We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and in a convenient location, however..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #26 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    845
    244
    44
    33
See reviews for
205
928
230
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This was a very good hotel within walking distance of the Bahnhofstrasse where the main shopping district is located. The staff spoke excellent English. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a Club suite which was a nice touch. The room was really large and included complimentary fruit and Nespresso. The hotel is quiet too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YLH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear YLH01,

Thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are very happy that you had a memorable stay with us.
See you hopefully soon again.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A very comfortable hotel, with a lovely atmosphere, friendly, (patient) staff with excellent English. A lovely room with a kingsized bed- room was a bit small I thought but adequate for using as a base to explore the city- the city is on your doorstop- a brief walk of 5-10 minutes brings you to the main train station, or onto the neiderdorff Strasse where load of cafes and bars are to be found. The food in the mornings was great- a real hi-light of our stay. The Staff organised tickets for a city tour on our behalf as well. a real pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimi Jam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jimi Jam M,

The pleasure was on our side. Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are very happy that your stay was so memorable.
For your next stay I suggest one of our Superior rooms. Please do not hesitate to contact me for your room reservation.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here after spending 3 disappointing days at Mgallery hotel in Milan. This was a much greater pleasure - a hotel that does exactly what it is supposed to. We had a comfy bed, large room, great free wifi and the breakfasts are just divine! All those local delicacies - fantastic! Not to mention that fresh apple juice in reception. Convenient location. Some road noise. Lovely staff.
Would be my first choice if I visit again. Thank you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear jsy444,

Great review - thank you very much. Our fantastic "Süssmost" (apple juice) in the lobby comes from a local farm - no preservatives, no added sugar just purely Swiss.
And we sure hope that you will stay with us again. Zurich is always worth a trip.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
507 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is not by far my first stay at the Continental Zurich: it is my hotel of choice for now more than 5 years...
Arrived late and got a small room (for some reason, they "forgot" to upgrade me while I am a Platinum member, but they apologised and corrected to my satisfaction). The room had everything one could need, including fast internet, excellent bed, good bathroom amenities and ... chocolates (we are in Switzerland after all). The next morning, after an excellent night, I skipped breakfast (although it is in general very good - but in this case it was sleep or food, I choose sleep).
Bottom line: good as usual, still fabulously located. I'll go back next time I'll spend a night in Zurich!

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest rooms: they are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Swissdiver,

We appreciate your kind review on tripadvisor a lot. Thank you very much. Being one of our highly valued Le Club Platinum members gives you some advantages indeed and I am happy that my Front Office team was able to serve you well.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to your hotel of choice.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic location, its at a walking distance from most of Zurich attractions, and if your too lazy to walk just take the tram that literally takes you everywhere. The hotel is fairly priced and the decor is sort of a swiss cottage, not so bad. The only thing that i wish they'd changed the mattresses, you'll really get a very sore back the next morning. Other than that everything is fantastic.

a great tip, don't miss out on the fresh apple juice just in front of the elevator !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear MHH2,

Thank your for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Should your bed be too soft for your individual preference, we can most certainly remove the mattress cover.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a charming place! We stayed here for a leisure break and it is warm and welcoming. I can't understand the poor reviews (I must admit, I booked regardless but felt a little anxious before we booked in - wondering if all the negative reviews were accurate) - the decor is indeed "Swiss Chalet" - but not twee - a cosy oasis away from the noise of the traffic, the staff are professional and friendly and the location is great for a wander along the river and on to the different areas of the city.

Although booked into a standard room, we were informed that we had been upgraded to a superior room - a lovely touch upon arrival. The booking-in procedure was swift and efficient as was all of the interaction with the hotel staff.

Overall, with the location, the wonderfully comfortable bedding, helpful and friendly staff, pleasing decor and tasty breakfast, this is a hotel I would highly recommend (oh, and try the apple juice in the foyer - just superb!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Carolyn H,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. You described our hotel like we would like to be perceived. Thank you very much for the kind and friendly review.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing