We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is How a 5* Star Hotel Should Be”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is How a 5* Star Hotel Should Be”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This hotel is stunning. Completely renovated and extended by Fosters and Partners this is a combination of the traditional (the original building updated) and the ultra hip. I stayed in the new Golf Wing and had a suite on the end which has superb views across the golf course to the mountains beyond. The room was amazing with all mod-cons all electrically controlled from the bed, including the curtains and lighting moods. This can get confusing after a few drinks! The bathrooms, with steam showers and Jacuzzi baths are really cool. None of the walls have straight lines, everything has smooth curves and sweeps and fixtures are of the highest standard.

I had lunch and breakfast in the main restaurant, which is also ultra cool and excellent food (though the service at breakfast did go awry as I had to order my coffee twice and never received my muesli).

Check-in was done in room and was very personal.

The spa is supposed to be fantastic (I didn’t see it) and the main bar is really hip – it has ‘floating candles’, Harry Potter style, suspended from the ceilings. And at £9-10 for a Vodka and Tonic, not too badly priced. It is a haunt for the local beautiful people.

In terms of location, this is not centrally located, it is in the hills above the city, but has its own railway station that takes you into town in 10 minutes – so here you have some peace and quiet, but convenient to get into town and its attractions.

Whilst I was in Zurich I looked at the Widder, which is in the town centre – a strange place and not a patch on the Dolder which is an absolute beauty. The Dolder is exactly what a 5 star boutique property should be about – cool, state of the art design and personal service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    108
    39
    14
    15
See reviews for
132
398
56
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Lovely stay at the hotel; cutting edge design; warm welcome; awesome room. Room in the spa wing had a great design, special remote to control functions and lovely bathroom. The best part of the hotel is the spa that is open daily from 7am-10pm. A truly relaxing place with both single sex and mixed gender facilities. The best features for me were hot tubs that overlook the lake and the city of Zurich. Besides several steam rooms, sauna and a snow room the relaxation room with a fireplace near the locker rooms was quite nice. Breakfast was quite good with everything cooked fresh when you ordered it (no buffet). I took public transportation to get there and it was quite easy and fun to take the cable car up.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

This is a very nice property , with a beautiful location , if do not need to be smack in the mid of things.

Lobby and bar is clean and crisp . The rooms are modern and minimalistic , but spacious and very comfortable. Bathrooms are among the best I have experienced in a hotel. The "ball control " center , that controls everything electric in the room is a bit over the top and a
bit annoying. The bed is very comfortable , the balcony fantastic , spacious with great views. Room service menu and service , top notch.

Restaurant - indoors was good from a menu point of view- but decor and ambiance not to my liking. If you are visiting while the outdoor deck is open ,fantastic al fresco dining.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetlaggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2009

I joined my boyfriend for one night and I wish it could have been more! The hotel occupies a fabulous spot high up overlooking Zurich and it is incredibly peaceful. We had a really great room, with everything that you need plus an amazing bathroom with a tv in the mirror! Our brunch was excellent and there is amazing attention to detail everywhere. Overall I would rate this 10 out of 10 - having been lucky enough to stay in 5 star hotels all over the world, this is the first time I have been compelled to shout about it!! Andrea,London

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blahnikbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Firstly, if you want a 5-star stay in the middle of the Zurich city choose the Widder or the newer Park Hyatt. The remarkable Dolder Grand resort hotel is 10 minutes out of town and on a hillside surrounded by gorgeous forest and walking trails.
The hotel car met me at the airport and in less than 25 minutes we pulled up in front of what can only be described as a fairytale castle. A delightfully engaging receptionist escorted me to my deluxe lake-view room in the new spa wing. The very new addition to this old hotel is an architectural masterpiece, Norman Foster no less, and boy, does it impress. The modern detailing is extraordinary and integrates beautifully with the existing structure. So too the rooms, gorgeously detailed with ultra-comfortable king bed and the very best of fittings, including Bang & Olufsen TV and sound system. A weird but remarkable little B & O ‘ball’ remotely controlled everything (take time to read the instructions). The room had full-height windows the complete length of a roomy balcony with a large-paned, sliding door giving access to the distant lake views. The bathrooms here are world-beaters, some of the largest seen in a hotel. Heated stone floors, twin sinks, freestanding bath, huge multi-head shower stall and separate loo.
The standout feature of the Dolder has to be the Spa and gymnasium on the lower floor of the new Spa Wing. This spa is huge with separate male/female wet areas with crystal steam rooms, wet and dry saunas and a myriad of hot tubs and plunge pools. Huge, heavy timber doors opened pneumatically with a light touch, and I loved the aromatherapy mist dispensers that throbbed in pastel colours and emitted scented steam at the push of a button. Between the groovy relaxation room with hanging wicker chairs all wired for sound and the amazing indoor pool, a guest might never leave this place. All surrounded by the most uplifting architecture and incredible Swiss attention to detail. True masters dispensed massage treatments on the most comfortable tables imaginable. If you’re desperate for an outdoor pool, for the few months you can use one in Switzerland, there’s a public pool about 10 minutes walk up behind the hotel.
Breakfast and lunch at the Garden Restaurant were delicious, especially when served on the sunny terrace overlooking Zurich. I did not try the more formal Restaurant but local friends rate it very highly. I can’t wait to return to this amazing gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

At first blush, a very impressive hotel both as to location and as to its renovations. The location has always been attractive for those wishing to stay in a leafy resort location, yet close to the center of town. The renovations in the form of the curving wings are attractive to look at set back and behind the original hotel. Once inside, however, there is less to like about it. The lobby and reception area are cold and bare. The corridors are dark and not ventilated and the rooms are very minimalist to the degree of being bare. Timber floors are only covered in one area by a small off white rug which has already shown considerable wear and dirt. The functions of the TV, lights, curtains and everything else are to be found in one ball control unit which requires a computer geek to operate. They do provide a manual card for its operation but one doesn't go to a fancy hotel in order to spend time studying the room controls. The bathroom is nice but the underfloor heating controls were in the shower stall and hard to find. The room and much of the hotel lacked warmth and character. The casual restaurant reminds of a university cafeteria although the main fine dining restaurant is good.
The spa makes the hotel. It is quite spectacular and incomparable with any city or fringe city hotel. Service in the hotel was fine and unoptrusive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommentatorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I am a travel agent in Toronto and have stayed at many lovely properties in Europe. But none have impress me like the Dolder Grand. We spent a night and two days at this magnificant property overlooking Zurich. Everything was first class. Being 15 minutes by car outside of Zurich was a pleasaure and the hotel had its own car to take you into town if you didn't want to take a taxi or public transportation. The service was crisp and efficient. The rooms arre a high-tech wonder and the views are spectacular. The spa is incredible. Only superlatives for this property. Skip the Baur au LaAc and stay at a truely wonderful new hotel with fresh air, birds chirping, no traffic noise and just about everything else a traveller might need or desire. E-mail [--] for questions

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
200 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
650 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
739 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 139 in Zurich
713 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#7 of 139 in Zurich
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Property: The Dolder Grand
Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#2 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing