We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure!”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We told friends who frequent Zurich that we were staying at The Dolder Grand, and they winced a bit saying it was "too out of the way" to enjoy the city. We couldn't disagree more!
From the moment when pulled into the grand driveway, our breath was taken away by the splendor and hospitality of this magnificient hotel. The views are spectacular. The contemporary art collection is amazing. The rooms are the most modern we've experienced. The Dolder is located atop a hill away from the noise or hustle of the city; but there is a frequent shuttle to the city's center, making access completely uncomplicated. "The Restaurant" was a delightful dining experience from the food to the service. The concierge and reception staff were tremendously helpful. No detail is missed at this luxurious property. Once when I was standing in the lobby with an empty bottle of water, a young porter approached me and took it from my hand, replacing it with a fresh one. We did not get a chance to take advantage of the spa, but we did enjoy the free wifi. We have adjusted our next business trip to take us through Zurich just to return to The Dolder!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicspix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear vicspix

It’s a pure satisfaction to read such a nice comment. Our daily goal is, to make a stay as comfortable as it can be for our guests. To receive recognition like yours is an additional motivation for all of our employees. We hope that you will find time to experience our beautiful spa on your next visit.

We are looking forward of welcoming you again soon.


Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    109
    39
    14
    15
See reviews for
135
400
56
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here during the summer and now Switzerland is one of our favorite places. The Dolder Grand is a wonderful hotel because they have shuttle buses that take you down to all of the main shops and restaurants. The staff is very helpful and nice. The hotel itself is beautiful and there is a spa and a pool area. Sadly the pool area is only for ages 12 and up. The rooms are lovely with a scenic view and everything is 5 star. There are also movies that you can take up to your room and watch. I recommend this hotel because it is in a great location and has awesome features.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Olivia C

Thank you for staying at the Dolder Grand.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location as well as several facilities like the room or the spa. It is my pleasure to pass your kind words to our staff.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Lovely view, amazing rooms, great breakfast and a spa to die for!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

......nestled on the hills , with a magnificent view .... you will feel like far away but close to you there is an international city. Top quality service in a beautiful building by Norman foster . Rooms are big and well equipped and enjoy a wanderfull view . The spa is luxurious with 2 pools , one heated outdoor . One of the best stay ever .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Giuliana C

Thank you for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for the beautiful headline.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the design of the hotel, as well as our Spa. Our employees will very much appreciate your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

If you go to Zurich - it really is worth staying in this hotel. The rooms are amazing and very technology advanced. The spa is simply the best. I've spent many of Sundays getting treatments at their spa or swimming in their amazing pool. The food is always fantastic there. The staff are amazing and really helpful. The hotel is not in the center of town, but it's easy to commute in with either a taxi, their very cool vintage bus, or with public transport. It's hard to imagine that would be disappointed by staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSPrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Ms JSPrima

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this detailed and marvellous review and for staying with us at the Dolder Grand. We are delighted to gain such recognition for our product and especially for our staff.

We look forward to your return with us in the near future.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A friend took me here to show me how beautiful this hotel is. As one might expect we ended up at the bar. Superb bar tender beautiful decoration and great company. Smashing experience!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazlaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a wonderful hotel overlooking Zurich. The hotel provides a minibus down to the city on the hour and back on the half hour.
Very pricey, but if you want to treat yourself definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank provi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear provi

Thank you for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for the expressive headline.

We are happy to hear that you could spend some enjoyable moments with us and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Best regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
659 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
203 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
756 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 139 in Zurich
730 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#9 of 139 in Zurich
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Property: The Dolder Grand
Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#2 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing