakfast buffet is 32.00 CHF per person.
Great that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and an eventful Switzerland trip. Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews