We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Ranked #58 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

At first this hotel would appear to be poor VFM until you realise that this is Zurich! The hotel is a typical Best Western which ticks all the right boxes without aspiring to the next rung on the ladder. Upon alighting from the train it is an easy 20 minute walk to the hotel. Actually it is a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the station entrance/exit but it takes as long again to negotiate the huge hub that is Zurich HB. The hotel is handily placed for all the sights of the city including the 'Ladies of the Night' who congregate on the nearby street corner!

Writing this review begs the question why is there not a category between average and very good?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 323 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Business trip again to Zurich and I decided to move from the well-known chain hotel booked for me outside of the centre to Hotel Zurcherhof. Location and price both much better! Hotel is less than 10 minutes stroll from the station across the river, just above a pedestrian-only street with bars, restaurants, take-aways and dodgy (i.e. red-light) night clubs. I much preferred being here in a lively area with church bells, regular apartments and the local Migros supermarket. It might not suit everyone though. Hotel itself was great. I had a large, slightly dated but pristine room on the 4th floor. Reception efficient, buffet breakfast excellent. Lift is miniscule but it does what it should.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Honestly, this is NOT a family hotel at ALL.
Good if you have work in this area.
I was visiting the Baselworld Fair 2012 in Basel so for me even though it meant business but not in the area.
This hotel is about 10-12 mts walk to the main SBB station in Zurich. This is also part of the old town. The hotel has NO view whatsoever of anything. The one and only restaurant at this hotel stinks bad of some kinda of meat. I am a veggie so it did affect me the moment I entered the place.
They say it is one of the happening night life places in the old town area, honestly it is quite OK.
Right below my hotel there was heavy prostitution. Trust me I was shocked myself but that entire street is not a very decent place to be at night but if you walk one block down towards the cobblewalk pavements, it is quite decent.
The rooms are horribly small and stink of sewer at times.
One thing I can admit, except for Sherly Kwong the weird front desk lady and Mark her supervisor, every other local at this property was very very nice to me.
All in all, NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Room Tip: Hotel Shweirhof or Hotel Central are more decent and closer to the train station. It is a very ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kothari-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Others have already mentioned the location. From the station you can also hop on tram no. 3 and ride it one stop if you need to carry a suitcase. Everything in our room on the 4th floor was perfect: brightly lit room (I refer to the light bulbs), very confortable bed, and comfy blankets which felt like down (not sure whether they were real down or not). Breakfast buffet was rich and tasty. One note of criticism is the lack of free internet. You can get WiFi for a price, but with so many Zurich hotels offering free WiFi as a gesture to their guests - it would be nice if the Zurcherhof joined the bunch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Only a few blocks from the train station and tram lines in the Old City of Zurich. Very clean rooms, not overly large, and an extremely small elevator - so small I took a photo of it. A small boutique type of hotel, with only 40 rooms. Breakfast is included, and has a variety of great cheeses, breads, and yogurt, fruit, juice, and cereal. Staff very pleasant. By American standards, it would be considered expensive, but everything in Zurich is at least double what you would pay in the states. My daughter and I were there for 4 days of vacationing, and I would pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Good hotel well located to the central railway station,walking distance from the party area of Zurich.Good breakfast spread.
Theres a good oriental restaurant opposite if one is tired of eating European food.
It does have a lot of prostitues on tht street .It maybe a little noisy if you leave your windows open specially on weekends .Closely located to the shopping district. I enjoyed my stay and liked the room ,it was v neat clean and fresh.Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vannyvanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

For the money, it a good choice in very expensive city. Short walk from RR station. Large, clean, recently renovated room. Front desk clerk was friendly and helpful but didn't see any other staff. Adequate breakfast buffet. Recommended for one/two nights but would look elsewhere if staying more than that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
850 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 137 in Zurich
1,024 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#48 of 137 in Zurich
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#28 of 137 in Zurich
602 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
903 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#51 of 137 in Zurich
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 21, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Zurich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $175 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zürcherhof is a small, urban design hotel with 39 rooms in a quiet, central location at the heart of Zurich's historic old town. Just a short walk from its famous Bahnhofstrasse and the main railway station, you will find elegant, modern, pleasantly furnished non-smoking rooms with every comfort. A welcome retreat and the perfect place to relax during your stay in the vibrant city of Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Zurcherhof
Best Western Zurich
Best Western zürich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing