We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake view”
Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #2 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Amazing place...very nice the garden during the summer...beautiful decorated little tearoom....very helpfull and friendly staff.
The food is very tasty and well served.
Very popular place for the elderly and beautiful aristocrats....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear skfmac,

Thank your for taking the time to post your views about the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We are happy to learn that the ambiance in our garden and the tearoom, as well as the quality and taste of food, was to your liking.

Your kind words about our employees are highly appreciated and make us very proud. Please rest assured that your feedback will be distributed to the entire team. It will definitely brighten their day!

We do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back to Zurich and the Baur au Lac.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 745 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is my faworit during long time already. It is one of the best hotels in Europe and believe me I visited really many hotels already, mostly members of The Leading Hotels of the World. Baur Au Lack - the best service, rooms, restaurans, location... I can recomend you!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank francesco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear francesco….,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review on tripadvisor.

We are absolutely thrilled that you regard the Baur au Lac as one of your favourite hotels and are happy that you enjoy the time with us. Your loyalty and recommendation are highly appreciated.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Classy hotel! Stayed for 3 nights in a spacious room with lake view during the Golden League, friendly stuff always helpful, great food quality. Only missed the chance to be driven in the hotel´s Rolls Royce;-)

Room Tip: always lake view, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maaze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Maaze70,

Thank you for sharing your „Baur au Lac experience“ with us.

We are delighted to learn that you have especially appreciated the size of the lake side room, the friendliness of our employees and the quality of our cuisine.

Your kind feedback has already been shared with the entire Baur au Lac team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Me and my girlfriend went there to have a lunch and it was very good experience. Service staff was very friendly and food quality was good. Nice view! They also serve very good brunch on weekends! Suggest everyone to try !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pavel_Kuznetsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Pavel_Kuznetsov,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience about your visit at our Pavillon restaurant.
Your compliments about our service crew indicates that we are on the right path. It is our ultimate goal to satisfy our customers with the highest quality of food and an outstanding service experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Baur Au Lac and had in overall a satisfied stay.

Staff:
The staff at the hotel was very helpful and always of assistance. I would like to thank all of them.

Room
We (2 adults, two kids, 8-year old & 15 month-old) stayed in a Junior suite. Although we hoped for a lake view room, the room amendments made up the lack of the view. The bed was very comfortable and the room was large enough for all of us and the baby cod we brought. We had a good sleep as it was very quite in the nights. The room was on the top floor and was good for venting the room with fresh air during the day. The bath was very comfortable. However, we wished it could be aerated as well. We were amazed at the minibar which was included in the price and refilled every day. Access to the room was a bit cumbersome as you had to change elevators.

Restaurant:
The breakfasts served at The Pavillion (the main restaurant) were amazing. Very fresh fruit, nice selection of cheese and bread, wonderful fruit juices and well preapared egg dishes, served upon request. Again the staff at the restaurant was very helpful and patient.
Although the atmosphere is very relaxing and calm, we wish we had a wider selection of choices. Yet, the food was very well prepared and we enjoyed our dinner.

The Cafe:
The cafe menu is wide and the quality of the servings amazing. One thing though, was that the ambiance and decoration was not very inviting. Not that it is bad, but it should have a more enticing feel to keep visitors for longer.

Location:
Being at the entrance of the famous "Bahnhofstrasse" it is convenient to the highlights of the city. The lake is a short walk from the hotel, and the old town as well. We had always the chance to come back to the hotel to refresh and relax before going out again (to leave shopping bags, change children clothes or ours and free ourselves from the daily menu kids like to leave on them).

We would be happy to stay again there, but maybe another season to enjoy the Alps and the garden of the hotel likewise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MericB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear MericB,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give such a detailed review about your stay at the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We feel delighted to learn that you and your family were satisfied with your time spent at our hotel and especially appreciated the service delivered by our employees, the décor and size of the guest room and our central location. Rest assured that we will pass on your thoughtful words and insightful comments to the entire Baur au Lac team.

We are happy to inform you that a makeover of the cafe is planned during next summer.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac and we hope that you will be able to enjoy our beautiful garden.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Unquestionably the hotel is well located in the heart of Zurich and the hotel itself is nothing short of spectacular, but that's where it ends.
If your looking for a 5 star hotel with bragging rights well located in Zurich, then this will do fine.
If, as like myself, you expect a warm reception on check-in, a helpful concierge, the front door to be opened by the staff member attending the door or even the staff you bump into in the hallway to greet you warmly, then this isn't the hotel for you.
This hotel doesn't have a swimming pool or decent gym, so it should at least make up with exceptional service, sadly not.
The service at this hotel pales into insignificance compared to the likes of the Mandarin Oriental or even the Park Hyatt.
Mini bars are complimentary and the hotel is happy to deliver a kettle complete with tea cups to your room, just don't ask for a tea bag as this will need to be paid for. Trivial, but an example of where Baur au Lac just doesn't understand service expected in 5 star hotels.
For the price, I couldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Suites are beautiful but I would still choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Only1stClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Only1stClass,

Thank you for your visit at the Baur au Lac and your sincere feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor.

While personal and individual customer service is one of our top priorities, it is very much to our regret you could not feel the “Baur au Lac Spirit”, we are striving to pass on to every one of our valued guests.

It is correct that tea is not included in our room rates. We are very sorry that the wording in our room directory must have been misleading to you and resulted in causing a negative surprise.

We truly hope to welcome you at the Baur au Lac on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable Baur au Lac experience and service.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was a hotel of the highest calibre, the staff were extremely polite & helpful & the service was outstanding. We dined in the Pavillion restaurant. The food was delicate & full of flavour as was the food we found in the bistro the next day. Rooms were of a good size,extremely comfortable, quiet & well thought out with every attention to detail. We are hoteliers so are extremely critical but we were hard pushed to fault it. A job well done!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Janey Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Baur au Lac experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular, we were happy to read that you were satisfied with our service, the food at both of the restaurants and the comfort and luxury of the guest rooms.
Hearing such kind words from hoteliers makes us very proud. Rest assured that we will share your comments with the entire Baur au Lac team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 138 in Zurich
853 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#6 of 138 in Zurich
1,110 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#4 of 138 in Zurich
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
962 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
259 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#7 of 138 in Zurich
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $589 - $1,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing