We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, old-fashioned, lovely breakfast, very European”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very friendly, old-fashioned, lovely breakfast, very European”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was in Zurich on business and the hotel I usually stay at (the Marriott around the corner) was not available. This is not a great business hotel - no adapters, limited TV, not much closet space, no gym, difficult internet, etc. However, I tried to think of it like I was on a European adventure because it did make me feel like I was in Europe and I wished I was there for pleasure! The breakfast came to the room right on time in the morning with good coffee and an egg white omellette (not easy to find outside of the US!). The elevator was old and this could be charming (I took the stairs because it always took to long). You could tell that they were a highly rated hotel because they really tried to help, were at the ready with directions and maps and made my stay as enjoyable as possible. However, I continue to stay at the Marriott for better business facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to post your review on tripadvisor.I am so sorry to read that you will not stay with us for future stays.
Of course we do have adapters at the reception and our WIFI is working properly. We also have spacious rooms available but unfortunately no gym.
I hope you will reconsider your decision and we can welcome you in the near future.
Best regards, Carsten Rohde for Monica Voegel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    858
    250
    45
    34
See reviews for
213
942
233
468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and couldnt fault the hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. We arrived very early and expected to have to leave our luggage and return later in the day. Not so . They had 2 of the 4 rooms ready for us to check in which was a godsend, and had upgraded the singles to doubles.
We had breakfast included in the rate which was very good. Lots of cereals, breads, cold cuts and hot food. Enough to set you up for a day sightseeeing.
It is a 5 to 10 minute walk from the station, depending on how fast you walk. There is a tram stop nearby should you wish to use them. The transport system in Zurich is very good. We bought Zurich cards at the airport, which gave us unlimited travel on the train, tram and a short boat trip on Lake Zurich. The reception staff also recommend places to visit and the best transport to get there.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed memorable moments with us and I'll gladly forward your feedback to my team. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards, Carsten Rohde for Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just for a quick stay in Zurich, it is ideally located, 5 minutes from Central Station. Staff were friendly and efficient. My room was a bit small but not to complain. Tea and coffee set, good hair dryer, good bathroom kit. Free wifi (maybe for Accor member?) A touch of 'Suisse' pretty interior. Breakfast buffet can be improved though. All in all, it was good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingWakame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I will certainly forward your compliments to my team and I look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Carsten Rohde for Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I like spending Christmas-time travelling and this time I had chosen Zürich. My criteria for selecting a good hotel are: location, good service and reasonable price (with good quality). MGallery has all those qualities. As someone else already said their beds are just excellent! My room ws spacious (single room) and the air-conditioning worked pretty well (both cooling and warming).

It was a bit weird that someone knocked on my door every evening just to check if I was there and everything was ok. Great thing was, they brought a small chocolate few times :) Breakfast was good and the late breakfast during weekends is an excellent idea!!

One evening my keycard didn´t work, but they solved it within a minute and when I came back downstairs to use a computer to print my flight-tickets, they didn´t charge me for that. All these little things made the visit very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for having taken the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I'm most delighted you enjoyed such memorable moments with us I will certainly forward your compliments to my team and I look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Carsten Rohde for Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nice place,good location though a bit on the expensive side.They definitely need to hugely improve the room dining..I ate the worst pasta of my life there otherwise the room was a pleasant surprise as they had upgraded me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stealth20040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to post your review on tripadvisor.I am so sorry to read about your bad experience during your stay with us and I would like to express my most sincere apologies for your inconveniences. I will have a discussion with my Bar&Diner team in order to improve our food quality and preparation. We look forward to your next stay with us. Best regards, Carsten Rohde for Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

High quality hotel in the middle of Zurich (walking distance to center). Check-in and check-out took a while but the bed was a dream. The room size is acceptable but the bathroom was quite small for a 4-5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Rouven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. My team and I looking forward to your next stay with us. Best regards, Carsten Rohde for Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

On 28/11 I booked 2 nights in your hotel for December via Easybook but subsequently had to cancel due to other work commitments. I tried to change the name so that my colleague could take the booking, but was told that you would not change the name of the reservation (even though payment was via a company credit card) and I could not cancel, but could postpone the booking to another date, which I made for mid-January.
I am not visiting Zurich in mid-January, but my managing director is, so again I asked that a colleague use the room already paid for. I have now been informed that you are refusing to change the name to allow him to use the room AND you are refusing to refund to payment OR change the booking to another date when I can use it. As a result you have taken CHF518 but will not allow me at a later date or anyone else from my company to use this booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I am so sorry to read about your bad impression of our hotel. I understand that you are upset and I apologize for your inconveniences. Once I got your email in early January about your concern, I immediately tried to call you. Unfortunately, without success, but I talked to your secretary and informed her that we will certainly accept and make a name change. She gave me the new guest name and will inform me about the new travel dates. I am very sorry to hear now that this has not been passed on to you. Allow me to explain why this misunderstanding could have happened:
As you booked through a third party platform a non-changeable, non-refundable, prepaid rate, it is the same procedure as with any other travel agency: all reservation changes need to be handled through them (we cannot amend a contract that is not done with us). One of many reasons we highly recommend to book directly with hotels, particularly since we have a best price guarantee.
It goes without saying though that the attitude from our employee is unacceptable and this will not go without action.
Once again, I am very sorry and I hope you do accept my sincere apology.
I am looking forward to welcome your guest in the near future. With best regards Carsten Rohde for Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 139 in Zurich
925 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
764 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
846 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing