We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar
Ranked #2 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a lovely stay , great location / lovely breakfast / central to all attractions in zurich / 2 mins from tram / walk to main station / hotel was very clean with all amenties you require / many good eateries / bars in a lovely town square / would definatley return

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATMPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 213 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Good choice if you want to stay in the old town. Modern hip Hotel bar and very helpful staff especially Anna. The breakfast was great and the fresh croissants definitely absolutely the best croissants I had in Zurich. We had the upgraded room and it was spotless with a good selection of soft drinks in the minibar. The only problem is the noise during the summer months as you have to have the windows open (no AC). But if you in Zurich to party until 3-4 AM then this won't bother you. I recommend it mainly for a youngish traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nicely decorated rooms and bar. The breakfast is served in the bar, there is no dining room. No reception, just a tiny sort of a desk facing the bar. No air conditioning system in the rooms and in the summer you need to keep the windows open. The fact keeping the windows open brings the noice of the street to the room, you do need ear plugs. The cushions for my taste were too big, no other choice availabe. The bathroom with shower is very tiny. The location of the hotel is practical. The room was clean but not the toilet floor. Some of the staff members working in the bar and acting as receptionists do neither know how a customer should be welcomed in a hotel nor taken in charge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Epicure2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent the last 2 days of our Switzerland vacation in Zurich and stayed at Hotel Platzhirsch.

This hotel is very conveniently located, at about 10 minutes walking distance from the train station and all major points of interest. It is on a very busy square, which can be pleasant if you want to eat out and enjoy the night life, but which can be quite noisy if you want to sleep with open windows. There is a gay bar on the ground floor, but it didn’t seem too busy.

The room was not very large, but very well appointed, with a safe and a free mini bar (no booze). The decoration was very modern and pleasant.

Breakfast is included, but the choice is quite limited.

Our major concern was the reception staff. Both ladies we dealt with were very obnoxious and not at all helpful. For this reason, I would hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Quite nice place and helpful people. A little bit noisy but normal because crowed in the evening. Hotel is close to a pedestrian area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank dina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel is in an upscale pedestrian area (enjoy exploring the little shops along the cobblestone streets; an easy walk to the river). The hotel lobby is very small and incorporated into the downstairs bar with an elevator to the rooms. We stayed on the 4th floor and shared a toilet within a suite of about three other rooms (we never waited for the toilet during our stay). I was a bit worried about the shared toilet, but really it was not an issue and I'm pretty picky. The rooms are very nicely decorated. Our room was small – not much room to walk around but the bed was very comfortable and had premium linens. There is a flat screen TV, fridge, safe, sink and shower in the room with nice lotion/soap. The room faced onto a pedestrian area so there was no traffic noise at all. The bar attached to the hotel attracted a young, hip crowd and was a bit noisy until midnight or so, which didn't bother us as we're up late. There is free wifi in the rooms, very convenient. Breakfast is included and is the standard fare but fresh with good variety and well presented. Front desk staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb_Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in Zurich only for a day and this hotel was located within 5-10 min walking distance from Zurich main railway station. Even we can take a tram from the station and get off from central stop.then it's a really short walk. Mcd's, burger king and migros supermarket is closeby.located in a good shopping area.have lots of pubs and active night life. We were on 1st floor and it was bit noisy in the night but we managed to sleep well. Room was tiny but clean and comfortable. Out of 5 hotels we stayed in Switzerland,this is the only hotel I found bathrobes,toothpaste,shaving kit,etc.staff was friendly,specially the guy at the reception.breakfast was ordinary, but nothing to complain. Found tourist guids in the room it self which was really helpful.Nicely decorated hotel and would love to stay again if we visit Zurich.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
811 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
980 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#81 of 138 in Zurich
210 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#44 of 138 in Zurich
486 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar

Address: Spitalgasse 3, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: $167 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in a historic landmark and stylish surrounding. Right in the city center, in the middle of the historic quarter called "Niederdorf", situated in a house built in the year 1879 in neoclassical style, our 24 rooms with Swiss Made design provide a perfect home base for your leisure or business trips to Zurich. The main train station, the lake side area and the world famous "Bahnhofstrasse" are only a few foot steps away. Access to Zurich's public transport system can be found in the immediate surrounding. Mark you territory become a PLATZHIRSCH! Translated into English the German word "Platzhirsch" means "the leading stag". The meaning is equivalent to a top dog or old bull. Our aim is to create a personal and individual rest area in a vibrating world city where you can feel at home and leave the world outside. Furthermore we assure you free WiFi as well as offer you iPads free of charge to stay connected with the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing