We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Ranked #51 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
kuwait
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Zurich”
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Nice cosy hotel perfect for short business trips and also for families. Close to Hauptbahnhof (Central Railway Station) about 5 minutes walking. Nice rooms and in the middle of the busy area of old restaurants and coffeeshops. Economical, clean and friendly staff. No much luxury. Good breakfast enough to get you starting. Excellent experience and i would recommend it for business travellers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bolbol1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    125
    45
    18
    2
See reviews for
37
75
48
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

The Hotel Zürcherhof is situated close to the river in the centre of town. It was good enough for us. Clean and fairly comfortable but nothing special. There were, however, a number of small issues. The room was quite warm but was not air conditioned. The brochure led us to believe that parking was available. A member of staff told me that they only had a couple of spaces available for guests, but they have 36 rooms! More seriously were the two occasions that members of staff let themselves into the room without knocking whilst we were in there.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Staff walking in on us.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diamond-elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before going home to California. We arrived from Paris, and the reason we chose this hotel is its location.

The good:

A close walk from the train station (even in freezing weather and lugging baggage around).

Hotel Zurcherhof is in Zurich's Old Town (Altstadt). I loved the Altstadt area of Zurich-- there was good food and good shopping. If you are a foodie, be sure to stop by the top floor of the Manor Department store, where you'll find a gourmet self-service restaurant.

Across the street is Raclette Stube, where you can enjoy classic Swiss raclette or fondue. Yum.

The staff was friendly and nice.

Breakfast is included.

Nice down comforter.

Rooms are big.

Bathtub.

The bad:

Wireless internet is not included.

Pricey for the room that you get. Reminded me of a college dorm room.

The double bed is basically two twin beds pushed together, so there's a crack down the middle.

Beds are hard.

Pervasive smell of smoke in the room. Luckily, I always carry around a travel scented candle to remind me to home, so it wasn't too long before I was able to get the smoke smell out.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank khuuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We spent one night here and I would go back in a heartbeat. I booked through the Best Western website and popped for a larger room and asked for one on an upper floor as my experience is the lower down you are, the noisier. We got a large corner room on the third floor. Best part was they let us in at 8 am after an all night flight from Africa. I think its location is great - an easy walk to the train station and just about everywhere else in town. We wouldn't bother with a hotel bus or taxi from the airport again - the train is 10 minutes and a piece of cake. No one has mentioned the restaurant -other than the breakfast which we found just fine. When looking for a "typical good Swiss " restaurant, what should appear but this one in the hotel. The fondue was fabulous, my husband's steak great, and the Swiss wine wonderful. Service was good and friendly and again, I'd go back. And Zurich is fun - for a few days.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Spaniellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We stayed in the Zuercherhof for 2 nights on arrival in Zurich and also the night before we left. It is spotlessly clean and the rooms have everything you need. Zahringerstrasse is in the Niederdorf area which has lots of boutiques, restaurants, and night clubs. The Hotel Basilea and the Rutli are on the same street. It is noisy at night, which can be a problem when the weather is hot and windows are open. We had a room at the back of the hotel for our last night and that made all the difference. There is a computer in the front room which costs 5 francs/30 minutes for internet (at the Starbuck's on the corner it's 8 francs for 30 minutes!). The wireless in the hotel doesn't work with American laptops. This hotel is an easy walk from the main train station and close the lake and to the shopping areas. You get a 10% discount with your Swiss Pass. Breakfast was about average for Switzerland. The Zuercherhof is not luxurious, but it is a very convenient hotel for a few days in Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
255 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2007

As other rewiewers have said, this hotel is very conveniently located, within walking distance of the train station (walking distance if it's not snowing and your luggage has wheels). This is the old city center, and you'll find lots of restaurant and shopping options. It's right by the river and the Zurich University. Parking is difficult here, so consider this in case you're driving.
As to the room, I got a single room with a single bed which was a bit tight but very clean. My colleagues got double sized rooms for single occupancy and theirs were very comfortable rooms. Staff were very friendly and spoke every language you can think of, after all, this is Switzerland. Price was decent, but not too much, after all, this is Switzerland. Only downside was that wireless internet failed to operate in the room.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Stayed for one night at Hotel Zucherhof since we were to fly out of Zurich. Very simple but adequate room. Breakfast buffet was a little sparse compared to all of the other hotels we used on this trip. Hotel is OK - but my recommendation is to skip Zurich. Head for Lucerne or Bern if arriving or arrive late and head straight for airport of departing.

  • Liked — ease to reach train station
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H00sier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#36 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#40 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#22 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#53 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Address: Zaehringerstrasse 21, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Zurich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zürcherhof is a small, urban design hotel with 39 rooms in a quiet, central location at the heart of Zurich's historic old town. Just a short walk from its famous Bahnhofstrasse and the main railway station, you will find elegant, modern, pleasantly furnished non-smoking rooms with every comfort. A welcome retreat and the perfect place to relax during your stay in the vibrant city of Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Zurcherhof
Best Western Zurich
Best Western zürich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing