We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service, Breakfast, Cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #33 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, Breakfast, Cleanliness”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My first stay in Hotel Continental and it was a terrible experience.
I found that the room was not clean properly, found a written paper (from the previous guest) and accumulation of dust under the bed, on top of the radiator in the bathroom, on top of the cardboard, on top of the bed headboard, in all this areas it looked like it was not clean in a LONG time. The bed was poorly made, it looked like it was done quickly and without any care, underneath the bed sheet there were some duvets wrapped instead of stretched which was not confortable at all. The pen given in the room did not even work, the notebook had only 1 leaf left.
The person that received us during breakfast could be a little bit more helfpul, guided us to a dirty table and we waited seated until she cleaned the table from the previous guest, when she could have just guided us to a clean table instead ( there were a lot of tables free and clean ).
The breakfast itself had variety but not quality, the dried fruits and walnuts tasted like they were not changed frequently, the juices and cereals did not have the quality expected.
I go to Zurich many times and I have stayed in many hotels, this one unfortunatly will not be one of them anymore.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Pedro M ,

Thank you for sharing your experience also on tripadvisor. Please refer to the email I have sent directly to you. Your feedback is appreciated and will be followed up on internally.
Unfortunately you did not contact us during your stay, so were not able to offer you another room. Rest assured that your experience does not reflect our regular high level of quality and service. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    876
    259
    50
    35
See reviews for
219
959
235
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Continental during a recent visit and it was excellent. The hotel is well located - walking distance from the station and also from the old town and the business district.

Our room was exceptionally comfortable and well maintained. The coffee machine and bottles of water were an appreciated detail. The staff were also friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back when next in Zürich. An excellent hotel all round.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Liam025,

What an exceptionally nice feedback! Thanks for sharing it and recommending us. We are looking forward to your next visit at Hotel Continental.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located, within walking distance of both the main train station from where all major trips depart, and lake Zurich. The walk to the lake is very pleasant along the side of the canal and through shops and restaurants.
Price is quite reasonable for the quality. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Bathroom is also very roomy. Linens and furniture are of good quality and impart a warm and homely feel.
Breakfast was of very good quality and reasonably priced by Zurich standards.
On the negative side, there was no bathtub and bath doors do not have closing mechanism. However, this is probably an European concept.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsishMuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear AsishMuk,

Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. Thank you so much for it. Obviously you had an enjoyable time in beautiful Zürich.
We have a number of rooms with bathtubs available. Just drop us a message prior to your next stay and we will assign one of those rooms for you.
Kind regards from Zürich
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business and found the hotel a most pleasant place as well as conveniently situated. The only negative was the so called Express breakfast had to be brought to your table in the restaurant and was a long time in coming. They wouldnt allow you to speed up the process by picking up your own coffee and croissant! The other issue experienced was the number of tourist groups using the hotel which can make things unpleasant. Check in staff were pleasant and helpful and the rooms and bathrooms were clean, well appointed and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tank09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Tank09,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on tripadvisor. Sorry to hear that our breakfast offer did not meet your expectations. We offer next to our rich buffet (Zmorge gross) a smaller version (Zmorge chlii). Our Zmorge chlii is served at the table.
Our guest mix is very well balanced and we are happy to be able to meet business and leisure traveller needs at the same time.
I am glad that you had overall a very pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhilwara, Rajasthan, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great Location, highly helpful staff, clean, sumptuous breakfast, good wifi connectivity, rooms are very good & cosy, the chinese restaurant that opens from lobby serves delicious food. Vlaue for money and everything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear RJB007,

Awesome review of your stay! Thank you so much for it. I am very happy to share it with the team. Reading feedback like yours makes us truly proud and confirms that we are on the right track. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights and hotel is walking distance from the main station.

The room we stayed was facing the busy street. However, we did not hear any noise generating from the road because all rooms are fixed with double galzing windows . Only problem we had during our stay was the lift. There are two lifts in the hotel however, one lift was not in operation due to the mecahnical failure. That did not help us much and sometime we had to wait 10 minutes for the lift.

The hotel served excellent breakfast and full of very tasty Swiss cheese. I love the plce and will go back again. Thumbs up for the friendly staff. .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jayantha J,

Thanks for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. Thumbs up for your feedback - we appreciate it very much!
Sorry for the incovenience regarding the elevator. Rest assued that the technical issue has been solved by now. Just for general information, we have three guest elevators in the lobby and in total five.
See you hopefully the next time around.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 138 in Zurich
954 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 138 in Zurich
800 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 138 in Zurich
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swissotel Zurich
#37 of 138 in Zurich
2,215 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing