We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property and great staff”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I was in Zurich for a couple of days on a business trip and I stayed at The Dolder Grand. I knew of the hotel but it was my first time there. The property definitely lives up to its name it's really grand. The location is right outside the center of the city, a few minutes by car, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle downtown, and it boasts amazing view of the lake. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and I loved their bathroom amenities, their scent is fabulous. Breakfast restaurant makes you start the day with the right foot and I especially liked the Lobby Bar, great place to meet but also to unwind.
The most important feature of the property though is its staff. They are all so welcoming, smiling and helpful regardless the department they are work in. I was looked after and they made me feel they really cared for me. It's what I enjoy the most when I'm travelling, it makes my lit much easies, especially if it's a business trip.
No need to say that i look forward to returning to the hotel, soon, I hope.

Room Tip: Rooms in the spa wing are really quiet with amazing view, I recommend a junior suite which is the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for your positive review here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and assure you that we will forward your encouraging words to our staff, as they highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

If you come back during the winter months, the Lobby area offers a wonderful English Afternoon Tea Service during the weekends. Along with a variety of teas that you can choose from we also have mini-sandwiches, scones, and sweets as well as a harpist player to set the mood.

We would be delighted to welcoming you back again soon. In the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

If you want the ultimate in Swiss Luxury and the best professional, the highest standard of cleanliness, most perfect modern and complete gym and spa experience, look no further.
Best service, best concierge, best massages, best yoga class, and great bar too

Room Tip: Stay in the OLD section if you like modern convince like a TV in your bathroom Mirror- yes really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cynna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I didnt stay at Dolder but went for a Day Spa. They dont offer a ticket just to Enter the Spa but you need to buy a 380CHF Voucher which you can redeem in treatments. The Spa treatments were amazing. I had a massage and a facial and you could tell that they know what they are doing (but that was all i could get with 380CHF).
The Wellness and Relaxation area was very nice too. With Sauna, Hamman and ice room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ExpatDeluxe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The best Ladies' Spa I have ever seen. Hope for Gentlemen it's the same :)
Aroma hammam, sauna, a cold bath and 2 aroma jacuzzis (for relaxation and revitalisation) - they are indescribable, absolutely fantastic!
After a long day of meetings - oh, it was such a pleasure to spend 2 hours in this area.
And outdoor jacuzzis with the panoramic view over Zurich - just amazing!
Spacious and luxury rooms, delicious food and drinks in restaurants and bars, very friendly and smiling staff and not that formal what often happens in 5* hotels.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to all types of travellers - either for a romantic escape or for business reasons. You'll stay not far from the city centre (and hotel has a free shuttle service) and at the same time you avoid the noise of a big city and all crowds of tourists.
Panoramic views, greenness and fresh air and excellent service - all what makes Switzerland so famous!

Room Tip: Junior Suite in Golf Wing - fantastic view on a 9-hole golf course, very quite and spacious, bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our product and services especially that of the Dolder Grand Spa. I can assure you that the Gentlemen’s Spa is just as wonderful as the Ladies Spa. After a long day of meetings, I would definitely recommend next time to try one of our unique treatments from the Dolder Collection, The Meditation Walk. This 45-minute walk towards the mirrored cupola room accompanied by relaxing music will help you ease yourself after a long and tiring day.

We would be delighted to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand on another occasion. Until then, we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This place is amazing. Views of the city are exquisite. Amenities are everywhere you look. The restaurant outside overlooks the hillside and makes you feel like your at your own palace. The spa requires a whole separate review. It's the size of other European hotels. Beyond mind blowing

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richsdreamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had never been to Zurich so we used Tripadvisor to pick out our hotel and WOW, this hotel is truly stunning and lives up to all the high expectations.

Service is truly great, the views are lovely, the room we had was fabulous with a great balcony and a view of the city.

The ONLY drawback to this property is that it is a couple of miles from downtown. If you consider that a drawback, which we didn't. We were in town over the Swiss National Day and our location on the hill was great to watch the fireworks after we finished dinner.

Really cannot say enough great things about the property. Ask for a room on a high floor looking over the lake, it's worth it!

The rooms are exceptionally quiet due to the doors being at least 5 inches thick. I have never seen anything like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor in the main building overlooking the lake and mountains. Wow, what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ToddandLisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous. It looks like a castle surrounded by nature in one of the most beautiful areas of Zurich. Beautiful view of the lake and city. Who wants to spend a beautiful holiday would recommend a stay at the Dolder.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#2 of 137 in Zurich
711 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
819 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#5 of 137 in Zurich
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#7 of 137 in Zurich
937 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 137 in Zurich
242 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 137 in Zurich
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $527 - $896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing