We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in old town Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar
Ranked #3 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I love this hotel. It is located one block from the river, in the heart of old town Zurich, on a cobblestone street that allows foot traffic only. It is surrounded by small shops, restaurants, and art galleries. If you are a walker, you will enjoy this great neighborhood.
The hotel its self is charming, and clean. I I travel alone, so it is important for me to find a place to stay where I feel safe and welcome. There is a small bar downstairs, with outdoor seating when the is warm. Very nice for meeting people and also people watching.
The staff is especially why I return. They are professional and helpful. Also genuine and very easy to converse with.
I include a few pics taken during my stay in Dec. One view of the hotel and one view taken from my balcony on the second floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earthlightatnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 222 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We experienced a clean, nicely designed room on the top floor (featuring a sloping ceiling to fit the roof contour, and a small turret-shaped extension to the room). Everything was provided - amenities, towels, bathrobes, even a welcome apple. The reception desk was well manned whenever we needed it. Breakfast was of good quality and included a proper coffee or tea, artisenal breads, cereals, quality sparkling juices, and a selection of cheeses and cold meats. Wifi worked well. Only complaint is some noise from the street on a Friday night, although it was much reduced by simply closing the window and neither of us had difficulty sleeping. Situated in a lovely area. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked the hotel for one night, cool hotel. Room was small but well designed with all the needed amenities. Price was good. Location was fantastic in the middle of everything, restaurants and shops. The breakfast was much better than all the bigger hotels. The hotel is well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longhorn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were meeting in Zurich after some extended business trips and needed a nice place to stay for the night. Luckily, we both arrived early enough that we were able to enjoy the hotel and the Swiss nightlife. The hotel is a wonderful little B&B that resides over the bar itself. It actually took us a bit to find the place because the parking lot was guarded and the hotel itself is not very apparent from the street – it just looks like a very nice streetside bar/café. If you are driving a car there, you should take this into account and prepare yourself for a bit of searching. We ended up parking in a pay lot down the street and then we walked up to find the hotel. There was no formal “check-in” – we eventually asked the bartender and he informed us that our room was ready and gave us our key. He also said we could park in the parking lot behind the hotel – so we retrieved the car and enjoyed the free parking. This relatively cumbersome process of finding the hotel may sound bad, but, actually it kind of added to its charm and we thoroughly enjoyed the neighborhood and looking around at the shops while we looked for the hotel. Granted, it was summertime, so a cold wintery day may not have been as much fun.

Once inside, we found a very nice, cozy room waiting for us overlooking the shops and bustle of the city. The room was very pleasant, although we do admit that the lack of air conditioning made a summer night’s stay a bit warmer than we are used to. The location of the hotel is superb and extremely convenient as it’s right in the middle of all the shops and center of Zurich. It is a beautiful city and we enjoyed it immensely. We would, however, give fair warning – we were there on the Swiss National Day holiday and there were a lot of fireworks going on through the night. This was fun for a while, but the nature of the city and the way the buildings are constructed make it like an echo chamber – the fireworks became louder and louder as the night rolled on. We ate at a wonderful restaurant and sat outside, but the raucous from the celebratory fireworks reached volume levels that far exceeded “background noise” and made it almost impossible to hold a conversation.

After dinner and browsing the wildly eclectic and interesting shops in the area, we made our way back to the hotel and sat in the bar and had a couple drinks. The bartenders were wonderfully fun and we chatted with them about the local area and their various drinks.

The following morning, breakfast was served in the bar area and we were offered eggs to order, a very nice selection of croissant, rolls, and cheese; and some of the best yogurt/fruit/muesli we have had. All in all, this is a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it for a nice evening in Zurich. It was relatively inexpensive for the area, but you should be forewarned that this is relative – there is nothing inexpensive about Zurich.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph_Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Zurich is expensive. Fact. And this hotel was considerably cheaper than the average so on that note i wasn't expecting to much. I was happy that they had Ipad 1s to borrow (for the entire stay) and was happy with our plain but large room. It had an awful view but hey it came with a fridge filled with drinks, TV and a large bed (changed every day). The staff were very helpful. I had forwarded a europe sim card to this address and it arrived on the day I was leaving! Nevertheless the staff told me i had a package and I was glad they helped me reconnect with mobile data. The breakfast is standard continental: Small but nice. And although we didnt make use of the bar downstairs it would have been nice to use. The hotel is in a great location..about 10-15 mins walk from the station with many shops around. The staff spoke excellent english. Thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jko90s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Platzhirsch has a great central location close to heaps of restaurants, transport, shopping and attractions. The location is right in the heart of Niederdorf, but with no traffic noise and a 2-minute walk to the tram at Rudolf-Brun-Brücke or 5-minutes from Zurich Main Station.

The lobby bar with cute décor is a great place to meet friends or for informal business meetings. Breakfast provides a wide selection of (continental) options, topped off with fresh coffee and friendly service.

Rooms are clean and modern, with adequate space: some have light-filled alcoves and balconies. The free mini-bar (no alcohol) where a Coke or water isn’t another chance to be gouged of Swiss Francs is a nice and welcome touch.

A two-week stay here for business was a great choice, and the Platzhirsch will definitely be on the radar for my next trip to Zürich.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlltidSommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
837 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 137 in Zurich
1,010 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alexander
#49 of 137 in Zurich
494 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#82 of 137 in Zurich
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar

Address: Spitalgasse 3, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: $159 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in a historic landmark and stylish surrounding. Right in the city center, in the middle of the historic quarter called "Niederdorf", situated in a house built in the year 1879 in neoclassical style, our 24 rooms with Swiss Made design provide a perfect home base for your leisure or business trips to Zurich. The main train station, the lake side area and the world famous "Bahnhofstrasse" are only a few foot steps away. Access to Zurich's public transport system can be found in the immediate surrounding. Mark you territory become a PLATZHIRSCH! Translated into English the German word "Platzhirsch" means "the leading stag". The meaning is equivalent to a top dog or old bull. Our aim is to create a personal and individual rest area in a vibrating world city where you can feel at home and leave the world outside. Furthermore we assure you free WiFi as well as offer you iPads free of charge to stay connected with the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing