We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$871
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/21
Expedia.com
$871
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$849
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/21
Hotels.com$871
Priceline$871
ZenHotels.com$905
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (977)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveler rating
811
101
34
14
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
811
101
34
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concierge staff grand hotel five star hotel room service is pillow menu amazing hotel swiss hotel luxury lake papillon switzerland bahnhofstrasse doorman minibar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 977 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

While researching hotels in Zurich, the Baur au Lac seemed to land near the top of every list I could find. Now I know why. It is simply one of the best hotels we have every had the pleasure at which to stay. Everything about our stay was simply superb. We arrived early from the US, but the staff was able to show us to our room very quickly. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, and were fortunate enough to have been given a lovely upgrade to a city suite, with a large bedroom and separate, equally spacious living room. The bathroom was positively palatial, with white marble and sparkling chrome everywhere, and a beautiful, large soaking tub. The bed was very comfortable, with soft, beautiful linens. We were treated like royalty, from the sumptuous spread of champagne, fruit, and sweets waiting for us in our room, to the greeting by the concierge and doorman each morning when we emerged to walk the city. We enjoyed 2 meals at the hotel. The first afternoon, we had lunch at the terrace restaurant, with a view to the grassy lawn and lake beyond. The food was quite good here, and the setting is spectacular. The last night, we splurged on dinner at Pavillion, their Michellin starred restaurant. The room was one of the most beautiful dining rooms I have ever seen, and the service and food were amazing. The dinner was not inexpensive, but well worth the price to experience this level of service. Without exception, every member of the staff at Baur au Lac was exceedingly helpful and kind, reflecting the high standard of the hotel. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear francomama,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your views about your „Baur au Lac experience” in such a detailed way.

It is with great pleasure that we learn that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary and we are thrilled that you had such a fantastic time with us. Furthermore we are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations in every single aspect of your stay and that all members of staff contributed in leaving a good and lasting impression.

Rest assured that your kind and encouraging review has already been shared with the entire Baur au Lac team. Your thoughtful words are a great motivation for the team and help us to continue in the same direction and to perform our daily services joyfully and with enthusiasm.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had high expectations and the dinner in no way disappointed .

This is a special place and needs to be enjoyed by fully accepting the special way in which the staff treat their customers. Never before have I experienced such professional and dedicated service. The detailed knowledge of our waiter on all dishes and wines was just unquestionable and the TLC that he afforded us remarkable .

The food did not disappoint , and included asparagus starters , grilled veal and veal and mushrooms for main followed by season strawberries and a cheese dessert. All dishes were impeccably presented and prepared just perfectly.

This is a quality fine dining restaurant and one should therefore expect to pay the appropriate price.

Highly recommended .

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank EONJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear EONJoburg,

Many thanks for having taken the time to evaluate your recent experience at the Restaurant Pavillon. We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us.

Your kind compliments are much appreciated and shared with the entire team. It’s nice to read you liked the attentive, professional and dedicated service as well as the detailed knowledge of our waiters. Moreover we want to thank you for the compliments on the good quality of food.

Our intention is to provide every guest with a memorable experience and we try to continuously maintain a service with attention to details.

Thank you again for sharing your experience of the Pavillon. We would be more than happy to welcoming you soon again at our restaurant and to treating you with our service.

Kind regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Baur au Lac. From being greeted at the front door, to the person whose job it is to gently rotate the revolving door at the perfect speed for you, the the incredibly helpful concierge who greeted you by name and helped with everything - this is an absolute first class hotel. Easily the best service we had in Paris, Nice, Monte Carlo, Vaduz, Switzerland, London, Venice, Rome - I could go on, but I'm sure you get the point - this place is special.

The beds are incredibly comfortable, and the pillow menu allowed us to fine tune our sleep. Make sure to ask for that upon arrival.

The mini-bar is free (which every 5 star hotel should do - make that every hotel). All the little touches in the hotel were great. A nice sitting area for drinks and coffee in the lobby, as well as a nice outdoor lounge in the gardens.

The Pavilion restaurant is their fine dining restaurant. We didn't have dinner there, but the breakfast was superb, with outstanding service and great food. The bakery selections were fantastic.

Everyone spoke English, which was very much appreciated.

The location is fantastic - only 2 blocks to the Bahnhofstrasse, and a short walk to the water and. Old Town, so superb location.

Just a truly great hotel.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzzzdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear zzzzdoc1,

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts about your Baur au Lac experience and for choosing the Baur au Lac for your recent stay in Zurich.

We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience in such a detailed way and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil so many aspects of your expectations.

Please rest assured that we will share your encouraging words with our entire team, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue in the same direction and to perform our daily services joyfully and with enthusiasm.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a very beautiful hotel with amazing (but very expensive) restaurants. I love the gym - had everything I needed and was clean and empty. Love that everything in the mini bar is free. Love the bedding and towels. Our room was beautiful. Staff was so nice. Enjoyed every meal I ate here.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingworkingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear travelingworkingmom,

Thank you for choosing the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had such a great stay with us and in particular appreciated our gym, the bedding and towels of the guest room and the service provided by our staff.

Rest assured that we have already shared your kind review with the entire team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Have just spent 1 night here. Wonderful place. Staff very friendly and relaxed. Comfortable rooms with excellent housekeeping. Breakfast is the best I have ever had in a hotel - delicious fruit; wonderful bakery selection. Expensive, of course, but in this case you really do get what you pay for.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear John20london,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your Baur au Lac experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and especially appreciated our breakfast selection, the comfort of the guest room and the friendliness of our staff.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews