We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My rated #1 hotel in the world”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel was spectacular! The location, facilities, service and fine food was the best I have experienced on any of my stays in hotels so far. We are planning to revisit on our next holiday to Europe and to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear Auburney

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and your positive comment.

It was our pleasure to have you with us during your visit in Zurich and we are proud and happy that you appreciated our product and our services altogether.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

A few great cities have old luxury hotels synonymous with them -eg New York - The Plaza;Singapore - Raffles: so The Dolder Grand is to Zurich.

-the location of the hotel is ideal : high on a hill overlooking Lake Zurich with the Alps in the distance. Whatever the size of the hotel's own grounds, there are no other buildings near it, so you have the sense of being in a huge park - there is a golf course below looking towards Zurich and forest on the other sides.

-the hotel has two distinct parts:the original building {with what kids call "witches hats" atop it] and the stunning new wing which as befits such a great hotel was designed by one of the world's greatest living architects, Lord Norman Foster.Staying at the Dolder gives you the added benefit of living in one of his creations, without the expense of having to build it.

-the rooms in the new wing are stunning in every way [although not as big as those in the original building] and have cutting edge design and style. A 21st century feature of all rooms is a lot is controlled -eg blinds,lighting,TV - by a Bang& Olufsen handset - this takes a little while to get used to

-the staff of the hotel are exceptional: invisible when you want them to be and also at your service when needed.

the Dolder has a stunning indoor pool [see attached photo]. Also, it has a hot outdoor spa tub overlooking Lake Zurich - unexpectedly this was fun even in winter temperatures. Thus recommended to bring your swimming gear even if it is winter.

-the hotel restauarnt is first class. Tables behind a screen at the end of it have a great view over Zurich. Also about a 20 minute drive away is a restaurant - Peter's Kunsthaven -often described as the best in Switzerland. Both specialise in the fine French dining experience - thus you will have to go somewhere else to taste what is said to be the signature dish of Zurich -"veal zuri" - although the Dolder restaurant made some classic Swiss rosti for us - even though it was not on the menu - which again demonstrates the top grade standard of of the Dolder Grand and its staff.

-although the hotel may appear isolated and is obviously not "downtown",timewise it is not far away. Apart from taxi,the hotel also has a shuttle. If you have some time or want to do something different, near the hotel is a little railway called the Dolderbahn [which seems to be free! - or maybe I benefitted from not understanding German]. It only goes between the hotel and an intersection with the Zurich tram system. From there you can either take a tram straight to the legendary Bahnhofstrasse [its secret is not the banks which obviously everyone has heard about anyway, but its shops!] or walk to downtown Zurich.

-as an alternative to going by freeway between the hotel and the airport, thanks to information from the hotel staff there is another much more scenic route through open countryside. definitely recommend it if you have the time - also once again shows the excellence of the staff of the Dolder Grand- they even photocopied a mapand marked the route to show the taxidriver.

Grand by name, the Dolder is also grand in terms of style, comfort and service and in my opinion after travelling for more than 40 years there is no finer grand luxury hotel in the world.

Room Tip: the choice is between rooms in the new wing [and if so, try and get one with a Lake Zurich view] and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lux2lessworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear lux2lessworld

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

We really appreciate that you took the time to express your experiences in such a detailed way.
It always puts a big smile upon our faces when our guests enjoy the idea of celebrating traditional past and modern presence as much as we do.

On your next stay we would be delighted to serve you the classic «Züri Geschnetzeltes» in our Garden Restaurant. We would recommend to experience our junior suites or double rooms deluxe in the Main-building, which are also overlooking the city centre and the lake of Zurich.

We wish you all the best and hope your memories of the Dolder Grand will last long.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I've had the immense pleasure of staying at the Dolder several times and each time was so enjoyable and relaxing. I've stayed in the new wing and the rooms with the view over the lake and forest are very serene. What's also refreshing is that despite them being top notch in design, they are functional! The service is personal (I've always been greeted by name) but not overdone as in some luxury hotels. I love the shampoo amenity, it's honestly one of the best shampoos I've ever used and the fact that you have wonderfully different choice of in-room breakfast condiments is very refreshing too. The cherry on top is the bottled water and mints handed over upon departure wishing me a safe and comfortable trip home. Love it and can't wait to be back again soon.

Room Tip: Book the rooms in the new wing. The hotel is a bit out of the city centre which is ideal for a weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear gg786

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and your pleasant feedback.

We are proud and happy that you appreciated the beauty of our product and the relaxing atmosphere once again. In particular we are pleased to read that you enjoyed using the «Kerstin Florian» amenities and the variety of our room service breakfast menu.

To satisfy our guests with a personal and decent service is our daily goal. Therefore it was my pleasure to forward your positive review to our staff.

We are looking forward of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Elegant, new, full of amazing contemporary art. The Dolder is one of the best European hotels. The Spa is to die for. The Norman Foster wing has modern rooms super cmfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Stefanorus

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and your positive comment. We are proud and happy that you appreciated the beauty of our product. And please do not die, you should rather come back.

We would be pleased to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October 2011 and this is definitely the place to stay in Zurich.

From the moment you pull into the driveway, you know you have arrived somewhere special. The doormen are very clever and read your luggage tag as you get out of your taxi, so immediately refer to you by your name, giving that special personal touch.

The receptionists are couteous and friendly and you know by the decor that this is a hotel which is one of a kind.

I had the most amazing room with views of the golf course, contemporary furnishings and all the latest technical equipment. When you stand on your balcony, it's like being in a palace.

The spa is absolutely stunning, from the meditation room, to the relaxing pods, ice pool outside and male/female areas, it's the perfect place to unwind, or treat yourself to a treatment. I had a pedicure while I was there and it was one of the best I have ever had.

The restaurant is on the pricier side but you wouldn't stay here if you were trying to cut costs. This is the place you come where you want glamour and amazing service and the best bedrooms in Zurich.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone, it's stunning, pefect for both business visitors (like myself) but also for romantic weekends away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Spa wing or Golf Wing, these are the most contemporary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyreerosejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear nyreerosejones

Thank you for this nice and detailed feedback of your stay at the Dolder Grand.

We are happy that we could meet all of your expectations. To ensure this kind of quality, we invest a lot of time to both train and encourage our employees. Therefore I’m glad to pass your comment to our staff.

Indeed it is our main goal to give each service the personal touch. It makes us very proud to read that you felt «like being in a palace» and that we were the perfect place for you to unwind.

We would be pleased to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

What an impecable experience. I really couldn't ask for a more stunning spot to look over Zurich. The folks were so kind, the food was delicious and the company was memorable. Perhaps I'll have the pleasure of staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Bryan_N_JesY

Thank you for your wonderful headline and review on your stay at the Dolder Grand.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us. It would be our pleasure to let you experience this feeling once more.

Until then we wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We told friends who frequent Zurich that we were staying at The Dolder Grand, and they winced a bit saying it was "too out of the way" to enjoy the city. We couldn't disagree more!
From the moment when pulled into the grand driveway, our breath was taken away by the splendor and hospitality of this magnificient hotel. The views are spectacular. The contemporary art collection is amazing. The rooms are the most modern we've experienced. The Dolder is located atop a hill away from the noise or hustle of the city; but there is a frequent shuttle to the city's center, making access completely uncomplicated. "The Restaurant" was a delightful dining experience from the food to the service. The concierge and reception staff were tremendously helpful. No detail is missed at this luxurious property. Once when I was standing in the lobby with an empty bottle of water, a young porter approached me and took it from my hand, replacing it with a fresh one. We did not get a chance to take advantage of the spa, but we did enjoy the free wifi. We have adjusted our next business trip to take us through Zurich just to return to The Dolder!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicspix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Dear vicspix

It’s a pure satisfaction to read such a nice comment. Our daily goal is, to make a stay as comfortable as it can be for our guests. To receive recognition like yours is an additional motivation for all of our employees. We hope that you will find time to experience our beautiful spa on your next visit.

We are looking forward of welcoming you again soon.


Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#2 of 137 in Zurich
733 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
844 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 137 in Zurich
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#5 of 137 in Zurich
954 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 137 in Zurich
254 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 137 in Zurich
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $498 - $869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 3rd to 12th April 2018. We will be happy to welcome you again on 13 April 2018. Treatments are bookable at any time. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 18 February 2018 to 5 March 2018. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 22 July 2017 to 13 August 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing