We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great swiss hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Only On: 10% discount
Ranked #37 of 132 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great swiss hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great location no more than 5 mins walk from the main train station and a tram stop just 50 metres from the hotel. Lobby had a bit of swiss charm and even had some complimentary swiss apple juice. Staff were helpful with information - giving recommendations on where to have some traditional swiss food. Rooms were clean and comfortable but fairly compact. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lexi_m2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Grüezi lexi_m2011 ,

And we hope you will stay with us again in the very near future. Thank you for your great feedback on tripadvisor. I recommend for your next reservation to book one of our spacious Superior rooms - contact us at any time for more information.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
NJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved this hotel: large, charming room in a very convenient location. Not the loveliest street, but just a few minutes walk from olde town and has some interesting restaurants. The staff was warm and friendly. We'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Walking distance from both the train and olde town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laikador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear laikador,

We truly enjoyed reading your feedback on tripadvisor! Thank you so much for this delightful review.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having enjoyed my stay here last time I was in Zurich, I made sure to rebook and once again was not let down. Customer service is efficient and attentive everywhere in the hotel. The hotel has its history and quirky elements of the region are subtly present throughout the décor, giving it a distinct, welcoming feeling. The room itself was large, clean and spacious and I even got a turndown service with a chocolate on my pillow.
Clean, distinct, welcoming and comfortable, and only a short walk from the station and other sights...what's not to like!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyOday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear SallyOday,

What's not to like? Nothing, we surely liked your feedback.
Thanks a lot for your nice review, recent stay and most certainly future stays.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location - easy walk from the train station. We also walked to major sites. Exterior of the hotel is non-impressive. Hotel has nice traditional decor but lobby is a tad worn. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet with a big comfortable bed. There is a large spacious lounge (seating area) on the first floor - good place to get an after dinner drink and catch up on e-mail etc. Check-in was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slowcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear slowcyclist,

Great that your stay was so enjoyable. Our "Living room" area on the first floor is truly nice and welcoming.

With kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights prior to joining a bus tour. We were very disappointed that our room was not ready despite a "guaranteed" 2 p.m. check in (we arrived at 3). It was explained that a large number of guests asked for a late checkout, I explained I didn't care and this was not our problem. There were several other guests who were also waiting for rooms, one gentleman offered to clean the room himself! :-)
By the time we arrived at the hotel we had been awake for 30 hours, all we wanted was to take a shower and go to sleep.
We tried being patient, we were initially told it would be about 20 minutes but after an hour I went to the desk and complained rather "loudly". We have traveled all over the world and not had this issue before, usually rooms are even ready early but never this. It seems to me the answer is simple, if you don't have enough staff to get the rooms ready do not allow late checkouts.
The manager finally came out and spoke to us, we were given a very nice room and a complimentary dinner for two at the hotels restaurant which was appreciated.
I rated the service as a 3, if not for the managers intervention it would have been a 1.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda0863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Linda0863,
Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. It was indeed very unfortunate that your room was not ready - rest assured that the circumstances last week we very unusual and you are right, this can not be your worry as our guest.
Therefore I am very glad that you had, after a bumpy start, a nice remainder of your stay.
See you next time in Zurich - and your room will be ready on time. Promised.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#27 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#40 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#62 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
25hours Hotel Zurich West
#11 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#35 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#21 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing