We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Postcard setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Postcard setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Located amidst the dolder forest in Zurich this hotel strikes you first with it's imposing building a castle . We were in a junior suite overlooking the golf course. Room was of good size with a luxurious bathroom consisting of jacuzzi bath separate shower with multiple jets, large mirrors and toilet amenities replenished twice a day. Spa is great indoor pool with separate jacuzzis and outdoor hot tubs overlooking the forest beneath. Breakfast is served in the garden restaurant. Staff is friendly and breakfast is very varied and of excellent quality. The hotel also has a fine dining restaurant which is busy and booked way in advance in fact we did not mange to get a table during our stay. The hotel is slightly off city centre, so reaching Zurich city needs some means of transport. There is a rail service Dolder Bahn, which has a stop right near the hotel taking you straight to the city centre. Taxis are another option but not cheap, and of course car rental. Hotel has an adjoining car park for residents. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend break at anytime of year.

Room Tip: A room in the main building overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myself-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for sharing with us your positive and detailed review.

We are delighted to read that you felt inspired during your time with us and we will gladly forward your positive comments to our staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that you will have the chance to visit our Fine Dining Restaurant on a future occasion.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    87
    29
    12
    14
See reviews for
109
311
51
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The location is a little out-the-way if you have meetings in town, but as a weekend location, this fairy tale castle is quite phenomenal.

The Spa is one of the very best in Europe - and is worth a stay on its own.

The rooms are comfortable and decently appointed.

We had a bit of an noise issue with guests in a nearby room carrying on a raucous party in a room which the hotel failed to stop, mainly due to a misunderstanding by the front desk. Front desk was mortified in the morning, so we'll let that slide as a statistical anomaly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terekus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your stay at the Dolder Grand and for sharing with us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time and that our spa and the rooms in particular were to your liking.

We regret to hear that you had an unpleasant experience due to noise emission of another guest in the adjoining room. Please rest assured that this incident represented an exception to the usual standard in quality and we hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies for this.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My first impression of the Dolder Grand was that it is a very grand and impressive property. Service is impeccable - from the front desk to the doorman. Rooms are luxurious (although a little on the smaller side) with clean minimal style. The in-room toiletries are fantastic. While the whole hotel is great, for me the standout bit is their Spa with outdoor jacuzzi that has a fine view of Zurich to the tubs filled with warm pebbles to relax in; a futuristic 'relaxing' room, great sauna and an 'ice room'. Quite easily the most fabulous City hotel spa I've been in. The hotel exemplifies swiss hospitality - expensive, tip top professional service and an overall great experience. Would love to return soon!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TequilaW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful headline and review on your stay at the Dolder Grand.

At the Dolder Grand, we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations therefore we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services, especially the Dolder Grand Spa. Please be assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my staff, since they highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

We truly hope to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand on a future occasion.

Your sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is simply spectacular. We stayed on the newer side overlooking the lake and the golf course. The rooms are perfect-extraordinarily clean, large, beautifully decorated. The bedding is outstanding. Perhaps most importantly, the staff is superb. We really felt like we were home. The staff took a personal interest in us and in making sure we were enjoying our stay. The concierge is knowledgeable, friendly and patient. The location is outside the city center, which we enjoyed-there is a shuttle into the city center, or you may take a taxi. The hidden gem in this hotel is the art. There are extraordinary pieces from the owners personal collection throughout the hotel, and you can borrow an ipad from the front desk for a self-guided tour.

We are already looking for an excuse to revisit this hotel-we miss it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The room in the modern section was incredibly quiet with a wonderful view. The bed was super comfortable and the single device to run lights/tv/stereo/blinds worked flawlessly! We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the Lobster Strawberry appetizer was the single best item in our entire 3 week trip (and we ate well!). The Spa was wonderful and the art collection around the property is not to be missed! There is an ipad that the front desk will loan you to assist with an art tour of the property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussZink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
325 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Dolder is a beautiful place. It stays on the mountains overlooking Zurich and its lake. A new, modern wing was built near the old one (actually a kind of embracing it). We loved the old/modern contrast, the sculptures and high-ceiling room. The view from the room is marvelous for mountain lovers. Attentive reception, spa and concierge personnel. Good dining at the 2-Michellin star The Restaurant. Although it did not spoil the experience, waiters serving breakfast were a kind of disorganized, and we often had to ask for the same thing twice. In the room, the black-out courtains were not automatized and difficult to run manually (since they were large and very heavy).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for your positive comment.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the fascinating combination of the classic and the modern as much as the attentiveness of our staff. Concerning the inefficient service at breakfast, we wish to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please rest assured that your feedback was reviewed with the staff involved, since it will enable us to improve our service standards and to offer even better value and satisfaction.

The curtains can be operated electronically in guest rooms located in one of the newly built wings (Junior Suite or higher category). All other rooms are equipped with a manual control for curtains and we will gladly take up your point and examine potential improvement.

It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place has an unreal feeling, mixing both old conservative and aggressive modern. One hotel for four seasons? Maybe.
After a busy but efficient check-in, it was in the middle of the Zurich Cinema festival, I was escorted by the very friendly Patricia to my junior suite in the Golf wing.
Beautiful albeit distant view of Lake Zurich, huge room and large terrace, technology everywhere. Clearly some guests must have had issue with the sophisticated panels deserving the many electric and electronic functions of the room. Patricia carefully explained them all to me. Not so difficult to use I agree, but the person who devised the size of the switches' labels should be made to use them. I had to take off my glasses, use my phone to light them in the dark to be able to find the function I was looking for. The same can be said for the stylish but again completely complicated Danish TV system. A real nightmare which crashed several times during the short time I used it. But again you are not there to watch TV.
A part from that everything was almost perfect. Outstanding tasting menu at the two Michelin starred restaurant. Maybe a bit young and inexperienced staff throughout the restaurant, but what they lack in skills they compensate with their enthusiasm.
Sleep was excellent, the bathroom and amenities are first class.
Finally used the pool/sauna and outdoor jacuzzi. Despite a rather grey/misty weather it was real treat to roam around these huge premises.
A must do if you love beauty, old and modern contrasts and have the adequate funding for such an exceptional place.

Room Tip: Lake view a must. Old building smaller windows but a bit warmer, in the modern wings, try the Spa wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive review of your experience at the Dolder Grand.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us and not only reward our dedication to an attentive service culture but also the quality of the served culinary delights in our two Michelin starred Fine Dining. Furthermore, we are happy that you appreciated the appearance of the room with its fantastic views and were fascinated by the blend of the timeless and the contemporary. Your feedback is motivation to us to continue our efforts in the same direction, and I will gladly share your comment with our staff.

Furthermore, we regret to hear, that your positive impression was somewhat compromised by the unsatisfactory performance of our recently upgraded TV system. Being part of a larger project to enhance the experience with the overall room control setup, we will certainly also integrate your comment regarding the design of the wall switches into our evaluations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand on another occasion. Until then, we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#3 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#2 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#17 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#7 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Property: The Dolder Grand
Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#1 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Summer break The Restaurant 2016 The Restaurant will be closed from 26 July to 15 August 2015. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing