We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountains, Cheese & Chocolate”

Best of Switzerland Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.59*
and up
Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride
More Info
$125.62*
and up
Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich
More Info
$56.26*
and up
Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich
Ranked #3 of 43 Tours in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our core business is regular excursions and city tours out of Zurich and Lucerne to the most beautiful tourist attractions in the German part of Switzerland. We also organize private excursions, transfers, guiding services and coach rental.
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mountains, Cheese & Chocolate”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Mountains, Cheese & Chocolate Tour: My husband & I took this tour from Zurich on 9 August 2012, with Daniel Feurer as our driver/guide. We thoroughly enjoyed this day tour, though we are probably biased as we love visiting a different part of Switzerland during each European trip. Daniel was punctual, well prepared with a map hand-out, showing the route and the times of arrival/departure in each beautiful place along the way. His driving skills, knowledge, & presentation were first rate. He had a friendly personality - always courteous and helpful. If you are planning a trip to Switzerland, we highly recommend this tour & other tours with Best of Switzerland Tour company, and also using Daniel for private excursions, transfers or city tours.
Katrina & David Collins, Canberra, Australia

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    169
    66
    31
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not enough time...”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We took the half day tour to Mt Titlis and found that most of our time was spent trying to get up to the mountain...by the time we reached the top we only had an hour and a half free time. This gave us just enough time to ride the ice flyer, build a snowman, check out the ice cave...unfortunately due to the wind the adventure park was closed but even if it was open we wouldn't have had time to enjoy it. We still had a nice time but if the tour started an hour of two earlier to make up for the lost time it would have been a lot better

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best-of-Switzerland, Geschäftsführer at Best of Switzerland Tours, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Vistor
We thank you for your review and that you have joined the tour with us. We understand your concern but would like to point out the following:
- Our tour starts originally in the morning from Zürich with guest visiting Lucerne first. In Lucerne guests staying in this town have the option to join the tour there but it's clearly indicated that it's only a half-day excursion starting at 12.30 hours with a duration of 5.5 hours. Guest who like to stay longer on the peek have the option to go on their own by train without any guidance and with a slightly higher rate.
- It is correct that as it's only a half day excursion, the time on top of the mountain is limited to 1.5 to 2 hours depending a bit of the traffic and weather conditions.
- The journey up to the mountain from the valley station of Engelberg takes per way aprox. 45 minutes and is itself an adventure as different aerial cable cars are used to climb up to the altitude of 3000 m.a.s.l. The last cable car is a rotating gondola providing gorgeous view over the peeks and glaciers of the high alpine panorama.

We hope you have enjoyed the rest of the stay in our lovely country and wish you all the best for your future travel plans. Maybe you try an other of our excursions to convince yourself on our excellent service? Kindest regards
Christian Landis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mountains Cheese and Chocolat”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

excellent tour, driver- guide Ernie, was very good, lots of information, made the day perfect for us, despite that the weather was a bit rainy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopoldo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Zurich tour”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We took this four hour tour in May and it was one of the best tours that we did on our trip to Europe this year.Our guide was Trudi who was excellant with her knowledge and history of Zurich, which is a most impressive city.The weather on our afternoon tour was just perfect for sightseeing.The bus was very modern ,clean and very comfortable. Our tour took in the city sights then up to the cable car which gave us an elevated view from the mountain of the city and lake below us.on to the ferry which took us across Lake Zurich and then back into the city viaq the university precinct.All in all a very pleasant experience .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flagsandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots to see, but it depends on the tour guide (and crowd)”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We got to see a lot of things, but English clearly wasn't one of her strongest languages so it was sometimes difficult to understand what she was explaining. Many of the sites we passed only had a short, perfunctory explanation because of the multiple languages the tour guide had to translate for. For a group of about 30 people, she needed to relay the information not only in English, but also Spanish, and Italian. Impressive, but it the tour may have been better if she could spend more time talking about the landmarks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Byron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best of Switzerland Tours also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Best of Switzerland Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing