We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drop Deap Gorgeous!!!!!”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Drop Deap Gorgeous!!!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel just one night during my business trip in the Central Europe. There are no such words to describe this fantastic property: beautiful location; very elegant public areas; spacious, comfortable and high tech room; large and full equipped bathroom; an "infinite" SPA; very good restaurants and professional and helpful staff.
The Dolder Grand is the example that the perfect hotel exists.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zighy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Madam

Thank you for your wonderful headline and review on your stay at the Dolder Grand during your business trip.

We are delighted that we could meet your expectations such as interior design of the rooms and spa as well as culinary highlights. Please be assured that I will forward your encouraging words to our employees. They highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

We truly hope to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    106
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
130
394
56
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lenzerheide, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were getting married in Zurich (civil marriage) and chose the Dolder Grand for the night following the civil wedding. The reception was great, we were greeted as expected, and having arrived early in the day, were not surprised that the room was not yet ready (at 10am). So we took breakfast in the Garden restaurant, which was delicious. Returning to the reception to be shown to the room, we were slightly disappointed that the room was not ready (after an hours wait), but within less than ten minutes, that was sorted.

We were driven down to the city hall, following the suggestion of the hotel reception to use the hotel's limo service. Well...had we known what we saw the following day, we would have opted for the "taxi". Why? Because the Mercedes Limo that drove us to the city hall was offered to us, when we asked for a taxi the next day, as the taxi - and it had a taxi sign on the roof. Same car, same driver. The fare - less than half as "taxi", with exactly the same comfort. Thus, when we saw that, we thought that we had been taken for a ride the day before. An unpleasant aftertaste.

Apart from these two small points, everything was perfect. The Dolder Grand had given us a better room than what I had booked (ok, I had told them we were getting married in Zurich and would stay the night thereafter with them), and the hotel offered us a demi-bouteille (0.375l) of Veuve Cliquot Champagne, with a small chocolate tart. Great treat!!

Rooms are spacious, the bathroom is a small spa by itself...we had a nice treat in the hotel spa, which was really great. We ordered some nice stuff from the room service, which was also excellent.

Overall, the trip was most enjoyable. Oh, there is just this small issue, price...well, if you want to stay in Zurich in a really nice hotel, there is one thing you should not think about. The deal we had was somewhere between half and 75% of what other hotels charge. Ok, yes, in other cities, you can stay for two, three days in a great hotel for the same price, but then, you are not in Zurich!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschuette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate your positive overall conclusion of your stay on this special occasion as well as your valuable remarks.

According to our standards the hotel rooms are reserved from 3.00 pm on the day of arrival. Whenever possible, we are glad to provide an available room already before that time. We regret that your room was still not ready after having breakfast and wish to thank you for your patience. Furthermore we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our product as well as our services and that we could meet your expectations such as culinary delights and treatments in our Spa.

Concerning the frustrating transfer experience we wish to apologize for the bad impression this may have left. As a matter of fact, this incident represented an exception to the usual standard in quality as the hotels own limousine service is not comparable to the public taxi service. Please be assured that we have thoroughly discussed the critical aspects with the employees and supervisors concerned. We attach great importance to maintain and enhance the attractiveness of our product and services in order to meet the expectations of our guests.

We appreciate your understanding and truly hope to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is located at the eastern-side of Zurich, up in the mountain, what offers the guests a generous view of the citi, amongst the green belt of the forest alongside the facility.
Impecable service, state of art tecnology in rooms, B&O devices and an all pourpose remote control at you disposal.
The bathroom has mirror TV, a bathtube and a massage shower.
Very comfortable and elegant,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your wonderful headline and review on your stay at the Dolder Grand.

We are delighted that we could meet your expectations such as interior design and technical equipment of the rooms as well as our service quality. Your encouraging words highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Dolder Grand on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is more than just a hotel!

I had one of the most beautiful stay ever at The Dolder Grand!

First the hotel is a perfect mix of Old Building meets modernity. The new part fits perfectly with the old one and the decor full or art from Murakami, Wharol etc is just amazing. It could feel like some kind of museum but instead it feels like a really special place.

I stayed in a Golf Suite on the 4th floor of a new wing and WAHOU! The room is great! It have a perfect work area, a nice sofa and rest area, a perfect bed, a bathroom with stunning view and jacuzzi bath, a huge closet and everything else you would require.
There is even a Bang and Olufsen remote control for the TV, Lights, Curtains and all the rest that works perfectly!

In term of F&B I just had breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant and it was really good. For breakfast I would have prefer a buffet than à la carte but it was still really good.

The spa seems wonderful but I didn't use it however the fitness centre is one the best you can find...

The service is second to none! Just perfect!

So ok it's not in town so for my business purpose it was a bit more driving in the morning but to be honest the hotel is something special! Go to try it if you like art, perfect service, beautiful buildings, good gastronomy and the little something different in life!

Room Tip: Golf Suite on the 4th floor of the new wings are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheikhDaCize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your wonderful headline and review on your recent stay at the Dolder Grand.

We are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations such as interior design of the Golf Suite and ambiance created by art. Referring to your comment we would like to mention that it is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy the idea of celebrating traditional past and modern presence as much as we do.

Concerning the breakfast experience we wish to inform you that we decided to serve an A la Carte breakfast for strategic reasons. Only in this way we are able to obtain the desired quality and service standards. We are pleased that despite this you had an enjoyable time with culinary highlights in our Garden Restaurant.

To satisfy our guests with a personal and decent service is our daily goal. Therefore it was my pleasure to forward your positive review to our employees.

We truly hope to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand soon and have the opportunity to introduce you to our Spa as well as our abundant Sunday brunch buffet.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Dolder Grand offers a sumptuous experience , I was there for a job diner.The food, the place evrything was very well done. We were stuned by the view into Zurich lake and the Alps in the horizon, this hotel has very special architecture, and a paires of sumptuous sculptor inside. It is also worth a drink in the very fancy bar of the hotel and a walk around the wood from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Madame

Thank you very much for your stay at the Dolder Grand in December 2011 on that special occasion and for your valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product as well as our services. Furthermore, we are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with culinary highlights throughout your entire stay.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at the Dolder during December 2007, inspite of the freezing cold weather, service was nothing less than befitting royalty. Tucked in the middle of the woods, yet close to a famous steak house run by members of a Swiss family, and a short drive to the busy city. The hotel rooms are ultimate luxury . The masseuse was one of a kind, therapeutic massage for my lower back pain, and she was able to diagnose source and get rid of it. I tried many massages in the Far east, relaxing, Thai, etc... This one was unique.
Can be a getaway experience with no need to leave hotel premises in warmer weather. The warmth and hospitality are very difficult to match.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WithAida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your stay at the Dolder Grand in December 2007 and for your valuable feedback. We appreciate your positive overall conclusion of your stay with us and for your positive headline. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy the idea of celebrating traditional past and modern presence as much as we do. Furthermore, we are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations such as interior design of the rooms and Spa. Please be assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my staff particulary to the Spa. They highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

We truly hope to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand at any future occasions you might have.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Julien en Genevois
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Dolder Grand offers a sumptuous experience throughout. The spa is luxurious and stylish. The outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the Alps and the lake is a no-miss. The separate ladies/gentlemen areas are cosy and the dressing rooms are exceptionally well thought-throuh, providing a superior level of comfort. I'd highly recommend the massage: great choice of massages and skilled masseuses. The 7-courses dinner at the gastronomic restaurant offered innovative food presented in a refined way. The junior suite was spacious and stylish. The staff is exceptionally friendly, very professional but in a warm and caring way. The package called "Couple Gate-away" offered a good all-in package making for a very special romantic week-end.

Room Tip: Junior suite was spacious and stylish. Would recommend to take the rooms with the view on the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful headline and review on your stay at the Dolder Grand. We are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations from the beginning to the end of your stay.
To satisfy our guests with a personal and decent service is our daily goal. Therefore it was my pleasure to forward your positive review to our staff.
We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with culinary highlights throughout your entire stay.
We truly hope to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand at any future occasions you might have.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Property: The Dolder Grand
Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#2 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing