We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel In Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Hotel In Zurich”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife I returned in July for our second stay at Hotel Continental. This is a really good hotel, run with Swiss efficiency. The word that really comes to mind is 'excellent'; excellent location; excellent cleanliness; excellent room; excellent staff; excellent breakfast.

The hotel is located an easy walk from the rail station and the tram stops half-a-block down the street. Rooms are well appointed and very clean. The bathroom was very nice. It was a pleasure to enjoy breakfast in the morning. The breakfast room is bright and cheerful and the buffet offers a wide variety of tasty hot and cold choices.

The staff is always helpful and I must comment that they went out of their way to book a special rate for us, thanks!

I highly recommend the Hotel Continental. On a value for money basis I don't think it can be beat in Zurich.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grizfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review on tripadvisor. I'll certainly forward your compliments to my wonderful team. It is feedback like yours that make us go the extra mile with pleasure every day. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    839
    243
    43
    33
See reviews for
205
919
226
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The best feature of Hotel Continental is definately its location. It is only about ten minutes walk from Zurich's Hautbahnhof Station and with trains running every 10 minutes from Kloten Airort with a journey time of about 15 minutes (CHF 6.50 each way) it makes airport to hotel possible in about half an hour. Having the station so close by is also great if you are planning to visit Lucerne or other lakeside towns.There are two great restaurants within about 2 minutes walk Didi's Frieden and Drei Stuben which I have reviewed seperately. There are are number of attractions close by including Schweizerisches Landesmuseum which is definately worth a visit. Also within easy walk is Niederdorf with its cafes and restaurants and the old town of Altstadt with its interesting buildings. In regard to the hotel itself the building is not particularly attaractive although the reception is pleasant and the staff are very friendly and efficient. I thought the complimentary Swiss apple juice available to help yourself to in reception was a very nice touch.There is a nice little outside area on the first floor where you can sit and have a drink. I found Swiss hotels to be generally very expensive although I think Hotel Contental represented very good value for money and we certainly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonEgghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Gruezi & thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. It's lovely to read that you enjoyed your time in Switzerland and I shall gladly forward your compliments to my team. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times and I think its good value for money, for Switzerland. The hotel is situated in the centre which is convenient for business and has a Swiss charm about it.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mondomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor! I am delighted you enjoyed memorable moments with us and I look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel Continental is older, but well kept. A very nice full breakfast is included. The rooms are clean and equiped ok. The only thing that could be improved is the air conditioning is old
and starins to keep the room cool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olddog1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Gruezi & thank you for your compliments. In fact, Hotel Continental Zurich is proud to be one of the tradtional hotel buildings in the city center. Unfortunately, tradition is sometimes tricky when it comes to modern technology, but the air-conditioning itself is restricted in the city of Zurich. Meaning, that we are not allowed to use "American" air-cons in our hotel rooms due to enviromental laws. For your inconveniences I apologize and hope to welcome you back anyhow. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We only stayed for one night on our 14 day stay in Switzerland. The hotel was clean. cool (air conditioned) and comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful. We went to the bar to have a few drinks and found a young bartender-ess who was pleasant, talkative but a bit stingy with the pour.

We would recommend Hotel Continental Zurich as an above average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlcsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Many thanks for your review on tripadvisor! I am delighted you enjoyed memorable moments in Switzerland and with us. For your comment regarding the bar service, I would like to apologize. This is not our standard of service and I will have the Restaurant Manager talk to the regarding waitress. Thank you so much for letting us know. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have taken to booking business trips through Expedia recently, as the air and hotel packages often provides savings of 50-60% . This is how I found myself at the checkin desk of the Hotel Continental ,Zurich on a very hot evening at 10 pm . I jokingly asked if the hotel had air conditioning given the heat outside . I was given a room on the 7th floor which when I opened the door and walked through, found myself in a room which was really small with old furnishings and the feel of why am I here, beginning to pound through me. Suffice to say the air conditioning did not work.The desk informed me that it sometimes takes a while to cool down ,so I stood on a table to check the outlet and found dust and what looked like mold clogging the vent.
I asked for a new room and was brought up a key for another room on the same floor. I now found myself in a room which was approx 12 ft by 6ft ,which a single bed that was too short for me .The last time I had seen a room like this was traveling as a student and living in a hostel.The mattress sagged and if it wasnt' midnight I would have left.
I figure that if you come with a packaged deal you are treated as a second class citizen.
Never again!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank colin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I am very sorry you feel this way! I totally agree that the situation wasn't well handled by my night team and I apologize very much for your inconveniences. Unfortunately I have not been made aware of your discomfort. For future reference, please do ask for the manager the next day or upon check-out, so things can be handled appropriately. I would have reimbursed you, because I would not charge for a service not provided (and I understand sleeping is our service). However, I have to emphazise that we do not make any differences with our guests, no matter what or where they book. Where people work, things can sometimes go wrong. However it is within human nature to fix things, and once given the opportunity, we're more than happy to fix it - with pleasure. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Reading 'Wayoutback's review' I stopped to re think mine, but although the situation is a short walk from the station it is fine via the main road used by the tram. The desk staff were all, and I noted about 4 of them, friendly. We were upgraded to a super king size, corner room which was very pleasant. (Tea,coffee & water provided free of charge). The hotel owns a restaurant just next door too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan43_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed memorable moments with us and I will certainly forward your compliments to my team.
I am sure they'll appreciate it even more after such a negative one. Thank you & best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#25 of 138 in Zurich
869 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
722 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
815 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
346 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing