We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is an easy walk from the main train station (if you do not have too much luggage) and also a convenient walk to the old town area of Zurich.
Even though it is on a main street I found the rooms very quiet, even though mine looked ove said street.
Staff was efficient, friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Europhile915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,080)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was many years since I had stayed at this hotel, when it was carrying Accor's Sofitel brand. It has retained and reinforced its upmarket and polished wood image.

I stayed 2 nights on 13 and 14 March and having chosen a superior room was allocated 626 on the top floor. The room was huge. The double bed turned out to be two mattresses pushed together. The toilet was separate from the bathroom, which had a nice walk in shower. The room was very comfortable.

I did not have breakfast but did have a late night dinner on the day of arrival. The pasta was cooked ok but was nothing special for the money. However the chef was finishing for the day and I was probably his last customer.

I wanted to retain my room until 16.00 but the hotel was full on the day of departure, so was given a room on a lower floor for the extended period.

Reception was friendly but slow on both check in and check out. The former coincided with the arrival of a group of Chinese tourists and I perceived some language barriers. Though Switzerland is nominally a tri-lingual country, I found staff preferred to speak English rather than French in this german-speaking area of the country.

I would stay again. Walking distance to Hauptbahnhof (main railway station)

Room Tip: Top floor has the de-luxe and more expensive rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor. I am most delighted you enjoyed another memorable stay with us. Your compliments, particularily coming from a Sofitel guest, are the best reward for all of my team that work day by day to offer the best service. Of course I have also noted your comments regarding the reception and I do appreciate your honesty. Indeed, the Swiss German's prefer to speak English, although they speak it. Of course this should not be in the hotel and I will look into it with my Front Office Manager. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for a week on a business trip in March of 2013. The best thing about this hotel is the location- about a 10 minutes' walk from the train station, or on tram stop away. The rooms themselves were very small, even for one- I've had trouble fitting all of my clothes into the closet, and all I've had was a single suitcase. My room was basically a king-sized bed a tiny desk, and about 5 feet of clearance on each side of them. I simply don't see how two people could be expected to live in a room so small.

Having said that, the staff were extremely attentive and courteous. Stay here if all you want to do is sleep. If you expect to spend a significant amount of time in the room, another hotel might prove a better value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fgalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sorry for your inconveniences regarding the room size. For future reference, we do offer different room categories according to the traveller's need. If you prefer to have a lot of space, we have wonderfully spacicous superior rooms to satisfy this need. Nevertheless, I apologize for your troubles and hope you'll give us another chance to prove our service quality. Best regards, Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was very convenient for the main train station- just a short tram ride away. Friendly reception staff and very clean room with excellent facilities. Very relaxing. The breakfast buffet was very good, including fresh oranges and a juicer and a lot of choice. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Many thanks for posting your positive experience on tripadvisor. It is a feedback like yours that make us go the extra mile with joy every day. Thank you for having taken the time to do so and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

the location is great, tram passes hotel, quiet location near the z. main station, rooms very comfortable and quiet. staff very helpful and courteous. porters most obliging with carrying cases etc. Excellent place to stay in Zurich, not quite in central location but away from busy noise of city yet easy walking distance to tram and all museums. Highly reommend for stay at beautiful city before heading to mountains or getting connecting flights to other parts of Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tabby650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am moste delighted you enjoyed a memorable stay with us and I will gladly forward your compliments to my team. Thank you and best regards, Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had to spend a night there for work and the overall impression is rather disappointing. True, the location is handy (10 minutes walk from the main station). But you rather get the feeling to disturb the staff there: checking in and out take quite some time and they are not really ready to help if you have any questions. Rooms are clean and have a nespresso machine which is nice. Try to get a room with view in the yard so it is quiet. Mattresses are too soft!

Room Tip: Get a room overseeing the yard
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveldine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

First off all thank you for staying with us.While any feedback is appricites in order to help us improve our service standards. I hope you will give us another chance to prove our service quality to you. Best regards, Nadine Bättig for Monica Vögeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is perfect for business/holiday stay in Zurich.
Breakfast deserves a look for quality and surprising restroom designed like a typical kitchen room.
Price seems also quite good compared to other standards in Zurich.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mickaeldupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for having taken the time to review us and your special compliments for our kitchen breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards Nadine Bättig for Monica Vögeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
977 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#21 of 138 in Zurich
826 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
1,004 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $183 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing