We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Relaxing Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #29 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
new Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Oasis”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the absolute pleasure of staying at this hotel for one night. Our room was large and included an expresso maker. We decided to opt for the full buffet breakfast and yes it was expensive butchery tasty. Please note unfortunately your Accor card cannot be used for dining discount! A special mention must be made of the staff. They were all extremely kind, helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks once again. A wonderful hotel!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tig.kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear tig.kim,

What a wonderful review! You've made our day.
Have a fantastic Christmastime.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    848
    244
    44
    33
See reviews for
206
931
231
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in December 2013. Rooms were decent size (we upgraded to a Superior King) and we found them to be very quiet and comfortable. Bathrooms were a decent size and we had a bath and separate walk in shower. Worth the upgrade for the extra space and the Nespresso machine!

Located 5 minutes walk to the train station and the same to the Niederdorf district with it's abundance of restaurants and bars, and 10 minutes to the Bahnhofstrasse shopping area this is a great base to explore Zurich without being right in the middle of the lively nightlife. Plenty of trams and buses pass right by the hotel although Zurich is a small enough city to explore on foot.

Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice of cold and cooked foods and the choice of eggs prepared to your liking.

Not the cheapest place in town, but a great value for money option in that price range in our opinion. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBoy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Gboy912,

...and we will be definitely very happy when you are staying with us again. Thank you so much for your review. Upgrading to one of our spacious Superior rooms is worthwhile indeed.

We wish you a peaceful Christmastime.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotele Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, CO
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

After staying in a less-than-steller hotel in Geneva (Hotel Les Arcades), we were very pleased to find this gem, centrally located in Zurich. Yes, it was expensive (as is everything in Switzerland, so get over it) but, since I split it with my nephew, it was acceptable. It's located in a great spot, in walking distance to good restaurants, shops and the lake. Great atmosphere, clean and friendly. We skipped the morning brunch, since it was about $40 US (give me a break!). We walked down the street to a bistro and got a great breakfast for $10

Room Tip: Spendy, but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carynps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear carynps,

Great review of your stay. Thanks a lot for it.
Believe me, you missed out on something when not enjoying our fantastic breakfast. As alternative we offer a small served breakfast for 16.00 CHF.
We wish you a peaceful Christmastime and see you hopefully in 2014.
KInd regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

stayed for two nights; room was comfortable and quiet, staff friendly and helpful, well sorted breakfast buffet, good internet connection. Given the (quite central) location of the hotel, the hotel garage came in very handy; the distance to the airport (about 20 min) contributed very much to reduce my departure hectic in the morning

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiberius_Gracchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Salve Tiberius_Gracchus,

Nice review of your stay with us. Thank you very much.
We wish you a pleasant and peaceful christmastime and hope to welcoming you back very soon in Zürich.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I decided to return to this hotel for a second stay. The hotel remembered it and upgraded me into a better room. I think this to be remarkable since I cannot remember being remembered just after one stay (in Europe at least, where service normally is bad and rude). In Europe, it generally takes 5 stays for a hotel to remember that I was already a guest there (after more than 20 stays, the Radisson in St. Gall still does not remember me - but that hotel is dreadful anyway).
This hotel has a small single room that I liked because of its utilitarianism. This time, they upgraded me in a superior room that is double the single room and very nice, with all amenities of the 4 star standard.
On a side note, most staff do not speak swiss-german and some do not even speak german.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear philosion,

Thank you so much for staying with us again. Your comments are highly appreciated.
Fantastic that you enjoyed our service offered to you.
Since we have a very international guest mix, we are happy to have team members from all over the world. The understanding of different cultural backgrounds and availability of various languages is a key asset we are able to offer. Yet, we are an international hotel in Switzerland and therefore we have only very few team members with limited skills in German language.
We look forward to welcoming you back the third time.
I wish you a peaceful and happy christmastime.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa az
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel has it all. Location, lovely public spaces, comfortable rooms and outstanding staff. Where to start. The breakfast is a must. There is delicious food served in an elegant atmosphere, on beautiful china.r
Our room was smallish but so well designed that we and all our luggage fit comfortably.
My husband bought a large chess set at an art fair and we needed help shipping it. Both Mohammad at the front desk who helped with packing materials and James the porter. We got it sent. James went with us to the post office, carrying the box, interpreted for us and helped us with the trolley system. What ever else about Zurich I remember these people will be my highlight.
So very, very gracious staff. Thank you.
If we return to Zurich we would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspiggy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear misspiggy44,

Thank you for your outstanding review. I am more than happy to share it with my fellow team. Especially with both colleagues mentioned by you - we try to take the extra step for our guests on a daily base and it seems that we succeed in our efforts.
See you the next time in Zürich.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing