We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice team, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO -40% OFF
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice team, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for the second time here and liked it. The team is good and friendly, we got an upgrade since it was our second time, and they let us do a late check out at 2pm as we had a late flight in the evening. The access to the old town and train station is good (only 10 min by foot). We'll come back I am sure even if it is not a trendy place, but we slept well and the rooms were spacious enough both times

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vimobru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Many thanks for your honest feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed yet another memorable stay with us and I will certainly forward your compliments to my team. We all look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    768
    208
    36
    29
See reviews for
179
824
211
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Found good reviews on Tripadvisor and since I'm an Accor A-Club member, I booked us into this lovely hotel for two nights. Direct booking resulted in us getting a free upgrade and breakfast included, a very nice touch. It's a stone's throw from the Hauptbahnhof and is fully air-conditioned. This came in handy as we were visiting during their June heat wave - a brutal one. Everything you might want to see in Zurich is a short walk away. Will definitely stay there again when in town.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter, all are good. Careful about the elevators, they are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirlpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
That's great news, thank you so much for posting your feedback on tripadvisor. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here in June and it was a very pleasant stay. Brisk 7 minute walk to the train station and the start of Bahnhofstrasse where all the shopping action takes place (if you can afford Swiss prices!). The hotel was mid/lower price for a Zurich hotel, but good value in terms of what you get. Clean, comfortable and very quiet. The staff were helpful and caring. The bathroom and room were small, as with most european hotels. No bells and whistles with this hotel but good location, staff and lovely apple juice on tap in reception.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and there was no view...did not see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UndaraUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in Zurich and with us. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Zurich Continental Hotel (an M Gallery Collection hotel) is very well located in easy reach of the main train station and the Old City. Room was of high standard and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was slightly expensive for what was on offer, but was served until 2pm! We worth another visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DGW_London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in late May 2013 and were very pleased. Our rooms were not ready as we arrived early afternoon and we were shown to a comfortable lounge area and served comlimentary tea and pasteries while the room was prepared. Caring, thoughtful, pleasant personal service was shown throughout our stay. Very comfortable beds with quality bedding, clean nicely furnished room although smaller than the North American standard. Quiet treed outside courtyard. Wonderful breakfast buffet!
The hotel is a 5 minute walk to shopping, the river walk, and central train station with a very good seafood buffet-bistro/takeout
Hard to beat this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZephyrTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor. I'll certainly make sure that my team gets your compliments. We look forward to your next stay, best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I normally stay at in Zurich Central Plaza which is close to station and main street.
I thought that being an Accor member I should stay here and review showed close to station.
it is a good 10 minutes fast walk , more expensive and no view -- you only see the 4 walls of the room. I expected at least street facing which they said is not possible.
I do not think I will stay at this hotel again.
to add fuel to fire, I just learnt from my bank that they charged my credit card a day before arrival, took an extra reserve on arrival and again charged me full on departure -- it means that I not only overpaid but have been charged twice -- I will have to call the bank to check why.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank haju_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am very sorry for your inconveniences regarding the check-in and the apparent double charge, for which I extend my sincere apologies. I will immediately look into this, as this is certainly not our standard of service. If you book a pre-paid rate, of course then your credit card will be charged prior to arrival. Also if you have guaranteed your room for a late arrival, the amount will be reserved - not booked - in advance. Depending on your time of arrival and the booking situation, not all view reqeusts can be granted, therefore we highly recommend to put all your preferences with your reservation (you can even load them in your Member Account and they will be visible for all Accorhotels). Once again, I am very sorry for your troubles and kindly ask you to accept my sincere apology. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

i have been staying in this hotel for last several years front office staff house keeping staff has always been efficient and cordial. the restaurant staff has been indifferent. however in this stay they were hostile and unfriendly I pointed out specific incidences to food and beverage manager and at time of check out to front office manager.i hope they will take corrective action.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ravi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest, first of all thank you for staying at Continental Zurich over again. While I am delighted you enjoy your hotel stay, I am deeply saddened by your several un-Continental like experiences with our restaurant team. Please accept my most sincere apologies. Thank you for informing the F&B and FO managers about it, I will personally look into these issues with them and guarantee you that an appropriate action plan will be set in motion. I hope you'll give us another chance to prove our service quality to you. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#23 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#16 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#13 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Plaza Hotel
#38 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#11 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#8 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing