We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhappy at Zurich” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unhappy at Zurich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am a regular visitor to this hotel. I was disappointed with my stay this time. The room wasn't as clean as previous stays. Staff, in general, seemed to be stressed and hurried you, especially at breakfast, where they were almost rude.

The location of the hotel is one of its greatest assets and this is why I might give them one more chance

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Mohammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I am so sorry to heard that, please accept my sincere apology for your inconveniences. I will look into the matter with my Housekeeper and of course my Restaurant Manager. Having stayed with us before, you did witness our capability of a good service and I hope you'll give us another chance to prove our service quality to you. Please do let us know about your suggestions during your next stay. Thank you and best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    832
    239
    43
    31
See reviews for
204
910
223
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Location is great near to zurich station HB, gotta tram stop 100 m to hotel. Central, Polybahn are 5 min walk. Breakfast was grand one...Personal assistance n all. will surely stay again n Zurich was simply the best, really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhavalukani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed such memorable moments with us and I'll gladly forward your feedback to my team. Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor and we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Perfect, 6* stars i recommend it.
Perfect, 6* stars i recommend it.
Perfect, 6* stars i recommend it.
Perfect, 6* stars i recommend it.
Perfect, 6* stars i recommend it.
Perfect, 6* stars i recommend it.
Perfect, 6* stars i recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omeunomedeexibicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Now, that's a review worth posting on tripadvisor ;-)
Thank you,
thank you,
thank you for your compliments.
Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was disappointed with the truly TINY size of the rooms. The staff were great, professional and friendly. The location is not great, with a good 1 mile walk to the edge of 'anything' and it is up a hill so returning from a walkabout leaves you exhausted with the last 1/2 mile walk upward. I don't think I would stay here again, only because the rooms were so tiny for the price, and the location was not as good as many other hotels we'd pass, however, if you want a clean, safe, beautiful hotel with immaculate but TINY rooms, with extremely helpful staff, give it a shot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGEinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for having chosen to stay with us in Zurich. I am delighted you enjoyed our wonderful services, but of course I am very sorry for your inconveniences regarding the walk abouts and room size. While we can't change anything regarding the location, there is a tram and bus stop just 100 meters from the hotel entrance that takes you anywhere in the city. I'd also like to let you know that we do offer spacious Superior rooms for your next stay with us. So I do hope you give us another chance upon your next trip to Zurich. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel off the Internet, and it exceeded my expectations. I was in Zurich for business, and found it to be clean, comfortable, safe for a solo female traveler, close to the tram/HB. Sassaki (apologies if I ruined the spelling!) was lovely at the front desk, let me check in at 10 am, a relief after a 10 hour total of flights. Nice bathroom. Internet worked well for me. That apple cider in the lobby is addictive! Beware! The Chinese restaurant in the lobby was good too. A bit overpriced from what you'd expect in the States (on par with a PF Chang's)...but good.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank oreomau27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Gruezi & thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on tripadvisor. I will gladly forward your compliments to the regarding front office employee, who will certainly appreciate your feedback. No need to worry about the addictive apple juice from our local farmer Grimm, as nature's best surley can't hurt. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing