We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Dolder Grand is a special hotel. Staff go out of their way to make everything perfect for guests. We booked through Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts and were upgraded to a very nice Junior Suite with view of the lake and mountains (although sadly we could not see the Alps until the morning of our departure due to rain clouds and fog). The Restaurant offers a great dining experience with incredible service, although extremely pricey. The breakfast in the Garden restaurant downstairs was also very good with great service. What really stands out at this hotel though is the peerless concierge service. Special shout outs to Jens, Markus and Caroline with whom I interacted frequently during my stay. They gave us one of their convertibles for a day trip to Stein am Rhein, Schaffhausen and Rheinfalls. They also arranged for train tickets to Berne and Lucerne. Jens suggested a very nice day trip to Mt Rigi and he assisted with all arrangements for this trip.
We were traveling with our small son and were impressed by the level of attention he received, he was even offered toys on a couple of occasions.
Although it does not affect our overall rating of our Dolder Grand experience, there was a major downside that was related to the fact that we were with a small child. They do not allow children under 12 at the pool. This was a bummer since we were not able to enjoy one of the key amenities that this property offers. To be fair, they went out of their way to compensate for this policy, they even drove us to Dolder Waldhaus, a 4 star property close by. However, the conditions there were not even remotely comparable to the real deal. So, yes, we found that a little unfair particularly taking into account that this is the only hotel we experienced such restriction and after all we paid the same as guests with no children who were able to experience all amenities.
While not located in the heart of Zurich, it is very easy to get from the hotel to the city centre. There is a shuttle service every 30 minutes and there is also Dolderbahn, a cable car that runs from the premises to the city, where one can take a street car for 5 minutes to the center.

Room Tip: Be cognizant of their policies if you travel with children under 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dbocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

Driving up to the entrance of the hotel is like stepping into a Swiss fairytale!! The lobby is beautifully appointed and the reception staff is very helpful and friendly. We booked a Junior Suite in the new wing which was quite a long walk away from the reception but every inch of the hotel is a juxtaposition of old and new which makes it a pretty interesting walk! The room was a dream. As modern as they come, incredibly spacious and with a beautiful view over the lake. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel which was nice with good quality food & service but the restaurant lacked any sort of atmosphere. Overall I would probably want to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I'm having trouble remembering the time in my life before The Dolder Grand. I mean, it was only a week ago that I didn't know of this hotel's majestic property, but life before was just a blur.

Life is clearer than ever after The Dolder Grand experience.

Let's be honest. This hotel is EXPENSIVE. So expensive. But it's worth every single penny. It's clean. It's beautiful. The staff is like a warm blanket on a cold day. Like an umbrella in a torrential downpour. Like all your best friends and favorite family members rolled into one giant, better version of all your best friends and family members. Friends and family members that will never argue with you, just shower you with compliments and kindness. Does that even exist in real life? WELL IT DOES AT THE DOLDER GRAND!

Complimentary breakfast? You betcha!
Radio and television IN THE BATHROOM MIRROR? You better believe it, sister!
Free coloring books and colored pencils? Uh...yeah! Who doesn't want to sit on the balcony while giving life to a black and white teddy bear?
Fossils in the shower? Obviously! They only used the finest materials when meticulously crafting each room.
Having the ability to keep the room temperature at 69.7 degrees? Of course! We all know that .7 makes all the difference in the world!

The views. The ambiance. The grandeur.

The Dolder Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your wonderful feedback following your visit to the Dolder Grand. We are overwhelmed by your unique praise - if only half of your very personal words are true, they made our day.

At the Dolder Grand, we aim to give every guest a personal experience and to provide a quality of life that enables our guests to escape the everyday. Your comments are a ringing endorsement of our day to day efforts and have been shared with the entire team.

Please do come back and give us another chance to contribute to a memorable stay in Zurich in the very near future. We would love to surprise and delight you with even more personality and uniqueness. How about a tour of our herb garden together with our chef?

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was a bit apprehensive about our stay at the Dolder given some of the remarks on here. Particularly the reviews saying that if you are clearly not a millionaire then the staff treat you badly. But I am happy to say that that simply was not true in our case. Every single member of staff was super friendly, happy to help, invested in making our stay memorable - and we are clearly not millionaires!

We got the "Live at Sunset" package to see Robert Plant in concert. The whole stay was amazing from the second we arrived until the second we, unfortunately, had to leave! The only bad thing was the weather.....we should have had amazing views of the Alps but instead we saw clouds and rain; not the fault of the hotel. We truly appreciated the late check out of 4pm that comes as part of the package and spent our time hiking in the forest.

Our meal in the garden restaurant was truly wonderful - veal tartare is not something I would generally eat and I would never order it if on a menu but it really was stunning! Our waiter could not be more helpful and we had plenty of time between the meal and the concert so we were not rushing around.

Next year I really hope there is the same "Live at Sunset" deal because I will be rushing back!!! It was amazing value for money and the best 50th birthday present that I could have given my husband.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your favourable feedback following your stay at the Dolder Grand.

It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, and that you particularly appreciated the helpful and courteous service of our staff.

The Live at Sunset 2015 is expected to take place from 8 July to 19 July 2015 and a corresponding package will certainly be offered.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand next summer and hope for better weather. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Dolder Grand during Art Basel. It is actually a nice walk into downtown Zurich and the hotel could not be any nicer.. Potentially the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at! An amazing collection of contemporary art, the restaurant and the best spa anywhere sets the Dolder apart... Beautiful room with unbeatable views.. Staff was incredible as well. 5 stars all around -- we will def stay here again when we come back to Zurich. Thanks Dolder!! /DK

Room Tip: Suite in Spa Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DavidBKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Outstanding hotel!
It looks like a castle but very modern and comfortable inside.
We could see lake Zurich and a part of the city from our balcony. The room was large, soundproofed, clean and beautiful. We had a remote control for TV and lights, a super comfortable bed and a very large bathroom with a fancy bathtub, shower cabin or rather shower room, a "toilet room", TV and radio.
Food was tasty and sophisticated.
The staff, professional and nice, made us feel like emperors.
In the evening we enjoyed some drinks at the bar or at the terace bar.
From jacuzzi in the spa area we could see Zurich from above. Amazing!
The Dolder train is a very good way to reach the city but also you can walk.

I warmly recommend this hotel and I would definitely love to return here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrisaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The best hotel I have been so far. Arrived in the early morning. Not looking too crisp after a 16h flight and a ton of luggage and a surfboard. Probalby not your everyday Dolder Guest.
Everybody made me feel welcome right away. Not pretencious, just honest hospitality. Check in was fast and easy. room superb. Location by far the best in Zürich. Hope to be back soon and thank you very much!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conradin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#2 of 138 in Zurich
714 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 138 in Zurich
824 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 138 in Zurich
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#8 of 138 in Zurich
941 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
244 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#4 of 138 in Zurich
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $516 - $963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing