We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst food, worst service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of teoh - CLOSED

teoh
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: It's a very cosy and familiar restaurant, with asian/fusion cousine (included malesian and chinese food). It's quite cheap but the service is very friendly. Nice place!
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“worst food, worst service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The service is enormously grumpy. The food is poor. When i couldn't finish my plate the lady (and her son?) was angry and grumbled when i asked her to pack the rests. Then they charged me additional 50 Rp for the box :) Well, for a smile they could have easily make a few CHFs tip...

This is not an isolated incident, many colleagues of mine received similar treatment...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Feels like home again.”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Asam Fish was superb and finely cooked! Love the fact I can ind a good home cook meal in Zurich. The owners were so friendly and the even give us discount as we ran out of Swiss Francs. Thumbs up for the generosity! Restaurant was really easy to find, just take the Tram number 3 and stop at Stauffacher and walk along Backerstrasse until you see 'Teoh'. Thanks for the great food and warm hospitality. Will come back whenever I come to Zurich.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank citizendunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went to Teoh during my 4 days trip in Zurich. I wanted Malaysian food for so long in Swiss! I searched for it online and found it! I went there, the owner was very welcoming. restaurant was packed. I ordered Hokkein mien, char kwai teow and laksa. They were the best i have eaten in Europe! And i went back for hainan chicken rice today, and it was great too! Totally recommend to all!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen80811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A taste of South-east Asia”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you are craving some spicy south-east asian flavours, this place will give you a hint of what you are looking for, yet does not fully deliver the experience. Having lived in Singapore, and dining with others who had lived or visited Singapore, we were quite excited to see their selection of back-home delicacies such as Kuay Teow and Hainanese Chicken Rice. They also do have a selection of other more-typical asian fare.

The Kuay Teow was quite good. We could definitely discern the “wok taste”; that combination of maillard reaction and caramelization that comes from good street food, and I think that added a huge element to the dish. Definitely have the Kuay Teow.

The Hainanese Chicken Rice was just okay. I mean, it’s chicken and rice and yet nobody makes it like the Hainanese hawker stalls in Singapore. The key points come in from the rice that has been cooked in broth and a spicy sauce that is a delightful marriage of red chillies and garlic. This one was average on both counts; the rice was somewhat flavoured and the chilli - while excellent in its own right - just wasn’t the same. But there was an unmistakable effect overall that left no doubt about the source of inspiration to this dish.

If you want something like Pad Thai; don’t get their version of it. It is much spicier and does not have the same peanut flavours that you might be craving if you want a Thai Pad Thai.

One thing to know is that the food does not all come out at the same time, so expect that that not everyone will eat at the same time. For example, there were six of us and by the time the last dish was served, the people who were served the first had already finished their dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EverybodyCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great now out at Teoh's”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Me and my hubby was looking craving for malaysian food, as we heard of this place in the Singaporean newspaper recently, we drove down from Geneva to Zurich. It was such a treat !!! Reasonable prices, the most heart warming hosts. Uncle and Aunty Teoh are from Penang and their home cooking, fulfill all cravings for home food. We thorougly enjoyed the Chicken Rice,Duck Soup and Hokkien Mee. It was a dream. It was a trip worth taking.
Teoh Restaurant is the best Malaysian Authentic food in Switzerland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chosenjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed teoh also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing