We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel with great staff”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I checked in for a 3 weeks stay (I had business outside Zurich). We received a complimentary room upgrade to a suite which was extremely spacious, had excellent facilities and comfortable it made the stay so much better. This hotel is very tastefully decorated being finished in some lovely wooden paneling (I like wooden finishing). The location is superb for tourists and commuters alike being only a few minutes walk from the main train station. Dining in the hotel was good but better can be found outside however, at a higher cost. Breakfast in the hotel is well served with a choice of hot buffet, cold meats, fruits, yogurts etc... or a cooked breakfast of your choice. I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The room we had was very quiet even though it was above the high street so I would suggest any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Graham H,

It gave us great pleasure being your "home away from home" for three weeks. We thank you for your very kind review on tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next vist.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock and his great team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    847
    244
    44
    33
See reviews for
206
930
231
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My first stay in Hotel Continental and it was a terrible experience.
I found that the room was not clean properly, found a written paper (from the previous guest) and accumulation of dust under the bed, on top of the radiator in the bathroom, on top of the cardboard, on top of the bed headboard, in all this areas it looked like it was not clean in a LONG time. The bed was poorly made, it looked like it was done quickly and without any care, underneath the bed sheet there were some duvets wrapped instead of stretched which was not confortable at all. The pen given in the room did not even work, the notebook had only 1 leaf left.
The person that received us during breakfast could be a little bit more helfpul, guided us to a dirty table and we waited seated until she cleaned the table from the previous guest, when she could have just guided us to a clean table instead ( there were a lot of tables free and clean ).
The breakfast itself had variety but not quality, the dried fruits and walnuts tasted like they were not changed frequently, the juices and cereals did not have the quality expected.
I go to Zurich many times and I have stayed in many hotels, this one unfortunatly will not be one of them anymore.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Pedro M ,

Thank you for sharing your experience also on tripadvisor. Please refer to the email I have sent directly to you. Your feedback is appreciated and will be followed up on internally.
Unfortunately you did not contact us during your stay, so were not able to offer you another room. Rest assured that your experience does not reflect our regular high level of quality and service. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Continental during a recent visit and it was excellent. The hotel is well located - walking distance from the station and also from the old town and the business district.

Our room was exceptionally comfortable and well maintained. The coffee machine and bottles of water were an appreciated detail. The staff were also friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back when next in Zürich. An excellent hotel all round.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Liam025,

What an exceptionally nice feedback! Thanks for sharing it and recommending us. We are looking forward to your next visit at Hotel Continental.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located, within walking distance of both the main train station from where all major trips depart, and lake Zurich. The walk to the lake is very pleasant along the side of the canal and through shops and restaurants.
Price is quite reasonable for the quality. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Bathroom is also very roomy. Linens and furniture are of good quality and impart a warm and homely feel.
Breakfast was of very good quality and reasonably priced by Zurich standards.
On the negative side, there was no bathtub and bath doors do not have closing mechanism. However, this is probably an European concept.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsishMuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear AsishMuk,

Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. Thank you so much for it. Obviously you had an enjoyable time in beautiful Zürich.
We have a number of rooms with bathtubs available. Just drop us a message prior to your next stay and we will assign one of those rooms for you.
Kind regards from Zürich
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business and found the hotel a most pleasant place as well as conveniently situated. The only negative was the so called Express breakfast had to be brought to your table in the restaurant and was a long time in coming. They wouldnt allow you to speed up the process by picking up your own coffee and croissant! The other issue experienced was the number of tourist groups using the hotel which can make things unpleasant. Check in staff were pleasant and helpful and the rooms and bathrooms were clean, well appointed and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tank09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Tank09,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on tripadvisor. Sorry to hear that our breakfast offer did not meet your expectations. We offer next to our rich buffet (Zmorge gross) a smaller version (Zmorge chlii). Our Zmorge chlii is served at the table.
Our guest mix is very well balanced and we are happy to be able to meet business and leisure traveller needs at the same time.
I am glad that you had overall a very pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhilwara, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great Location, highly helpful staff, clean, sumptuous breakfast, good wifi connectivity, rooms are very good & cosy, the chinese restaurant that opens from lobby serves delicious food. Vlaue for money and everything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear RJB007,

Awesome review of your stay! Thank you so much for it. I am very happy to share it with the team. Reading feedback like yours makes us truly proud and confirms that we are on the right track. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing