We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
$268
$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$281
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$271
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$410
$291
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$236
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$329
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alexander(Zurich)
$172
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baur au Lac(Zurich)
$709
$661
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,195)
Filter reviews
2,195 results
Traveler rating
892
929
283
55
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
929
283
55
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple juiceold towntrain stationswiss chaletminute walkaccor hotelssuperior roommain stationcomfortable bedan upgradeexcellent hotelbuffet breakfastsingle roomthe air conditioningcentral locationnespresso machinezurich hb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 2,195 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great service from all staff, reception, dining, management. Lacking in services/facilities: swimming pool, sauna, and fitness room (there is one, very basic with two machines).
Some standard rooms have inconvenient TV location (watch your head), but I was moved to another room when complained about it. Not all rooms have windows that can open (again, I was moved, and the second room's window did open).
Bed mattress is too soft, if can be such a thing, this hotel has it - comfortable but too warm.
The value vs.money is ... well, nothing terrily wrong but Novotel Zurich City West may offer better value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the street (stretcars/trams are noisy).
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_Lorenzo_d_Arabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Don_Lorenzo_d_Arabia,

Your feedback is highly appreciated. Unfortunately we do not have a spa available, that's true. But for the basic workout we offer our excercise suite to our guests.
In a few Superior rooms the TV is fixed to a door frame in the room - this way you are able to watch TV from the bed and the living area.
Our beds are equipped with a mattress topper, which can be removed - please contact our Front Desk upon your next arrival.
Being an Accor property as well, we are happy when the Novotel City West is your alternative hotel of choice in Zurich.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We quiet enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean and large. It was a good location, about 20 minute walk to the lake and 10 minutes to Ringstrasse. Wifi was free and great. The staff were friendly.

Breakfast however was far too expensive and 65 franc for two even though it is a buffet!!! We only had it one day and ventured out to Starbucks on the other days,
much cheaper.

Additionally room cleaning isn't up to scratch. We has towels taken but not replaced and the bin emptied but then the rubbish just left on our table.

I would stay again though.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Emma-Leigh B,

Great that you would stay with us again. Looking forward to it.
Our breakfast price is on market level. In addition we offer as alternative our Z'Morge Chlii (express breakfast) for 16.00 CHF, which is served at the table.
For your coming stay I recommend to book one of our breakfast inclusive rates - contact my team or me at any time prior to your next reservation.
Sorry for the inconvenience with regards to our Housekeeping department. We will have a look into the matter.
Kind regards from Zurich
Esko Rebstock - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed here for one night on Business, the room was of a good size for one, with a gorgeously large shower and a generous amount of toiletries. The WiFi was free, and despite dropping out a few times, was fast and reliable. Staff were very friendly, and spoke good English. Good food and great, friendly service. It's only a 5-10 min walk from the lake and very close to conference centres, the train station, tram stops, and the shops. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuw182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear stuw182,

You are right! The outside of our hotel does not match the cosy interior. Often enough we get comments like "Who would have thought that, wow!".
Thank you so much for the kind review on tripadvisor.
Sincerely,
Esko Rebstock - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I really liked this hote. It was lovely, decorated in an old-European style. But it lacked nothing on the modern side. The staff was wonderfully friendly, especially the watress in the hotel restaurant during the evening. The location is good, close to old town and only a couple of blocks from a street full of restaurants. The bed was comfortable and the room was welcoming. Wi-fi was free and fast. The breakfast was included, and good, but I did feel rushed; we had to reserve a time and I still had 15 minutes left on my reservation period when I was urged to take my coffee to the "living room", so others could use my table.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear keelx2 ,

Beautiful review of your stay with us. Thank you very much for it. Our apologies for your experience during breakfast. Table reservations are only applicable when we have a group staying with us - this way we can ensure that every guest of the group is able to enjoy our breakfast buffet. Hoping for your kind understanding in this matter.
See you soon in Zurich.
Sincerely,
Esko Rebstock - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Comfortable hotel a short walk from the train station and the old town. Was upgraded to a superior room which was decent and clean, nothing exceptional. View onto an internal garden not the best.
Stayed here on Christmas day and they had mulled wine and apple juice at the lobby.
Breakfast is excellent.
Overall, a reasonable property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear sankar ,

Thank you for your kind feedback. Glogg is typical for Christmas but the tatsy Swiss Apfelmost (apple juice) can be found all over the year in our lobby.
And yes, our breakfast is excellent indeed. Great that you mentioned it.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews