We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel near the station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel near the station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight in Zurich in the Continental as part of our journey by train from London to Vienna. It is a very convenient walk from the station to the hotel and back next morning. The staff are very helpful.

We spent the afternoon walking around old town Zurich and down to the lake and enjoyed our brief stay in Zurich in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank alty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    768
    208
    36
    29
See reviews for
180
825
212
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's a quick stroll from the main station (Zurich HB). Our first time in Zurich and my wife and 5 yrs old daughter loved the walk from station to hotel. Plenty of eateries nearby. Rooms were nice, clean, comfortable bed, good closet space, stocked up essentials and mini bar and decent sized. Helpful English speaking Reception staff, receptive to feedback and willing to go out of their way in making your stay comfortable. There was a slight delay in check-in and we're offered free drinks in their bar which was nice, not that we had time for it :). Morning breakfast was good with plenty of options, and they were quick in accommodating my daughters need. We loved the morning walk to the Zurcih HB right after breakfast, anything closer and you wouldn't enjoy; anything farther and you'ld use tram in which case a missed opportunity to enjoy a morning walk in awesome Zurich weather. In all probability, would book there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rvtalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the M Gallery for 4 nights. We had a King Superior room. The room was large wit ha comfortable bed and nice sitting area. There were a few good TV channels in English (BBC's ITV's CNBC etc...) The bathroom could be a little bigger in compared to the size of the room. Really only one person can use bathroom at a time. This would not really be a problem if they had a desk area with a mirror so one person could use as a vanity while the other is showering. They gave it a feel of a Swiss chalet on the inside, and in the rooms, but the hotel is very modern looking from the street. This is not a big deal at all, just a little quirky. There is not much on the street for dining and entertainment, but the tram is right there to take you here you need to go.
The breakfast was done well, and the food was good and fresh. The service was attentive and the staff very friendly.

The location is ideal. It is not in the heart of the old district, but there is a tram right in front of the hotel that can get you there in minutes. It is also walking distance to the train station - although a hill from train station, so if you are just arriving with your luggage, take the tram.

Overall, it was a nice stay and really no major complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickerlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel Continental is close to Zurich HB, the central railway station. Within five minutes from the hotel there are tram and bus stops as well as water taxi stops. This made it easy to see most of Zurich. The reception staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Our room on the 5th floor (in what seemed as an annexe) was roughly 15 ft x 15 ft. The bed was very comfortable and they left a couple of bottles of water (free) when they cleaned the room. The coffee packages they provided made excellent coffee. The bathroom was great.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast which was included in our rate. Lucky for us since the breakfast costs 32 CHF (roughly $32)! It is one of the best spreads I have seen with various kinds of whole and cut fruit, eggs (omelets made to order), juices, meats etc., etc. The service in the breakfast area was exceptional.

Then why 4 stars and not 5? The day we were to leave Zurich, my wife fell in the room and it turned out to be a fracture in the hip area. We decided to return to the States the next day and had to extend our stay at the hotel. Our rate went up by 33%! The next morning after breakfast, the manager in the breakfast room asked me how I wanted to pay for the breakfast! Any amount of our explaining that the receptionist who booked the room had told us breakfast was included made any difference . Not wanting to make scene I said we will talk to the reception manager. The receptionist was more polite but still insisted on the charges. Finally his supervisor stepped in and said there will be no charge after all. We thought this was handled very poorly for an otherwise first class hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pksubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the main station, on tram route if you wish, and still managed to be quiet, comfortable, and welcoming. Food was good, room was clean and beds comfortable. Only thing turn shower select anti-clock! Clockwise overhead spray will wake you with a cold start! Reception staff very helpful with assistance in finding way around Zurich. Hotel runs a good training programme so don't be worried if Trainee serves you they did a great job.

Room Tip: If it bothers you go higher and to rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived after 21:00 and our check-in was quick and efficient and the reception staff friendly. Our room 527, was a rectangular corner room. It was lovely to have a fruit and cake plate and complimentary water in the room after a 22 hour flight.

The room has king/twin beds, two large night tables, a writing desk and chair, chair, mini bar and a lovely wooden clothes cupboard with plenty of hangers, shelving space and the safe. The bathroom (bath) is a good size and has Chopard amenities. It was nice that the small bedtime treat was different each evening.

Breakfast is served on the first floor and has a good selection of excellent quality items. Our breakfast was mainly buffet style, but coffee is served to order and eggs in addition to those on the buffet could be ordered. It is well worth ensuring that you get breakfast included in your room rate. Breakfast hours are long, 06:30-10:30 weekdays and 06:30-14:30 weekends.

The hotel's location is very convenient to the central train as the walk is slightly downhill for two blocks, across the bridge and you are at the station, Bahnhofstrasse, etc.

There is a lovely ambience to the hotel, including the quaint touches such as farm pressed apple juice during the day, fresh apples all day, delicious apple tarts at breakfast next to the legend of William Tell. It did feel like we were able to experience something local rather than a predictable hotel brand, which may be fabulous but the same no matter which city you are in.

The staff were friendly and professional, particularly those at reception who were most helpful with all our issues and requests.

Wifi was patchy for the first two days, necessitating a number of trips to reception for assistance and new login/password. On the second evening, no amount of effort enabled the iPad to be connected. The receptionist provided complimentary use of the business centre computers while following up the problem with Swisscom. It turned out that the network was down in the whole city and once service was restored we had no more issues with wifi.

On our first morning, it was bucketing with rain and it was great that the hotel had a good supply of umbrellas for guest use.

There were a few small points, which were apparent only as the rest of the service was so seamless and good. Complimentary water was provided on the first night, not on the second or third and then twice on the fourth night. Bathroom amenities were only replenished on the fourth night.

We requested an early morning taxi to the airport and were pleased that it was a Mercedes and the price seemed the same as a taxi.

Overall we highly recommend this well located hotel with pleasant rooms, solid furnishings, delightful additional offerings and engaging staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#23 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#16 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#13 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Plaza Hotel
#38 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#11 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#8 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing