We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we'd hoped for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel was exactly what we wanted for our two-night stay. The 5- to 10-minute walk from the central train station was ideal since we had several heavy suitcases to move on foot. The chalet room decoration created a cozy atmosphere, along with the tea/coffee and other amenities. The welcome desk personnel were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was varied and delicious, with some unique touches like anise-flavored apple sauce. We'd be happy to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Ann K,

Such a nice review. We thank you very much for it. Great that you noticed the little touches in our hotel like the homemade apple compote or the honeycomp on our breakfast buffet.
It has been a pleasure to have you as our guests.
See you the next time in Zürich.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a good location, only a short walk to the main train station, the main shopping street and the old town. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jdmjdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor. Great that you enjoyed your stay so much.
We would be very happy indeed, if you keep on recommending our hotel - even better is to welcoming you back in person.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I was slightly disappointed by this hotel. I realise this is Zürich and the rooms are not going to be cheap but for CHF 239 I expected more than a tiny room with a single bed and a bathroom I could barely fit in. Service on check in was acceptable and the breakfast of a high standard. But i will try a different hotel next time I am in time in an attempt to get better value for money.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear GorillaFoot,

Thank you for your review. Sorry that we could not fully meet your expectations.
Rest assured that our pricing is on local market level.
We offer rooms in four different categories which differ in size and added values. I recommend one of our Superior rooms for your next stay and please look out for our special offers which are available on mgallery.com.
We would be very happy to welcoming you back to Hotel Continental.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We only wish we had more than one night here - this hotel was lovely in every respect. It was a very short walk from the train station (200 yards more or less), which was nice when hauling luggage and not wanting to spend the CRAZY amount on a taxi.

Additionally, it was super easy to walk down the Bahnhofstrasse and enjoy the sites and the wonderful eateries - again without having to take the train or the bus (or those darn outrageously priced cabs).

The room was small, but compared to NYC rooms, at least 30% larger. The bed was incredible - we could have taken it home it was so comfortable. The bathroom was large and easily navigable - we really enjoyed our room.

The bar was relaxing and the service excellent - and kudos to the gal that served us, she found us a snack that wasn't on the menu (a to die for chicken sandwich) which we devoured, and when we came back later in the evening for a nightcap, she never once said anything about our dripping clothes (it was pouring rain and our purchased umbrella turned "out" within one block).

We would recommend this hotel to anyone, but more than that, we would go back there again in a heartbeat. We wish we had booked our two other nights we had in Zurich there!

Room Tip: Our room faced the inner courtyard which was very peaceful - no outside noises at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Stacey A ,

May you wish become true on your next visit to beautiful Zurich. We would love being your host once more.
Nothing to add from our side to your great review. I am very happy to share it with the team - you have made our day.
See you soon again.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My heart initially sank. A long check in queue. But unlike most hotels, they had spotted it- the concierge went down the queue asking if he could help anyone, then went to answer phones to free up those checking in, so the queue vanished in no time. I found the whole atmosphere of the place delightful, and thoroughly enjoyed my (upgraded) room. The bar was friendly and my large and well served burger (with most unusually croquette chips) was no dearer than it would be in a modest Zurich cafe. Excellent location, much to be recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlesnfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you, Vielen Dank, Merci,

Dear Charlesnfergus,

Reading your review is like balm for the soul. Thank you so much for it and be sure that I will share it with my team.

See you soon around in Zurich.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here before when it was Sofitel. Now MGallery. its kept its friendliness and helpful reception staff. Its very central to main station and all buses. The breakfast excellent but unfortunately the restaurant in the evening is not good. Not great choice but one would get better in a Burger joint.

but I would stay there again and just avoid the restaurant. Some lively restaurants down the street. Traditional Swiss like Restaurant Frieden
and an Italian one Restaurant Commihalle
Both excellent

Room Tip: Room in the Annex backing onto no traffic area. definitely not rooms facing Stampfenbachstrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathT272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear KathT272,

Thank you for your review and for your loyalty. Both Sofitel and MGallery are Accor brands - so we were and are very happy that you trust in our services.
Please be so kind and drop me a short mail about your experience in our l'entupada (h1196-gm@accor.com). Feedback, especially from our regular guests like you is highly valuable to us. Surely there are a number of good restaurants nearby, but our fresh & local kitchen with a Swiss touch is definitely worthwile a try.
Nice that you mentioned our excellent breakfast. Thank you so much.
Your "home away from home" looks forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed in a king room for one night in February. Upon arrival, the hotel looked a bit old, but very charming. The front desk staff greeted us with smiles and were very helpful in pointing us where to go. Our room was on the small side, but all amenities were modern and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Later, we decided to go to the thermal bath. We were looking to drive there and needed to figure out where to park. We called the front desk and they figured out all of the logistics for us- from parking to the wait time, etc. The next night, we asked the front desk staff to point us in the direction of a traditional Swiss fondue restaurant. They sent us to the most adorable restaurant that had excellent fondue. What I liked most about it was that it wasn't a touristy restaurant, it was a hole in the wall place- which we loved.

The location was perfect for us. We were a little bit outside of the city, but it was a 3 min walk to the tram/bus stop and a 5 min walk. Really not bad at all.

Finally, the breakfast- I can't even describe how amazing the breakfast was. They had everything you could imagine. Fruit, eggs, bacon, breads, cheese, etc. Everything was fresh and what wowed me the most was that the hotel had very few guests, but even still they had a huge assortment of food.

The only negative point would be the parking lot. It is a tight fit in some parts.

Overall, fantastic. We loved it! Thank you to the staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Grüezi Jessica M,

Regards from "your" Hotel Continental. It has been a pleasure to having you as our guest. We are very happy about your beautiful review - thank you so much for it.
Hopefully we will meet again.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 138 in Zurich
1,041 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
938 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 138 in Zurich
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#9 of 138 in Zurich
913 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
#11 of 138 in Zurich
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $165 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing