We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place overlooking Zurich”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Dolder is a beautiful place. It stays on the mountains overlooking Zurich and its lake. A new, modern wing was built near the old one (actually a kind of embracing it). We loved the old/modern contrast, the sculptures and high-ceiling room. The view from the room is marvelous for mountain lovers. Attentive reception, spa and concierge personnel. Good dining at the 2-Michellin star The Restaurant. Although it did not spoil the experience, waiters serving breakfast were a kind of disorganized, and we often had to ask for the same thing twice. In the room, the black-out courtains were not automatized and difficult to run manually (since they were large and very heavy).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for your positive comment.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the fascinating combination of the classic and the modern as much as the attentiveness of our staff. Concerning the inefficient service at breakfast, we wish to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please rest assured that your feedback was reviewed with the staff involved, since it will enable us to improve our service standards and to offer even better value and satisfaction.

The curtains can be operated electronically in guest rooms located in one of the newly built wings (Junior Suite or higher category). All other rooms are equipped with a manual control for curtains and we will gladly take up your point and examine potential improvement.

It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place has an unreal feeling, mixing both old conservative and aggressive modern. One hotel for four seasons? Maybe.
After a busy but efficient check-in, it was in the middle of the Zurich Cinema festival, I was escorted by the very friendly Patricia to my junior suite in the Golf wing.
Beautiful albeit distant view of Lake Zurich, huge room and large terrace, technology everywhere. Clearly some guests must have had issue with the sophisticated panels deserving the many electric and electronic functions of the room. Patricia carefully explained them all to me. Not so difficult to use I agree, but the person who devised the size of the switches' labels should be made to use them. I had to take off my glasses, use my phone to light them in the dark to be able to find the function I was looking for. The same can be said for the stylish but again completely complicated Danish TV system. A real nightmare which crashed several times during the short time I used it. But again you are not there to watch TV.
A part from that everything was almost perfect. Outstanding tasting menu at the two Michelin starred restaurant. Maybe a bit young and inexperienced staff throughout the restaurant, but what they lack in skills they compensate with their enthusiasm.
Sleep was excellent, the bathroom and amenities are first class.
Finally used the pool/sauna and outdoor jacuzzi. Despite a rather grey/misty weather it was real treat to roam around these huge premises.
A must do if you love beauty, old and modern contrasts and have the adequate funding for such an exceptional place.

Room Tip: Lake view a must. Old building smaller windows but a bit warmer, in the modern wings, try the Spa wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive review of your experience at the Dolder Grand.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us and not only reward our dedication to an attentive service culture but also the quality of the served culinary delights in our two Michelin starred Fine Dining. Furthermore, we are happy that you appreciated the appearance of the room with its fantastic views and were fascinated by the blend of the timeless and the contemporary. Your feedback is motivation to us to continue our efforts in the same direction, and I will gladly share your comment with our staff.

Furthermore, we regret to hear, that your positive impression was somewhat compromised by the unsatisfactory performance of our recently upgraded TV system. Being part of a larger project to enhance the experience with the overall room control setup, we will certainly also integrate your comment regarding the design of the wall switches into our evaluations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand on another occasion. Until then, we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I had the most wonderful stay at the hotel.
They upgraded us to a junior suite which was breath taken!
Every department is very helpful and professional.
By far the best hotel in Switzerland.

Room Tip: Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for your favourable review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the appearance of the Junior Suite with its fantastic views as much as the friendliness of our staff. Your feedback is motivation to us to continue our efforts in the same direction, and I will gladly share your remarks with my team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Dolder Grand in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We made our reservation through Amex Fine hotel of the world and we are also members of the Leading hotel of the World. Our room was supposed to be upgraded subject to availability. On arrival we were told that upgrade is not available because hotel was running full. But they were willing to sell us an upgrade.
Our profile on Leading Hotels of The World clearly indicates that we love good SPAs. In fact that was the main reason we selected to stay at Dolder. This information was shared with the hotel by LHW. When we arrived at the hotel we were in Golf wing while neither one of us has any interest in Golf. When we requested change to SPA wing our request was turned down.
As a member of Fine hotels and their partnership with AMEX we were promised $100 credit towards SPA/ Food credit. No one offered us that credit on arrival but when we dug into it we were told that we will get credit of CHF 90 towards food. According to the exchange rate the Credit should have been CHF 93-94. Although the difference is small but you feel cheated. For example we stayed another Fine hotel property during our trip to Switzerland and our credit was increased to CHF 100 without even asking for it.
We were charged CHF 120 for a Limousine service from train station to the hotel which is only 20 minutes’ drive. We waited 45 minutes in the smoldering heat at the train station because we had no idea where we are supposed to meet the driver. After several phone calls back and forth we were able to coordinate. Taxi cab would have gotten us for one fourth the price and would have saved 45 minutes of sweating at the train station.
We were also supposed to get a welcome gift on arrival, which by the way we received in every other LHW property we stayed at, but none was provided at Dolder. After complaining about it to the front desk we received some fresh fruit and chocolate.
Concierge service was also disappointing. They seem to be too busy and there were no 5 star services anywhere.
We are sorry we stayed at the property and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand. Your feedback by e-mail as well as here on Tripadvisor is highly appreciated and valued, since it provides us with the opportunity to improve the quality and personalization of our services.

First of all, we sincerely regret that the recent performance in the hotel was not what you usually expect and would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you encountered during your stay. Please be assured that the unsatisfactory points that you address in your comments have been reviewed and thoroughly discussed with all employees and supervisors concerned in order to prevent similar future occurrences.

Whenever possible, we try to accommodate requests for upgrades of bookings made through American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts within the same room category, from superior to deluxe, based on availability. Since this was unfortunately not possible our Front Desk Team offered you a special rate with a small surcharge to the originally confirmed rate for a Double Room Deluxe with complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suite Superior. Furthermore, we truly regret that we were not able to fulfil your wish regarding the allocation of the room due to the occupancy of the Spa Wing on your arrival day and assure you that we took note of your preference for your future stays.

Regarding the financial benefit, we apologize for the poor communication and missing information upon check-In and would like to state that the credit of USD 100.00 is always granted at the current hotel's exchange rate which corresponded to CHF 90.00 on your recent stay. Please be aware that the unfortunate incident with the limousine pick-up represented an exception to the usual standard in quality and reliability that we use as daily guide for our service and should not be used as an indicator of our daily service.

Concerning your comment on the attendance of our Concierge Team we are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations, especially since it is our goal to continuously improve the quality of our services and surprise guests with our personal engagement.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the moment of our arrival we knew we had made the right choice. After an exciting five hour trans-alpine limousine drive from Merano in South Tyrol to Zurich, Switzerland the speed with which we were greeted and generous courtesy of porters and others made us instantly welcome. Our room was ready and we were escorted to it. Our breakfast was delivered shortly afterward. We had chosen the Dolder for several reasons: This superb hotel has long been a choice of knowledgable travellers. It had undergone a metamorphosis over eight long years. It is located overlooking the city. The spa pool and fitness facilities are of the highest standard and the staff throughout experts in their profession. It is a credit to their in-house training that the reception hosts are so professional. Not that we play golf but the superb course must be a winner for those who do. But it was the collection of more than 130 pieces of art by the most recognised artists of the world which had attracted our attention and we spent an entire day exploring the hotel from top to bottom and through the grounds seeing every one of them. The management can supply an iPad guide to the artworks if one asks. Lunch on the terrace is a great and 'must-do' experience. The incredible quiet in our room was to be expected. And the views to the alps from our balcony which we had traversed the previous day make for many happy memories. Yes, it is a premium grade hotel and one pays a premium price but the packages are worth looking at.

Room Tip: Plan well in advance. Check the packages which are available. Be aware of events which could take pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffB2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of your memorable experience at the Dolder Grand.

It is a great pleasure to hear that your expectations in your stay were met and that you appreciated the dedication to an attentive and enriching service culture. In fact, our Quality and Training Department is working on an ongoing program in order to continuously improve both the technical and soft skills of our staff.

After an extended period of construction and renovation between 2004 and 2008 and five years of rediscovery, we are marking our fifth anniversary since the reopening, and celebrating the continuation of the tradition-rich history of the former Dolder Grand Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the appearance of our Dolder Grand Spa as much as the served culinary delights and particularily appreciated the surroundings and elevated location overlooking the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Also, we are delighted that you took advantage of the art iPad to discover the 124 artworks by 90 artists, which are mainly displayed in the public areas.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very much enjoyed my stay as always. The highlight is the spa and views over the city and lake. Service immaculate and the quality of the rooms is unprecedented. The transfer to the city centre is convenient and comfortable. Highly recommend a room with balcony!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yousef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for writing so favourably about us.

We are delighted to read that you appreciated our product as well as our services and nominate our Dolder Grand Spa to be the best. Also, it is a pleasure that you especially enjoyed the appearance of the room with its fantastic views from the balcony.

We hope to be able to welcoming you back soon and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Rarely do I end up at a place that is as flawless as the Dolder. You're paying a fairly steep price but you know what you're paying for. The rooms (we stayed in both new and traditional ones) are great, the service is great, the location is great. If you want to spend a weekend in Zurich and make sure it is memorable I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and your recommendation on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read that your experience was a memorable one and that you reward not only our dedication to an enriching service culture but also the design and location of our hotel.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Dolder Grand for another weekend stay in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#2 of 137 in Zurich
716 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 137 in Zurich
826 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 137 in Zurich
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#7 of 137 in Zurich
944 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 137 in Zurich
245 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#4 of 137 in Zurich
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $527 - $984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing