We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near train”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Excellent hotel if travelling by train. 7 min. walk with luggage is easy. Helpful staff. Only a 10 min. walk to the old city, restaurants, best shopping. Loved the fresh apple juice. Breakfast options are not included but a very good buy for Zurich prices.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLakeZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Grüezi & thank you for your compliments! Happy to see that you savoured our apple juice and liked our various breakfast offers. Hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Monica Voegeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,080)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We started our weeklong Swiss Pass trip in Zurich and were trully amazed by our hotel selection. The staff at the Hotel Continental was remarkably friendly and helpful, which made our stay delightful. The bed was the best bed during my entire stay in Switzerland!!! I had the best sleep and wanted to take the bed home with me.

It was conveniently located close to the main train station and the old city.

The higlight of my stay was the fresh apple juice right next to the elevator. I would have a glass everytime i passed it.

Room Tip: Don't forget to have the apple juice!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRR_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor. I am most delighted you had such a wonderful sleep in our MGallery beds (I agree, they're super comfy) and that you enjoyed our farmer Grimm's apple juice. Of course I will forward your compliments to my team. Thank you and best regards, Monica Voegeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

After spending a week in the suburbs of Zurich I decided to head downtown, and ended up picking the Hotel Continental. It was conveniently located close to the train station, although there doesn't seem to be much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

At the same time, it's a quick 10-minute walk to the old city - or around 5 minutes to the downtown train station.

Upon arrival I was warmly greeted, and despite arriving prior to the posted check-in time I was immediately given a room. As a single traveler the room was very small - about half the width of a standard room - with the bed facing the window and not much room beside it. It was more than sufficient for my purposes though.

Not having become accustomed to European hotels, I couldn't turn on the power at first, and after 30 minutes finally called down to the front desk who explained that I had to put my room card in a slot for it to work.

Remote on the TV was non-functional at first, but they quickly replaced it for me. Check-out was a breeze as well.

Highly recommend this for anyone needing a quick stop-over spot in Zurich!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and really sorry about your troubles with the electricity and remote control. Thank you for the tip though, we'll make sure to inform our guests from far away about the central electricity plug.
Best wishes, Monica Voegeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We booked after reading reviews here, thanks to all reviewers! We did not regret and were also lucky to receive a free upgrade to suite, thank you Continental!

Our daughter loved the fresh apple juice right next to the elevator, she never missed a glass on the way up to our room (and down!), nice touch. Although suite was facing the main street with trams, it was quiet. Spotlessly clean, 5 minutes walk to main train station with tram stop 200m from the entrance. Shopping can be done in the COOP on the side of train station. I always buy lot of Evian and Pellegrino, so cheap in Switzerland...

I missed a gym but did my research and went for a jog along the river early in the morning, just cross the road take the stairs down and turn right along the river, you can run for miles.

And yes I believe the friendly, professional staff make this hotel what it is and stand above the rest! Well done guys!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Sneaky_Nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank YOU for having chosen Hotel Continental Zurich and also for posting this lovely feedback on tripadvisor. It makes all our daily efforts worth while and I will certainly have my fabulous team read your compliments. Best regards, Monica Voegeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The staff at the Hotel Continental is remarkably friendly and helpful, which truly made the difference. For Zurich, the hotel offered a decent value and given its affiliation with Accor it was a nice perk to earn loyalty rewards without feeling that you were staying at a traditional chain hotel. My room, while not large, was quiet and comfortable and I enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk to the central train station. Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venustar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Gruezi and thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I will certainly forward your compliments to my wonderful team. Best regards, Monica Voegeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We chose this hotel after consulting TripAdvisor reviews and were delighted with our two night stay. Thehotel is easily walkable from the railway station and therefore also very handy for city centre sights.

A really pleasant lobby enhanced by a a constant and free suply of fresh apple juice which was very welcome several times as Zurich was very hot during our stay.

The staff are as pleasant and helpful as we have have encountered anywhere. They lent us a plug adaptor, gave us a late check out free of charge and dispensed plenty of good advice about restaurants and city travel.
The rooms are on the small side and the bathroom particularly bijou. However it was very quiet and had a comfy bed. You get free internet which is a big plus.

We did not use the restaurant however we saw several meals being served and this looked fine. There is a comfortable bar with good service. One tiny grumble is that if you order a coffee it is a Nespresso and advertised as such on the menu. Hotels are starting to 'franchise out' their coffee service to multi national outfits no doubt for a good price. This seems to me to bring the product down to a motorway service station level and is not acceptable. A personal view but Nespresso is rubbish. Why spoil the ambience with such overt marketting.

Overal however an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am delighted you had such a memorable stay with us and I will happily forward your compliments to my team. Of course I have also noted your remarks regarding the coffee and I am very surprised as Nespresso is known as the Rolls Royce in the coffee sector and accordingly available in most first class hotels. Buf of course, like all the good things in life, it all comes down to personal taste and I have duly noted your comment on it. Thank you again and best regards, Monica Voegeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravi M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
977 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#21 of 138 in Zurich
826 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
1,004 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $183 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing